Secretary for Justice's Opening Statement at the
Administration of Justice and Legal Services Panel Meeting
on Wednesday, 13 October 1999

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen. I am glad to have this opportunity to speak to you on the Department of Justice's Policy Objective, the progress made in the past twelve months on the various pledges made in previous years, and the new initiatives set out in our Policy Objective Booklet released last week.

Policy Objective

2. The Policy Objective of the Department of Justice is to uphold the rule of law, provide efficient and effective legal services to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government, and to maintain and improve the present legal system.

3. In the past year, we had three targets at the policy objective level.

4. Our first target related to the rule of law. I will discuss this in a few moments' time.

5. The second target was to ensure that our legal services met the reasonable expectations of our clients. In this respect, I am pleased to report that we have been able to meet over 95% of our performance pledges in the past year. This is a good achievement but, of course, is no cause for complacency.

6. Our third target was to ensure that there is continuous improvement to the legal system. We have taken several initiatives in this respect. We introduced five relevant bills into the Legislative Council in the last session. Of these, the Theft (Amendment) Bill 1998 has been passed and has created a new statutory offence of fraud. The other four bills are still before the Council. Other initiatives to improve the legal system included promoting the greater use of Chinese in the law and developing mutual legal assistance with other jurisdictions. I will have more to say on these topics a little later.

7. Let me deal now with the rule of law. As honourable Members are aware, one key aspect of the rule of law is that the Government is subject to the law. No one should doubt that this is the case. Almost every day, cases are brought against the government in the courts. As you know, those cases are dealt with by a fearless, and strongly independent, judiciary. Judicial review of Government's administrative action has a long and important history in the common law world. It continues to be a major feature of our legal system. In 1998, for example, civil proceedings were brought against the Government in 947 cases, 105 of which involved the judicial review of Government decisions.

8. The implementation of the Basic Law has led to a major development in our legal system - the creation of constitutional litigation. Litigants can now have recourse to the courts in order to challenge legislation on the basis that it contravenes the guarantees in the Basic Law. This is a striking demonstration of the rule of law.

9. This development has led to controversy. But this should come as no surprise to us. If one looks at other common law jurisdictions where constitutional review of legislation is possible - the United States is of course the prime example - one finds that court decisions are frequently highly controversial. We must face the fact that, when courts are required to decide upon the constitutionality of legislation, they are drawn into issues that have a much higher policy content than is usually the case. This is inevitable when legislation dealing in detail with highly controversial issues is judged against a constitution that is drafted in broad terms, and that may not expressly deal with those issues.

10. In the case of the Basic Law, there is an added complication. The Basic Law was promulgated by the National People's Congress, and provides the constitutional framework for the principle of one country, two systems. When it was being drafted, one key aspect was subject to great debate - namely who is to interpret the Basic Law? The drafters were faced with two different legal traditions. In the common law world, the judges interpret legislation. In the civil law world, it is not uncommon for the legislature to interpret its own legislation. Eventually, both traditions were woven into the Basic Law. Article 158 states that the power of interpretation of the Basic Law shall be vested in the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress. It then goes on to give the courts of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region the power to interpret the Basic Law in adjudicating cases, subject to certain limitations. This sharing of the power of interpretation is part of our new constitutional order. The exercise of those powers of interpretation in accordance with the Basic Law fully complies with the rule of law.

11. We are still in the early days of implementing the Basic Law, and of understanding the full implications of constitutional litigation. My department is devoting a lot of attention to Basic Law issues. There are bound to be areas of controversy. But judicial independence and the rule of law are as strong as ever.

12. A common law system such as ours is capable of dealing with constitutional change without losing its commitment to the fundamentals we all hold dear. The United kingdom is an example of this. Its entry to the European Union affected one of its longest legal traditions - that of Parliamentary sovereignty. It is now facing further constitutional changes as a result of devolution and the enactment of the Human Rights Act. Like this Legislative Council, the new Scottish legislature must comply with a written constitutional document, which limits its powers. No one is certain how these changes will impact upon the British legal system. But members of the community are working together to ensure that there will be a positive outcome. I hope that we can do the same here in Hong Kong, as we cope with our own constitutional transition.

Key Results Areas

13. Let me turn now to my department's six Key Results Areas. In the past year, we have produced good results in all six areas. I am pleased to report that significant progress was made with regard to legal cooperation with the Mainland. Memoranda of understanding in respect of reciprocal arrangements for the service of judicial documents in civil and commercial proceedings, and in respect of the mutual enforcement of arbitral awards were signed on 14 January and 21 June this year respectively. I am sure that honourable Members will agree that the development of legal cooperation with the Mainland is beneficial to the people and businesses of Hong Kong. The achievements in the past year are a reflection of the goodwill on both sides and will help to develop confidence in Hong Kong as an international business and financial centre.

14. In the context of the 1998 Policy Address, my department announced 16 new commitments. Adding the 10 outstanding pledges made since 1994, the Department of Justice is accountable for 26 pledges. Of these:

  • we have completed 15;

  • we are on schedule on eight;

  • two are under review; and

  • we are endeavoring to speed up the progress on the one pledge that has fallen behind schedule.

15. I wish to highlight our achievements in three areas, namely the greater use of Chinese in the law, the promotion of the Basic Law and the rule of law, and the development of mutual legal assistance with other jurisdictions.

Use of Chinese

16. We have taken several steps to promote the greater use of Chinese in the law. My department's English-Chinese Glossary of Legal Terms is an essential tool for developing consistent usage in bilingual legal terminology. In September 1998, the third edition of the glossary was published. We expect to publish the first edition of the Chinese-English Glossary of Legal Terms on schedule.

17. With regard to those criminal cases that were conducted in Chinese, we met our targets of handling in-house 100% of magistracy appeals and criminal appeals in the Court of Appeal; about 50% of trials in the District Court; and 100% of the trials in the Court of First Instance. Counsel in Prosecutions Division were provided with a regularly updated English-Chinese glossary of legal terms for use in criminal proceedings.

18. My department has also been producing bilingual court documents, and preparing bilingual government franchises, contracts and tender documents.

19. I continue to chair meetings of the Committee on Bilingual Legal System, which includes representatives from the Judiciary, Bar Association and Law Society. Early this year, the Committee launched a 3-month pilot project to translate important case precedents into Chinese. The experience gained from the pilot project will help us develop strategies for the selection and systematic translation of important judgments, which would facilitate the wider use of Chinese in court.

Promotion of the Basic Law and rule of law

20. Turning to our promotional activities, in order to foster better understanding of Hong Kong's legal system and to instill public support for the rule of law, we have produced a new series of legal docu-dramas, which was screened on TVB from November 1998 to March 1999, and an educational video, which was distributed to schools, community organisations and civic education bodies. Publications on prosecution work and the law-making process, and a Basic Law Index, have also been distributed.

21. Members of my department took part in various public debates, which have contributed to a deeper appreciation of Hong Kong's legal system and the operation of our new constitutional order. We have also honoured our pledges

  • first, to promote knowledge within the civil service of the Basic Law, and of the national laws that apply in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region; and
  • secondly, to promote public understanding of the department's work, aspects of the legal system, and the rule of law through our homepage, by organising and conducting overseas speaking engagements, by briefing numerous overseas visitors, attending overseas conferences, and (locally) by giving many talks and publishing many articles.

We will continue to promulgate understanding of the legal system in ways which will benefit the public at large.

Mutual legal assistance

22. With regard to mutual legal assistance with other countries, honourable Members will recall that the bilateral agreements that had, before Reunification, been extended to Hong Kong by the United Kingdom ceased to apply on 1 July 1997. Since then, my department has been giving priority to the establishment of new bilaterals. I am pleased to report that, in 1998, eight additional bilateral agreements were negotiated in respect of mutual legal assistance in criminal matters, surrender of fugitive offenders, and transfer of sentenced prisoners. This year six further bilaterals have already been negotiated, and negotiations for four other agreements are well advanced. We will commence negotiation of agreements on reciprocal enforcement of judgments in civil and criminal matters as soon as authorisation is obtained from the Central People's Government.

Other pledges

23. Turning to our other pledges, we have fulfilled the pledges -

  • to create an electoral resource library;

  • to publish two reports and two consultation papers of the Law Reform Commission;

  • to provide support for new activities relating to information technology, telecommunications and broadcasting, and the implementation of the Mandatory Provident Fund;

  • to provide advice on the establishment of the new Information Technology and Broadcasting Bureau, and on the re-organisation of district organisations;

  • to improve our ability to conduct criminal appeal cases which go to the Court of Final Appeal, and to conduct all significant criminal cases which proceed, or seek leave to proceed, to that Court; and

  • to establish a permanent Information Technology and Resources Unit.

24. Other pledges that are on schedule are our pledges -

  • to conduct mock trials in the Mainland;

  • to provide training in the Common Law for Chinese government lawyers of the Mainland;

  • to continue to promote HKSAR's participation in international law fora;

  • to identify areas in which HKSAR may benefit from international co-operation and pursue appropriate arrangements; and

  • to promote public knowledge of the legal system.

25. The two targets that are under review are :

  • to review existing legislation to identify outdated and unclear provisions in existing legislation; and

  • to complete the drafting of adaptation bills in respect of all the 640 ordinances.

26. We are behind schedule on only one pledge, which is to obtain the necessary authorisation from the Central People's Government and negotiate agreements on reciprocal enforcement of judgments with other jurisdictions. However, I am optimistic that progress will soon be made in respect of the reciprocal enforcement of judgments.

Looking Ahead

27. In the next 12 months, we will continue to press ahead with our work in all six Key Result Areas.

New Initiatives

28. In addition, we will implement 16 new initiatives.

29. In relation to the work of the Legal Policy Division, we will:

  • develop expertise in respect of the new constitutional order, including Basic Law litigation;

  • develop expertise in respect of legislative powers, procedures and practices under the Basic Law;

  • develop general awareness of Basic Law issues by preparing Information Notes on many aspects of the Basic Law;

  • take forward the pilot training scheme for Mainland lawyers on Hong Kong's laws and legal system; and

  • present further reports under international conventions and covenants.

30. In relation to the work of the Law Drafting Division, we will conduct a pilot exercise to re-draft existing legislation in plain, user-friendly legal language.

31. In relation to the work of the Civil Division, we will develop a specialized team for inquiries into market misconduct following the de-mutualisation of the Stock Exchange and the Futures Exchange.

32. In relation to the work of the Prosecutions Division, we will:

  • develop a specialised team for prosecution of computer crimes; and

  • develop prosecution expertise in the areas of fraud and corruption.

33. In relation to the work of the Administration and Development Division, we will:

  • implement more vigorous publicity efforts to foster understanding of the rule of law; and

  • formulate proposals for the further development of a bilingual legal system.

Legal Adviser on Legislative Affairs

34. One further development that I wish to mention is our appointment of a specialist consultant to advise on legislative affairs. I have already referred earlier to our commitment to develop expertise in respect of legislative powers, procedures and practices, and this appointment is in furtherance of that initiative. I think Honourable Members will agree that the development of sound legislative practices and procedures within the constitutional principles of the Basic Law is a matter of fundamental importance. The appointment of a former Legislative Council Legal Adviser (Jonathan Daw) to advise on these matters will, I hope, contribute to the common purpose of Government and the Legislature in developing parliamentary practices appropriate to Hong Kong's unique constitutional status.

35. By parliamentary practices I mean the rules and established procedures which reflect and support the constitutional working relationship between the executive authorities and the legislature. For example the rules relating to the introduction of bills and motions for amendment to bills, motions on financial business, and the procedures for scrutinising subsidiary legislation. Our consultant's role in these areas is to offer impartial, objective advice in the best interests of the community.

36. Honourable Members, I hope that the appointment of Mr Daw will show the Government's genuine desire to better perform our work relating to legislative affairs, and our determination to work closely with, and secure greater support from, the Legislature.

Legal profession

37. Madam Chairman, before I conclude, I wish to say a few words about the difficulties that the legal profession has encountered during the last year or so. The economic downturn has hit the profession badly, and morale is low in many quarters. I cannot offer any quick fixes, but I do wish to maintain a continuing dialogue with the two professional bodies. Any suggestions that they have for dealing with the situation will be given careful consideration. One of the concerns of the profession - the need for a review of legal education - is being actively considered by a Working Group, which has representatives from the professional bodies, the two law faculties and the Administration. I am hopeful that the first stage of the review can begin early next year.


38. The Department of Justice is determined to play its part in realising the vision of "One Country, Two Systems" and the principle of "Hong Kong people ruling Hong Kong". We are fully committed to upholding the rule of law under the Basic Law, and are ready and eager to take on the challenges that lie ahead.

39. I am now happy to answer any questions that Honourable Members may wish to raise.

1999年10月13日(星期三)
立法會司法及法律事務委員會會議
律政司司長致辭全文

各位早安。我很高興今天有機會向各位講述律政司的施政方針、在過去12個月實現歷年各項承諾的工作進度,以及上星期發表的《施政方針》報告所臚列的新措施。

施政方針

2. 律政司的施政方針,是維護法治,為香港特別行政區政府提供高效率和具成效的法律服務,以及維持和改善現行的法律制度。

3. 過去一年,我們在施政方針的層面有三個目標。

4. 首個目標關乎法治,稍後我會討論這項目。

5. 第二個目標,是確保我們的法律服務切合服務對象的合理期望。關於這點,我很高興向大家報告,過去一年,我們已經實現95%以上的承諾。我們取得了良好成績,但當然不敢因而自滿。

6. 第三個目標,是確保法律制度得以不斷改善。這方面我們採取了多項措施。我們在去年的立法會會期內向立法會提交了五條條例草案,其中《1998年盜竊罪(修訂)條例草案》已經通過,訂立了新的法定欺詐罪,其餘四條條例草案仍在立法會審議。改善法律制度的其他措施包括:推廣在法律上更廣泛使用中文,以及與其他司法管轄區開展司法互助。稍後我會更深入講述這些題目。

7. 現在我要談談本港的法治。一如各位議員所知,政府受法律管轄,是法治的一個要素。這是不容置疑的。差不多每天都有人在法院對政府提出訴訟。相信大家也知道,這些訟案都由絕對公正獨立、無畏無懼的司法機構處理。對政府行政措施進行司法覆核,是普通法司法區一項沿用已久的重要措施。這項司法程序仍是本港法律制度的一項主要特色。例如:在1998年,政府需面對947宗民事訴訟,其中105宗涉及與政府決定有關的司法覆核。

8. 實施《基本法》為本港法律制度帶來一項重大發展,就是出現了憲法訴訟。訴訟人現在可以基於法例違反了《基本法》的保證而訴諸法庭,質疑有關法例。這是法治的顯著證明。

9. 這種發展引起爭議,但對我們來說,應是意料中事。試看容許對法例進行合憲覆核的其他普通法地區-美國是典型例子-我們會發現法院的判決往往引起極大爭議。我們必須面對的事實,就是法院需要裁定法例是否合憲,當中會涉及更多政策範疇的問題。在具體處理極具爭議性問題的法例,要以或無明確規定怎樣處理這些問題的概括性憲法來判斷法例是否合憲,這是難免出現的情況。

10. 《基本法》方面,還有另一個複雜因素。《基本法》由全國人民代表大會頒布,對憲法架構作出規定,以推行一國兩制的原則。起草《基本法》期間,遇到一個引起極大爭論的問題,就是由誰人解釋《基本法》?起草人員面對兩種不同的法律體系。在普通法地區,是由法官解釋法例;在大陸法地區,通常由立法機關解釋自己訂立的法例。最後,兩種傳統都被編入《基本法》內,其中第一五八條述明《基本法》的解釋權屬於全國人民代表大會常務委員會,也賦予香港特別行政區法院判案時解釋《基本法》的權力,但須受若干限制。這種共同擁有解釋權的措施是我們的新憲制架構的一部分。根據《基本法》行使這種解釋權完全符合法治精神。

11. 我們實施《基本法》的日子尚短,憲法訴訟帶來的種種影響仍未有深入了解。律政司對《基本法》的問題,十分重視。在某方面出現爭議,實在無可避免。但是,司法獨立和法治仍然穩健如昔。

12. 本港現行的普通法制度可以應付憲法上的改變,但仍保存我們所珍視的基本原則。英國便是一個例子。加入歐洲聯盟,令到英國的一項悠久法制傳統 - 議會主權 - 受到影響。英國目前也因為權力轉移和制定《人權法令》而須面對憲法上的改變。新的蘇格蘭立法機關,一如本立法會,權力須受到成文憲法所限制。沒有人能夠肯定這些轉變對英國法制有甚麼影響,但社會各界都上下一心,共同爭取一個理想結果。我希望我們也採用同樣態度,處理香港的憲法過渡事宜。

評估成效的主要範疇

13. 現在讓我向各位交代律政司的六項主要工作範疇。去年,我們在全部六個主要工作範疇都取得良好成效。很高興告知大家,我們與內地在法律合作方面取得重大進展。有關在民事或商事訴訟中相互送達司法文件,以及相互執行仲裁裁決的互惠安排備忘錄,分別於今年的1月14日及6月21日簽定。相信各位議員也同意,與內地發展法律合作關係,對香港市民和商業活動,甚有裨益。過去一年的成就正好反映兩地的友好關係,有助加強香港作為國際商業金融中心的信心。

14. 律政司在1998年《施政報告》中作出16項新的工作承諾,再加上自1994年以來尚未實現的10項承諾,律政司須實現的承諾共有26項,當中-

  • 已經完成15項;

  • 正如期實現8項;

  • 兩項正在檢討中;以及

  • 我們正全力加快實現未能如期完成的一項承諾。

15. 我想向各位特別介紹我們在三方面取得的成就,即在法律上更廣泛使用中文、推廣《基本法》和法治,以及與其他司法管轄區發展司法互助關係。

使用中文

16. 我們採取了多項措施,在法律上更廣泛使用中文。律政司出版的《英漢法律詞彙》,是劃一英漢法律用語不可或缺的工具書。詞彙的第三版於去年9月出版。我們希望《漢英法律詞彙》第一版可以如期面世。

17. 至於以中文進行訴訟的刑事案件方面,我們已達到定下的目標,即由司內律師處理所有的裁判法院上訴案件和上訴法庭刑事上訴案件,約半數的區域法院案件,以及所有的原訟法庭案件。刑事檢控科的律師也定期獲得發給最新的英漢法律詞彙,供刑事訴訟上使用。

18. 律政司一直擬備雙語法庭文件和政府專營權、合約和標書等文件的雙語版。

19. 我繼續主持雙語法律制度委員會的會議,委員會成員包括司法機構、大律師公會和律師會的代表。本年初,委員會推行一項為期三個月的試驗計劃,把重要案例譯成中文。從這計劃取得的經驗,有助我們定立揀選重要判詞並作有系統翻譯的策略,方便在法庭上更廣泛使用中文。

推廣《基本法》和法治

20. 至於推廣活動方面,為促進市民對香港法律制度的認識和對法治的支持,我們製作了一輯新的電視法律實況劇集,由1998年11月至1999年3月期間在無線電視播放,也向各學校、社團及公民教育組織派發教育用錄影帶。此外,我們也派發了介紹檢控工作和立法程序的刊物,以及《基本法索引》。

21. 司內人員曾出席多個公開辯論,藉此讓大眾更了解香港法律制度和新憲制架構的運作。我們也實現了以下承諾-

  • 第一,加強公務員對《基本法》和在香港特區引用全國性法律的認識;以及

  • 第二,透過各種途徑令公眾更加了解本司的工作、法律制度和法治精神,這包括設立律政司的網頁、籌辦和進行海外演說、向海外訪客作簡介、出席海外會議及在本地發表演說和刊登文章等。

我們會繼續致力加深公眾對法律制度的認識,從而令社會整體得益。

司法互助

22. 與其他國家的司法互助方面,各位議員當會記得,回歸前由英國延引至香港實施的雙邊協議在1997年7月1日不再適用。由那時起,律政司一直以定立新的雙邊協議為首要工作。我很高興向各位匯報,本司在1998年已經就刑事司法互助、移交逃犯及移交被判刑者磋商八項新的雙邊協議。今年,我們已商妥六項雙邊協議,而另外四項協議的磋商工作也進展良好。當獲得中央政府授權後,我們便會就相互執行民事和刑事判決的協議展開磋商。

其他承諾

23. 其他承諾方面,我們已經完成的項目有-

  • 設立選舉資源參考圖書館;

  • 發表兩份法律改革委員會報告書和諮詢文件;

  • 支援各項有關資訊科技、電訊和廣播的新工作,以及協助推行強制性公積金計劃;

  • 就成立資訊科技及廣播局,以及重組地區組織事宜,提供法律意見;

  • 加強我們處理入稟終審法院的刑事上訴案件的能力,以及處理所有入稟或申請入稟終審法院的重要刑事案件;以及

  • 設立常設的資訊科技及資源組。

24. 如期進行的其他承諾項目有-

  • 在內地進行模擬審訊;

  • 為內地政府律師提供普通法方面的訓練;

  • 繼續推動香港特區參與不同的國際法律研討會;

  • 確定香港特區可從國際合作中受惠的範疇,並作出相應的安排;以及

  • 加強公眾對法律制度的認識。

25. 尚待檢討的兩項目標有-

  • 檢討現有法例,找出過時和不明確的條文;以及

  • 完成草擬全部640條條例的適應化修改條例草案。

26. 進度較預期慢的項目只有一項,就是向中央政府取得所需的授權,就相互執行判決的協議,與其他司法管轄區展開磋商。但我相信在相互執行判決方面很快便會有進展。

展望未來的路向

27. 在今後的12個月,我們會繼續全力推展全部六個主要工作範疇的工作。

新措施

28. 此外,我們會推行16項新措施。

29. 法律政策科方面,我們會-

  • 建立有關新憲制架構包括《基本法》訴訟方面的專門知識;

  • 就《基本法》規定的立法權力、程序和常規,建立專門知識;

  • 編製有關《基本法》各個方面的參考便覽,藉以加強市民對《基本法》的整體認識;

  • 為內地律師開展有關香港法律和法律制度的試驗訓練計劃;以及

  • 繼續提交國際公約及條約規定的報告書。

30. 法律草擬科方面,我們會推行試驗計劃,以淺白易明的法律文體重新草擬現有法例。

31. 民事法律科方面,我們會成立專責小組,在聯合交易所和期貨交易所股份化後,負責調查市場失當行為。

32. 刑事檢控科方面,我們會-

  • 設立專責小組,檢控電腦罪案;以及

  • 建立有關檢控詐騙和貪污罪行的專門知識。

33. 政務及發展科方面,我們會-

  • 更積極推行宣傳活動,加深市民對法治的認識;以及
  • 為雙語法律制度的進一步發展制定建議。

法律顧問(立法事務)

34. 還有一點我想提及的,就是我們委聘了一位顧問,專門就立法事務提供意見。正如我剛才提過,我們決意就立法權力、程序及常規建立專門知識,這項委聘正有助推行新措施。我相信各位議員定會同意,制定一套符合《基本法》憲制原則的健全立法程序及常規,是至為重要的事情。我希望,委聘前立法局法律顧問杜俊能先生就有關事務提供意見,將有助達成政府與立法機關的共同目標,即制定切合香港特殊憲制地位的議會常規。

35. 我所說的議會常規,是指一些規則和既定程序,用以反映和支持行政和立法機關在憲法上的工作關係。例如,有關提出法案、動議修訂法案和動議財務議案的規則,以及審核附屬法例的程序。我們的法律顧問,就是要以符合社會最佳利益為依歸,在這幾方面提供持平客觀的意見。

36. 各位議員,我希望杜先生的委任,可以顯示政府衷心期望做好立法事務,和與立法機關緊密合作,以及取得它更大支持的決心。

法律專業

37. 主席女士,在總結之前,我想談談法律界自去年以來所遇到的困難。經濟逆轉對業界造成沉重打擊,業內多方面的士氣也見低落。我雖然未能提供即時的解決方法,但我確實希望與兩個法律專業團體保持對話。我們定當仔細考慮任何可以解決問題的建議。業界所關注的其中一個事項 - 檢討法律教育的需要 - 現正由一個以專業團體、兩個法律學系和政府代表組成的工作小組積極研究。我相信明年初可以進行第一階段的檢討工作。

總結

38. 律政司決意為實現"一國兩制"的理念及"港人治港"的方針克盡厥職。我們會全力遵照《基本法》的規定維護法治,並作好準備,迎接未來的挑戰。

39. 歡迎各位議員提問,我樂意解答。

********************


#10526 v1 - Opening Statement