Legislative Council

LC Paper No. LS 9/99-00

Paper for the House Committee Meeting
of the Legislative Council
on 8 October 1999

Legal Service Division Further Report on
Housing Managers Registration Bill

Members may recall that the Legal Service Division made a report to the House Committee on 9 July 1999 on the Bill (LC Paper No. LS223/98-99 refers). The purpose of the Bill is to provide for the registration and disciplinary control of professional housing managers. The House Committee has agreed to defer the decision on the Bill pending clarifications from the Administration.

2. Clause 3 of the Bill provides that no person may be appointed as a member of the Housing Managers Registration Board unless he is a member of the Institute. Clause 12(1)(a) prohibits the Board to register a person as a registered professional housing manager unless he is a member of the Institute. "Member of the Institute" is defined in clause 2 to mean a person who is a corporate member under the constitution of The Hong Kong Institute of Housing. The Legal Service Division has asked who the corporate members would be, and whether this definition is appropriate in relation to qualifications for registration under Clause 12(1)(a) since a registered professional housing manager has to be an individual.

3. The Administration has clarified that corporate members are those Fellows and ordinary members of the Institute who are entitled to vote at general meetings of the Institute. Other members are those who are not entitled to vote at the general meetings. They include associates, registered students, affiliates honorary Fellows and retired members. Corporate members are individuals and the definition applies to clause 12(1)(a).

4. A Member of the House Committee wishes to know the purpose for introducing a voluntary registration system since non-members are not prevented from practising as housing managers nor are they subject to disciplinary control. The Administration considers a voluntary registration system adequate to regulate the profession. To propose regulating a profession by legislation would require strong justifications such as ensuring public safety or protecting the public from suffering huge financial loss due to professional malpractices. The Bill aims to assure the public that those who claim to be qualified professional housing managers have received proper training and would observe a code of conduct during practice. It allows consumers to differentiate registered professional housing managers from unregistered ones with reference to their titles. A copy of the Administration's reply is at the Annex.

5. The legal and drafting aspects of the Bill are in order. Subject to Members' views, the Bill is ready for resumption of the Second Reading debate.


Prepared by

Wong Sze-man, Bernice
Assistant Legal Adviser
Legislative Council Secretariat
30 September 1999

立法會

立法會LS9/99-00號文件

1999年10月8日立法會內務委員會會議文件

《房屋經理註冊條例草案》

法律事務部進一步提交的報告

議員諒會記得,法律事務部曾於1999年7月9日就上述條例草案向內務委員會提交報告(請參閱立法會LS223/98-99號文件)。條例草案的目的是就專業房屋經理的註冊及紀律管制訂定條文。內務委員會同意待政府當局澄清若干事項後,才對條例草案作出決定。

2. 條例草案第3條規定,只有學會會員方可獲委任為房屋經理註冊管理局(下稱"管理局")成員。條例草案第12(1)(a)條禁止管理局接納非學會會員註冊為註冊專業房屋經理。根據條例草案第2條的定義,"學會會員"指根據香港房屋經理學會(下稱"學會")章程是企業會員的人士。法律事務部向政府當局詢問,企業會員是哪些人士;鑑於註冊專業房屋經理必須是個人,就條例草案第12(1)(a)條所訂註冊資格而言,有關定義是否恰當。

3. 政府當局澄清,企業會員是指在學會周年大會上有權表決的資深會員及普通會員。其他會員則是在周年大會上沒有表決權的會員,包括附屬會員、註冊學生會員、聯繫會員、名譽資深會員及退休會員。企業會員屬個人身分,故此有關定義適用於條例草案第12(1)(a)條。

4. 鑑於非學會會員沒有被禁止執業為房屋經理,亦無需受紀律管制,內務委員會一名委員希望知道引進自願註冊制度的目的何在。政府當局認為,自願註冊制度已足以規管房屋經理業界。要建議立法規管某個專業,必須有很強的理據,例如確保公眾安全,或保障市民免因該專業的失當行為而蒙受巨大金錢損失。條例草案旨在向市民保證,凡聲稱是合資格專業房屋經理的人士均曾接受正式訓練,並會在執業期間遵守專業守則。消費者因而可根據有關人士的名銜分辨出註冊專業房屋經理與未經註冊者。政府當局的覆函載於附件。

5. 條例草案在法律及草擬方面均無問題。議員倘無其他意見,條例草案可隨時恢復二讀辯論。


連附件


立法會秘書處
助理法律顧問
黃思敏
1999年9月30日