Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1)31/99-00

Ref : CB1/BC/9/98

Paper for the House Committee meeting on 8 October 1999

Report of the Bills Committee on
Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999


This paper reports on the deliberations of the Bills Committee on Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999 ("the Bill").


2. The Electricity Ordinance ("the Ordinance") provides for, among other things, the safe supply of electricity, including the reporting to the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services of electrical accidents and unintended interruptions to the electricity supply causing distress or inconvenience to the public. The Ordinance currently has no provisions to protect electricity supply lines from damage arising out of works despite substantial number of incidents of damage to underground electricity cables and overhead electricity line caused primarily by works contractors in recent years. Subsequent to the passage of the Gas Safety (Amendment) (No.2) Bill 1995, which sought to require contractors working in the vicinity of gas pipes to take reasonable measures to avoid damages to gas pipes, the Administration has proposed similar legislation for the protection of electricity supply lines.

The Bill

3. The Bill seeks to require contractors to take reasonable measures to ascertain the existence and alignment of electricity supply lines before carrying out works in the vicinity of such lines and to include penalty provisions in order to achieve a deterrent effect. The Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services ("the Director") would be empowered under the Bill to make regulations which would provide for a Code of Practice to be issued by the Director. A person would be deemed to have complied with the requirements of the regulation if he can demonstrate that he has complied with the Code of Practice. The Bill also seeks to amend the Ordinance to make a distinction between "electricity supply line" which was to be protected under the proposed legislation and "supply" which applies to the supply of an electrical product only.

The Bills Committee

4. At the meeting of the House Committee on 29 January 1999, Members decided to form a Bills Committee to study the Bill. The membership list of the Bills Committee of which Hon Fred LI Wah-ming was elected Chairman is at Appendix I.

5. The Bills Committee held seven meetings to discuss the Bill with the Administration, at one of which representatives of the Hong Kong Construction Association were present to discuss the Association's views on the Bill. Members of the Bills Committee also visited a construction site to observe the operation of a cable locator in locating underground electricity cables. In connection with the Bill, the Bills Committee also studied the draft Electricity Supply Lines (Protection) Regulation ("the Regulation"), which is to be made under the Ordinance in due course after the Bill has passed into law, and invited 40 trade bodies and other interested parties to give views on the provisions. A list of the trade bodies and other interested parties which have given views to the Bills Committee is at Appendix II.

Deliberations of the Bills Committee

6. Members of the Bills Committee support the introduction of provisions in the Ordinance to protect electricity supply lines from damage arising out of works. There are however a number of concerns with regard to certain provisions in the Bill. The concerns are summarised in the following paragraphs.

Definition of "electricity supply line" and "electricity line"

7. The Administration had proposed a Committee Stage amendment (CSA) to clause 3(b) and consequential amendments to other clauses to effect a further distinction between the terms "electricity supply line" and "electricity line". Under the proposal, the term "electricity line" would be used to cover the whole field of safety requirements of electricity supply in the general context of the Ordinance and the term "electricity supply line" would be defined in accordance with the specific purposes of the Bill, i.e. to afford protection to electricity supply lines which are owned by an electricity supplier. Members are aware that there is another term "electric line" defined in other subsidiary legislation made under the same Ordinance which can apply to the cables and lines owned by electricity suppliers. For the sake of consistency and in order to avoid confusion, the Bills Committee requests the Administration to review related definitions in the Ordinance and all the relevant subsidiary legislation. Members accept the Administration's subsequent proposal to effect changes to dispense with the previously proposed definition of "electricity line" and to re-draft the definitions of "electricity supply line" and "electric line" in the Ordinance in order to present the definitions more clearly. These changes will involve Committee Stage amendments to the Bill to -

  1. provide a definition of "electric line" taken from the existing subsidiary legislation but re-drafted for clarity; and

  2. amend the proposed definition of "electricity supply line" so that it means an electric line, or any cable used in conjunction with such a line for the purpose of transmitting control signals, which is owned by an electricity supplier.

Furthermore, as the definitions of "electricity supply line" and "electric line" in the Ordinance will also apply to its subsidiary legislation, the definition of "electric line" in the Electricity Supply Regulations and the Electricity (Special Areas) Regulations will be repealed.

Difficulties for contractors to comply with the proposed requirements

8. The Bills Committee is concerned about the difficulties faced by contractors, particularly smaller firms, in complying with the proposed requirements of the Bill. Members note that as specified under the proposed Regulation, when carrying out works activities in the vicinity of electricity supply lines, a contractor should obtain relevant plans from the power company concerned showing the locations of any underground electricity cables around the works site. The contractor should also employ a "competent person" to locate the underground electricity cable and follow the procedures as set out in the Code of Practice on Working near Electricity Supply Lines ("the Code of Practice"). According to the Administration, a competent person can identify accurately the position of any underground electricity cables with the help of a cable detector. After sighting the operation of a cable locator at a construction site, members are satisfied with the accuracy, handiness and ease of operation of the cable locator.

9. As to the concern about whether there would be sufficient competent persons available to the industry, the Administration advises that to become registered as a competent person, an employee of the contractor needs only attend a 2-day training course provided by the Construction Industry Training Authority. There are currently about 200 persons who can meet the requirements for registration as competent persons under the proposed Regulation and it is estimated that before the proposed Regulation comes into effect there would be about 1,000 competent persons. Taking into account the total number of sites involving works carried out in the vicinity of underground electricity cables at any one time in a day, which is around 1,500, there should be sufficient competent persons to meet the market demand. Furthermore, there would be a grace period of six months before the Regulation would come into effect to allow sufficient time for persons meeting the registration requirement to be registered as a competent person under the Regulation. Members generally consider the situation acceptable.

Legal liability of contractors and competent persons

10. It is stipulated in the Bill that a contravention of the provisions under the Regulation constitutes an offence, which may entail a maximum penalty of $200,000 and 12 months' imprisonment. Members hold different views on whether the penalty provisions were acceptable. Some members share the industry's concern that the penalty was excessive, given the view that unlike gas pipes, electricity cables might have curved after being laid underground causing difficulties in finding out the exact depth of a cable beneath ground level.

11. As presented by the Administration, the arguments for the penalty provisions include the need for consistency with the penalties set down in the Gas Safety Ordinance (Cap 51) and the Gas Safety (Gas Supply) Regulation for similar offences relating to works in the vicinity of gas pipes, and the maximum penalty is the upper limit of a set of different levels of penalties which the court might not apply fully. The Administration's data comparing the consequences to human life and property caused by damage to gas pipes and electricity cables over the years from 1994 to 1998 show that there were even more cases of personal injuries and fatalities associated with third party damage to electricity lines than those associated with third party damage to gas pipes. Members also note that interruption of electricity supply could cause substantial economic loss besides a serious threat to human life.

12. About the respective legal liabilities of a contractor and a competent person in a case of damage to underground electricity cable in which the contractor was the employer of the competent person, members are given to understand that if the contractor had taken all reasonable steps and reasonable measures as stipulated in the Code of Practice, including the employment of a competent person to ascertain the alignment and depth of an underground electricity cable, it would be a defence to the charge for damaging the underground cables under the Regulation. As regards the legal liability of the competent person, if the damage to the underground electricity cable was caused by the default of the competent person in ascertaining the alignment and depth of the cable, disciplinary action would be taken against the competent person under the Regulation.

Future vetting of the Regulation

13. Members note that the detailed requirements designed to ensure that works activities carried out in the vicinity of electricity supply lines do not prejudice safety or the continuity of the electricity supply are set out in the Regulation. In view of the substantial details in the Regulation and some members' serious concern about the severity of the penalty provisions, the Bills Committee considers it important for Legislative Council to have ample time to scrutinize the Regulation when the subsidiary legislation is tabled in the Council. Hence the "negative vetting" arrangement for passing the relevant subsidiary legislation as provided under the Bill is considered inappropriate. At the Bills Committee's request, the Administration undertakes to move a Committee Stage amendment to provide that the Regulation would be subject to "positive vetting" by the Legislative Council.

Other drafting issues

14. Members are concerned about the absolute standard imposed by the words "without risk of" in the context of "measures designed to ensure that activities performed in the vicinity of electricity supply lines owned by electricity suppliers are performed without risk of electrical accident or interruption to the supply of electricity" under the proposed section 59(1)(ia). The Administration takes the Bills Committee's advice and proposes a CSA to replace the words "owned by electricity suppliers are performed without risk of" by the words "are performed in a manner that minimizes causing an".

15. The Administration has also agreed to revise the draft Regulation in order to improve the clarify of drafting of certain provisions, such as stating more clearly that while a competent person cannot delegate investigation work to another person, he/she can carry out the investigation with the assistance of a team under his/her direct supervision on the works site.

Committee Stage Amendments

16. The complete set of CSAs proposed by the Administration is at Appendix III.


17. Despite members' divided views on the penalty provisions under the Bill, the Bills Committee supports the Bill and the CSAs proposed by the Administration, and recommends resumption of Second Reading debate on the Bill on 27 October 1999.

Advice Sought

18. Members are invited to note the deliberations of the Bills Committee and support the recommendation at paragraph 17 above.

Prepared by
Council Business Division 1
Legislative Council Secretariat
4 October 1999

Legislative Council
Bills Committee on
Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999

Membership List

李華明議員(主席)Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, JP (Chairman)
何鍾泰議員Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
夏佳理議員 Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
陳鑑林議員 Hon CHAN Kam-lam
單仲偕議員 Hon SIN Chung-kai

合共: 5位議員
Total: 5 Members

日期: 1999年7月9日
Date: 9 July 1999

Appendix II

List of trade bodies and other interested parties which have given viewsto the Bills Committee on Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999

立法會

立法會CB(1)31/99-00號文件

檔 號:CB1/BC/9/98

1999年10月8日內務委員會會議文件

《1999年電力(修訂)條例草案》委員會報告

目的

本文件旨在匯報《1999年電力(修訂)條例草案》(下稱"條例草案")委員會的商議工作。

背景

2. 《電力條例》(下稱"該條例")其中一項規定是電力的供應必須安全,包括遇有電力意外及電力供應發生故障而對公眾造成困擾或不便時,須向機電工程署署長報告。雖然近年主要由工程承建商引致的地下電纜及架空電纜受損的意外數目眾多,但現時該條例並無條文訂明須保護供電電纜免受工程損毀。由於《1995年氣體安全(修訂)(第2號)條例草案》獲通過後,在氣體喉管附近地方進行工程的承建商必須採取合理措施,保護氣體喉管不受損害,因此政府當局提出類似的法例以保護供電電纜。

條例草案

3. 條例草案旨在規定承建商在供電電纜附近進行工程前,必須採取合理的措施,確定是否有任何電纜及該等電纜的準線。條例草案亦包括罰則條文,以起阻嚇作用。根據條例草案,機電工程署署長(下稱"署長")將獲賦權制定規例,以規定由署長發出實務守則。如某人可證明他已依循實務守則,即被視為已依循有關規例的規定。條例草案亦旨在修訂該條例,以清楚表明"供電電纜"與"供應"的分別,前者將受擬議法例的保護,而後者則僅指某電氣產品的供應。

法案委員會

4. 在1999年1月29日的內務委員會會議席上,議員決定成立法案委員會,研究條例草案。李華明議員當選法案委員會主席,法案委員會的委員名單載於附錄I。

5. 法案委員會曾舉行7次會議,與政府當局討論條例草案,香港建造商會的代表曾出席其中一次會議,討論該會對條例草案的意見。法案委員會委員亦曾前往工地視察,觀察如何使用電纜探測器勘定地下電纜的位置。此外,由於在條例草案獲通過成為法例後,當局便會於適當時候訂立《供電電纜(保護)規例)》(下稱"該規例"),因此法案委員會亦曾研究該規例,並邀請40個業界團體及其他有關各方就有關的條文發表意見。曾向法案委員會提供意見的業界團體及其他有關各方的名單載於附錄II。

法案委員會的商議工作

6. 法案委員會委員支持在該條例中引入條文,保護供電電纜免受工程損毀。然而,委員對條例草案的若干條文提出多項關注事項。現將該等關注事項概述於下文。

"供電電纜"及"輸電纜"的定義

7. 政府當局曾就條例草案第3(b)條提出一項委員會審議階段修正案及條例草案其他條文的相應修訂,以進一步劃清"供電電纜"及"輸電纜"的分別。根據該項建議,"輸電纜"一詞的涵蓋範圍包括該條例在一般情況所指有關電力供應的整套安全規定,而"供電電纜"的定義則會根據條例草案各項特定目的而訂定,亦即為供電商所擁有的供電電纜提供保護。委員注意到,在根據同一條例訂立的其他附屬法例中載有另一用詞"輸電線"的定義,"輸電線"一詞亦可指供電商所擁有的電纜及電線。為貫徹一致及避免引起混淆,法案委員會要求政府當局覆核該條例及所有有關的附屬法例所載的有關定義。委員接納政府當局其後提出的修改建議,即不再採用先前就"輸電纜"所下的擬議定義,以及重新草擬該條例內"供電電纜"及"輸電線"的定義,以期更清楚述明該等定義。這些修改涉及對條例草案提出的下列委員會審議階段修正案 --

  1. 從現行附屬法例中選取"輸電線"的定義,並重新草擬以力求清晰;及

  2. 修訂"供電電纜"的擬議定義,使該詞指供電商所擁有的輸電線或供電商所擁有的任何連同該等輸電線一起使用而用以輸送控制訊號的電纜。

此外,由於該條例內"供電電纜"及"輸電線"的定義亦適用於其附屬法例,《電力供應規例》及《電力供應(特別地區)規例》所載"輸電線"的定義將予廢除。

承建商在依循擬議規定時遇到的困難

8. 法案委員會關注到,承建商(特別是規模較小的承建商)在依循條例草案所載的擬議規定時將會遇到困難。委員察悉,擬議規例特別指明,承建商在供電電纜附近進行工程活動時,應向有關的電力公司索取顯示所有在工地附近的地下電纜的位置圖。該承建商亦應聘用一名"合資格人士"勘定地下電纜的位置,並遵行"有關在供電電纜附近工作的實務守則"(下稱"實務守則")所載的程序。政府當局表示,合資格人士只需使用電纜探測器,便可準確地鑑別所有供電電纜的位置。經前往建築工地參觀電纜探測器的操作後,委員信納電纜探測器是一件準確、輕便且操作簡易的工具。

9. 至於對業界有否足夠的"合資格人士"的關注,政府當局表示,承建商的僱員只需修讀建造業訓練局主辦一個為期兩天的課程,便可註冊為合資格人士。現時可符合擬議規例的規定而註冊為合資格人士的人數約有200人。據估計,在擬議規例生效前,合資格人士的數目可達至約1 000人。考慮到每日在同一時間內涉及在地下電纜附近進行的工程的工地總數約有1 500個,合資格人士的數目應足以應付市場的需求。此外,該規例生效前將有6個月的寬限期,以便符合註冊資格規定的人士有足夠時間根據該規例註冊為合資格人士。委員普遍認為有關情況可以接受。

承建商及合資格人士的法律責任

10. 條例草案規定,違反該規例的條文即構成罪行,最高可處罰款20萬元及監禁12個月。對於可否接納罰則條文,委員持不同意見。部分委員與業界提出同樣的關注,認為刑罰過於嚴苛,因為電纜的情況有別於氣體喉管。電纜經敷設在地下後,可能會變得彎曲,因此難以準確勘定地下電纜的深度。

11. 根據政府當局的陳述,制定該等罰則條文的理據,包括需與《氣體安全條例》(第51章)及《氣體安全(氣體供應)規例》就有關在氣體喉管附近進行的工程的類似罪行訂立的罰則保持一致,而該項最高刑罰只是一套不同水平的罰則的上限,法院未必會十足判罸。政府當局曾就1994至1998年間,氣體喉管與供電電纜受損的情況分別對人命及財產造成的後果作出比較,根據資料顯示,與第三者損毀供電電纜有關而導致的人身受傷及死亡個案數目,較與第三者損毀氣體喉管有關而導致的人身受傷及死亡個案數目為多。委員亦察悉,除了對人命造成威脅外,電力供應故障亦可導致鉅額的經濟損失。

12. 至於倘地下電纜被損毀,而承建商是合資格人士的僱主,承建商與合資格人士分別需要承擔的責任方面,根據委員的理解,如承建商已採取實務守則所載的一切合理步驟及合理措施,包括聘用合資格人士確定地下電纜的準線及深度,即可以此作為對該規例訂明有關損壞地下電纜控罪的免責辯護。至於合資格人士的法律責任,如他在確定地下電纜的準線及深度時失責,導致地下電纜受損,當局會根據該規例對該名合資格人士採取紀律處分。

日後通過該規例的程序

13. 委員察悉,該規例已載列各項詳細規定,以確保在供電電纜附近進行的工程活動不會危及安全或電力的持續供應。鑑於該規例的內容十分詳細,而部分委員對罰則條文的嚴苛程度深表關注,法案委員會認為,當局提交附屬法例予立法會省覽時,應給予立法會充分時間審議該規例,這點很重要。因此,條例草案規定藉"如不廢除或不提出修訂即屬通過的程序",通過有關附屬法例的做法並不恰當。因應法案委員會的要求,政府當局承諾動議一項委員會審議階段修正案,規定該規例必須藉立法會"正面議決程序"通過。

其他草擬方面的問題

14. 委員關注到,擬議第59(l)(ia)條載有"用意在確保於供電商所擁有的供電電纜附近進行的活動能在不會造成電力意外或電力供應故障的情況下進行的措施",其中"能在不會"的字眼所訂明的標準過於絕對。政府當局接納法案委員會的意見,以及提出一項委員會審議階段修正案,刪去"供電商所擁有的供電電纜附近進行的活動能在不會造成電力意外或電力供應故障的情況下進行"而代以"供電電纜附近進行的活動的進行方式能盡量減少造成電力意外或電力供應故障"。

15. 政府當局亦同意修改規例擬本,以改善若干條文在草擬方面的清晰程度,例如更明確說明雖然合資格人士不可將勘查工作轉授另一名人士進行,但他/她可由一組人員協助,在其直接監督下在工地進行勘查工作。

委員會審議階段修正案

16. 政府當局提出的整套委員會審議階段修正案載於附錄III。

建議

17. 雖然委員對條例草案所載的罰則條文意見分歧,但法案委員會支持條例草案及政府當局提出的委員會審議階段修正案,並建議於1999年10月27日恢復二讀辯論條例草案。

徵詢意見

18. 請議員察悉法案委員會的商議工作,並支持上文第17段所述的建議。


立法會秘書處
議會事務部1
1999年10月4日


立法會
《1999年電力(修訂)條例草案》委員會
Legislative Council
Bills Committee on
Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999

委員名單
Membership List


李華明議員(主席)Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, JP (Chairman)
何鍾泰議員Ir Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
夏佳理議員Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
陳鑑林議員Hon CHAN Kam-lam
單仲偕議員Hon SIN Chung-kai

合共: 5位議員
Total: 5 Members

日期: 1999年7月9日
Date: 9 July 1999

附錄II
Appendix II

List of trade bodies and other interested parties which have given viewsto the Bills Committee on Electricity (Amendment) Bill 1999