Legislative Council

LC Paper No. LS 6/99-00

Paper for the House Committee Meeting
of the Legislative Council
on 8 October 1999

Legal Service Division Report on
Subsidiary Legislation Gazetted on 30 September 1999

Date of Tabling in LegCo :6 October 1999
Amendment to be made by: 3 November 1999 (or 10 November 1999 if extended by resolution)

Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132)
Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Civic Centres) (Amendment of Thirteenth Schedule) Order 1999 (L.N. 241)

The Order sets aside the Kwai Tsing Theatre at Hing Ning Road, Kwai Chung as a civic centre in the Regional Council area and makes consequential amendment to the Thirteenth Schedule to the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132).

Reformatory Schools Ordinance (Cap. 225)
Reformatory School (Establishment) (Consolidation) (Amendment) Order 1999 (L.N. 242)

The Order amends the Reformatory School (Establishment)(Consolidation) Order (Cap. 225 sub. leg.) so that the Country House of the Brothers of St. Joseph's College ceases to be a reformatory school established for the reformation of youthful offenders under the Reformatory Schools Ordinance (Cap. 225).

Juvenile Offenders Ordinance (Cap. 226)
Places of Detention (Juvenile Offenders) Appointment (Consolidation) (Amendment) Order 1999 (L.N. 243)
Remand Home (Amendment) Rules 1999 (L.N. 245)

Protection of Children and Juveniles Ordinance (Cap. 213)
Protection of Children and Juveniles (Places of Refuge) (Amendment) Order 1999 (L.N. 244)

L.N. 243 amends the name and address of Begonia Road Boys' Home to Begonia Road Juvenile Home situate at 62 Begonia Road, Yau Yat Chuen, Kowloon, and removes Ma Tau Wei Girls' Home and Pui Yin Juvenile Home from the list of places of detention appointed under the Juvenile Offenders Ordinance (Cap. 226) for the detention of children (under the age of 14) and young persons (aged 14-16) who are found guilty of an offence punishable in the case of adults with imprisonment, or who would be liable if they were adults to be imprisoned in default of payment of any fine, damages or costs.

L.N. 244 removes Begonia Road Boys' Home and Pui Yin Juvenile Home from the list of places of refuge declared under the Protection of Children and Juveniles Ordinance (Cap. 213) for children (under the age of 14 years) and juvenile (aged 14-18) in need of care or protection to take refuge until he is brought before a juvenile court.

The effect of L.N. 245 is such that the Remand Home Rules (Cap. 226 sub. leg.) would cease to apply to the remand sections of Ma Tau Wei Girls' Home and the Pui Yin Juvenile Home. The Rules provide for inspection of places of detention, the classification, treatment, employment and control of children (under the age of 14) and young persons (aged 14-16) detained in custody such places, and for visits during detention. The name of the Begonia Road Boys' Home is also amended to Begonia Road Juvenile Home.

Members may refer to LegCo Brief File Ref. HW W27/1 Pt1 99 issued by the Health and Welfare Bureau in September 1999 for background information.

Tax Reserve Certificates (Fourth Series) Rules (Cap. 289 sub. leg.)
Tax Reserve Certificates (Rate of Interest) (No. 6) Notice 1999 (L.N. 246)

The Notice fixes at 4.6250% per annum the rate of interest payable on tax reserve certificates issued on or after 4 October 1999.

Midwives Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 1997
Midwives Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 1997 (61 of 1997) (Commencement) Notice 1999 (L.N. 247)

This Notice appoints 30 September 1999 as the day on which the Midwives Registration (Amendment) Ordinance 1997 (except sections 11(a)(ii), (iii) and(iv), 22, 23 and 29) shall come into operation.

The Amendment Ordinance makes amendments to the Midwives Registration Ordinance (Cap. 162) by establishing the Midwives Council of Hong Kong to replace the Midwives Board of Hong Kong, imposing penalty for the unlawful use of the title of registered midwife, prohibiting persons other than a medical practitioner or registered midwife from attending women in childbirth and making other miscellaneous amendments.

The excepted sections relate to the prohibition to practise as a registered midwife without a current practising certificate, the recovery of prescribed fee for a practising certificate and the repeal of the Midwives (Registration and Disciplinary Procedure) Regulations.

Prepared by

Wong Sze-man, Bernice
Assistant Legal Adviser
Legislative Council Secretariat
5 October 1999

內 務 委 員 會 ( 文件 ) 1999年10月8日

立法會

立法會LS6/99-00號文件

1999年10月8日立法會內務委員會會議文件

1999年9月30日在憲報刊登的附屬法例
法律事務部報告

提交立法會會議席上省覽的日期1999年10月6日
作出修訂的限期1999年11月3日(若議決延期,則可延展至1999年11月10日)

《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)
《1999年公眾衞生及市政條例(文娛中心)(修訂附表13)令》(第241號法律公告)

此命令將葵涌興寧路葵青劇院撥作區域巿政局轄區內一所文娛中心,並對《公眾衞生及巿政條例》(第132章)附表13作出相應修訂。

《感化院條例》(第225章)
《1999年感化院(設立)(綜合)(修訂)令》(第242號法律公告)

此命令修訂《感化院(設立)(綜合)令》(第225章,附屬法例),使聖若瑟弟兄書院別舍不再為根據《感化院條例》(第225章)設立以感化少年罪犯的感化院。

《少年犯條例》(第226章)
《1999年拘留地方(少年犯)指定(綜合)(修訂)令》(第243號法律公告)
《1999年羈留院(修訂)規則》(第245號法律公告)

《保護兒童及少年條例》(第213章)
《1999年保護兒童及少年(收容所)(修訂)令》(第244號法律公告)

第243號法律公告把海棠路男童院的名稱及地址修訂為位於九龍又一邨海棠路62號的海棠路兒童院,以及從拘留地方名單中,把馬頭圍女童院及培賢兒童院刪除。該等拘留地方,是根據《少年犯條例》(第226章)指定為拘留被裁斷為有罪,而該罪行如由成人犯是可判處監禁的,或欠繳任何罰款、損害賠償或訟費,而假若為成年人是可因此被監禁的兒童(年齡在14歲以下)及少年人(年齡介乎14至16歲)的地方。

第244號法律公告從收容所名單中,把海棠路男童院及培賢兒童院刪除。該等收容所,是根據《保護兒童及少年條例》(第213章)宣布為收容需要受照顧或保護,直至被帶到少年法庭的兒童(年齡在14歲以下)或少年(年齡介乎14至18歲)的地方。

第245號法律公告的作用是,《羈留院規則》(第226章,附屬法例)不再適用於馬頭圍女童院及培賢男童院的羈留部。此規則就拘留地方的視察、拘留在該等地方的兒童(年齡在14歲以下)及少年人(年齡介乎14至16歲)的分類、待遇、活動及控制事宜,以及扣留期間的採訪,作出規定。海棠路男童院亦已修訂為海棠路兒童院。

議員可參閱衞生福利局於1999年9月發出的立法會參考資料摘要(檔號:HW W27/1 Pt1 99),以了解有關的背景資料。

《儲稅券(第4系)規則》(第289章,附屬法例)
《1999年儲稅券(利率)(第6號)公告》(第246號法律公告)

此公告將1999年10月4日或該日後發出的儲稅券的利率定為年息4.6250%。

《1997年助產士註冊(修訂)條例》
《〈1997年助產士註冊(修訂)條例〉(1997年第61號)1999年(生效日期)公告》(第247號法律公告)

此公告指定1999年9月30日為《1997年助產士註冊(修訂)條例》(第11(a)(ii)、(iii)及(iv)、22、23及29條除外)開始實施的日期。

修訂條例對《助產士註冊條例》(第162章)作出修訂,藉以設立"Midwives Council of Hong Kong"(香港助產士管理局)取代"Midwives Board of Hong Kong"(香港助產士管理局);就非法使用註冊助產士名銜訂定罰則;禁止非註冊醫生或註冊助產士的人照料分娩中的婦女,以及作出其他雜項修訂。

該等除外條文關乎禁止在沒有現行執業證明書的情況下以註冊助產士的身份執業、追討執業證明書的訂明費用,以及廢除《助產士(註冊及紀律處分程序)規例》。


立法會秘書處
助理法律顧問
黃思敏
1999年10月5日