LegCo Panel on Trade and Industry
Meeting on 12 October 1999 at 4:30 p.m.

Speaking Note for STI

In view of the time constraint, I will focus on the important developments and new initiatives under the two policy objectives of the Trade and Industry Bureau.

(1) Promotion of Free Trade and Investment

On promotion of free trade and investment, we strongly believe that maintaining an open market, keeping protectionist forces at bay and encouraging competition are ways to achieve economic recovery and sustainable development. These can also help all economies to attain stable growth. The regular conduct of trade negotiations can promote the further opening of markets towards the ultimate goal of global free trade.

2. Therefore, Hong Kong has been working closely and actively with other like-minded WTO members with the aim to build consensus for the launch of a new round of comprehensive and balanced multilateral trade negotiations at the forthcoming Third WTO Ministerial Conference, so as to set a forward-looking WTO agenda for the 21st Century.

(2) Mainland/Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Joint Commission on Commerce and Trade

3. As Hong Kong's economy becomes more intertwined with that of the Mainland, we have agreed with the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Co-operation (MOFTEC) to set up the "Mainland/HKSAR Joint Commission on Commerce and Trade" (hereinafter referred to as the Joint Commission). The Joint Commission will serve as a forum for the Mainland and HKSAR authorities dealing with trade and commercial matters to exchange views regularly on matters of mutual interest. It will operate in accordance with the "One Country, Two Systems" principle, and having regard to the status of the HKSAR as a separate customs territory as enshrined in the Basic Law. As a matter of fact, similar liaison bodies between MOFTEC and a number of economies, notably the United States and the European Union, have already been in existence for a number of years. We expect that the establishment of the Joint Commission will help both sides better understand each other's trade and commercial policies and measures, and bring about mutually beneficial economic and trade developments.

4. The Joint Commission will hold meetings annually in either Beijing or Hong Kong. The first meeting will be held on 8-9 November 1999 in Beijing. The Joint Commission will be co-chaired by the Assistant Minister of MOFTEC, Mr. AN Min and me. Ad hoc working groups will be set up under the Joint Commission to research into specific issues if necessary.

5. Details of the terms of reference and modus operandi of the Joint Commission are set out in the LegCo brief issued to Members on 6 October. We are finalizing with MOFTEC the agenda for the first meeting and the list of working groups that may be set up.

(3) Protection of Intellectual Property Rights

6. Protection of intellectual property rights is the bedrock of Hong Kong's long term economic development. The international community also has high expectations of our intellectual property regime. We therefore always strive for excellence in this area.

7. We have earlier consulted the public on various options to enhance the existing legal provisions to protect intellectual property rights. The public, the organizations concerned as well as the Legislative Council are supportive of most of the options. We will therefore introduce draft legislation into the Legislative Council to effect the proposals, including the specification of certain copyright piracy and trade mark counterfeiting offences under the Organised and Serious Crimes Ordinance, banning the unauthorised possession of recording equipment in cinemas or concert venues, and the clarifications of the relevant provisions to facilitate prosecution of corporate piracy. We look forward to Members' support for the legislation.

8. On enforcement, we continue to combat infringing activities vigorously. In June 1999, the Customs & Excise Department established a special task force of more than 180 officers to compliment the existing 300 in the Intellectual Property Investigation Bureau in combating copyright piracy. Retail piracy has subsided considerably as a result of the enhanced enforcement action. In the first eight months this year, the Customs & Excise Department already seized some 10 million copies of suspected pirated optical discs, 9 production lines and arrested about 1,600 suspects. We will keep up our enforcement efforts so that offenders are brought to justice.

9. In addition, we will be devoting more resources to education and publicity in the coming years in order to strengthen public awareness of the importance of protecting intellectual property rights.

(4) Promoting Innovation and Improved Technology in Manufacturing and Service Industries

10. Over the past year, the Trade and Industry Bureau has been strengthening our existing technological support services on the one hand and actively implementing the recommendations of the First Report of the Chief Executive's Commission on Innovation and Technology on the other. For example, we have set up a $5 billion Innovation and Technology Fund. We have also been planning for the establishment of an Applied Science and Technology Research Institute.

11. Looking forward, we will continue our effort in the promotion of innovation and technology. In this regard, the Government has accepted all the recommendations of the Second and Final Report of the Commission on Innovation and Technology. These include -

  • the establishment of a standing advisory body reporting to the Chief Executive to advise on policy matters related to innovation and technology;

  • the establishment of a policy group headed by the Financial Secretary to formulate and co-ordinate policy in relation to innovation and technology;

  • the merging of the Hong Kong Science Park, the Hong Kong Industrial Technology Centre Corporation and the Hong Kong Industrial Estates Corporation to streamline our service delivery structure; and

  • the establishment of a new scheme under the Innovation and Technology Fund to provide funding support for small enterprises undertaking commercial research and development.

12. We believe that the above initiatives will further strengthen our policy setting and service delivery mechanisms, thereby creating new strengths for Hong Kong to meet the challenges of the next millennium.

(5) Small and Medium Enterprises

13. Another important area of work for us is to provide appropriate support to small and medium enterprises (SMEs). We established the Small and Medium Enterprises Office under the Industry Department in August 1999, providing one-stop information services to SMEs. In the past year, the Special Finance Scheme for SMEs, which was set up in response to the short-term liquidity crunch problem, also provided guarantee for bank credit to over 5,000 enterprises.

14. In order to assist more SMEs, we propose to increase the amount of available guarantees under the Scheme. In the long term, we shall endeavor to strengthen our support to SMEs in co-operation with the Financial Services Bureau and other relevant organizations, so that SMEs will be better equipped in applying for bank loans. We shall also encourage banks to be more active in considering non-collateral-based lending through structural reform of the banking sector.

(6) Maximise Hong Kong's access to high-tech products

15. To maintain Hong Kong's role as an international business and financial centre, we need to maintain our trading partners' faith in the integrity of our strategic trade control system so that we can have continued access to high-tech products. Hence, according to the "one country, two systems" principle and Hong Kong's status as a separate customs territory, Hong Kong maintains an independent and autonomous import and export control system over strategic commodities. Our system is law-based, backed by a comprehensive licensing system, vigorous enforcement and close international co-operation. Our system is also objective and transparent and is highly regarded by our trading partners.

16. In May this year, a US Congressional special committee published an investigation report commonly known as the Cox Report which caused some people to cast doubts on the integrity of Hong Kong's strategic trade control system. To refute the unfounded allegations contained in the Report, we have briefed US Congressmen, government agencies, and business community on our position regarding the Report and also explained to them Hong Kong's strict control over strategic commodities trade.

17. In the coming year, we shall continue to uphold and strengthen our vigorous enforcement over strategic commodities trade.


18. Finally, over the past year, in order to strengthen Hong Kong's status as an international trade centre and to enhance the competitiveness of the local manufacturing and service industries, we have been striving to implement the 44 initiatives committed in or before 1998. I am delighted to report to Members that the Trade and Industry Bureau and its Departments have made good progress in implementing these initiatives. We have completed actions for 16 items, and are on schedule in taking forward the remaining 28 items. Generally speaking, our main achievements in the past year include-

  • progressive implementation of the recommendations made by the Chief Executive's Commission on Innovation and Technology in its First Report, including the setting up of the $5 billion Innovation and Technology Fund;

  • strengthened our support to SMEs;

  • established the "Mainland/HKSAR Joint Commission on Commerce and Trade" with MOFTEC;

  • maintaining a vigorous control system for strategic commodities and textiles and clothing;

  • encouraging the public and private sectors to comply with our competition policy;

  • active participation in the preparation for the new round of multilateral trade negotiations to be launched in early next century; and

  • vigorously combating intellectual property rights infringement and piracy activities.

19. Thank you.

一九九九年十月十二日
下午四時三十分

立法會貿易及工業事務委員會會議

工商局局長發言備要



由於時間有限,我會重點介紹工商局的兩個施政方針一些重要的發展和新䣭。

(1) 促進自由貿易和投資

在促進自由貿易和投資方面,我們深信保持巿場開放,致力對抗保護主義,鼓勵競爭,是邁向經濟復甦和持續發展的途徑,也有助所有經濟體系平穩增長。而定期進行貿易談判是可以促使巿場進一步開放,最終達至全球自由貿易的目標。

2. 因此,我們與一群觀點相近的世貿成員正加緊工作,積極謀求在快將舉行的第三次世貿組織部長級會議上達成共識,展開新一輪全面和平衡的多邊貿易談判,為世貿組織擬定廿一世紀的前瞻性議程。

(2) 內地與香港特別行政區商貿聯繫委員會

3. 鑑於香港與內地的經濟關係日趨密切,我們與對外貿易經濟合作部同意設立內地與香港特別行政區商貿聯繫委員會,讓內地和特區的商貿部門能定期就雙方關心的事宜交換意見。聯委會將按照「一國兩制」的原則,以及《基本法》訂明香港特區為單獨關稅區的規定運作。事實上,多年以來,內地已跟多個貿易伙伴,例如美國和歐洲聯盟,建立了類似的聯繫機制。我們期待聯委會的設立,可增雙方對彼此商貿政策的了解,以促進兩地互惠互利的經貿發展。

4. 聯委會每年會在北京或香港舉行一次工作會議,首次會議將於一九九九年十一月八至九日在北京舉行。外經貿部部長助理安民先生和我將擔任聯委會的聯合主席。我們會視乎需要在聯委會下設立臨時工作小組就個別議題作出研究。

5. 有關委員會的職能範圍和運作形式,我們已詳列於十月六日發給議員的立法會參考資料摘要內。我們現正與外經貿部敲定第一次會議將討論的事項及可能成立的工作小組。

(3) 保護知識產權

6. 保障知識產權是本港經濟長遠發展的基礎,國際社會對本港的知識產權制度期望亦甚殷切,因此,我們在這方面一直努力不懈,務求精益求精。

7. 我們在較早前就如何改進現有法律條文,以加強保護知識產權,提出多個方案。在諮詢了公眾、有關團体和立法會後,大部份方案獲得支持。故此,我們將會在本立法年度向立法會提交草案,包括把盜版和偽冒商標罪行列入《有組織及嚴重罪行條例》內,增訂條文禁止未經許可在戲院或音樂廳內擁有攝錄儀器,以及闡明有關知識產權罪行的法律條文,以便檢控商戶層面的侵犯知識產權者。希望各議員能支持有關法案。

8. 在執法方面,我們繼續嚴厲打擊侵權罪行。海關自六月底成立了一支180多人的「特遣隊」後,加上原有近300人的「版權及商標調查局」人手,大力掃蕩盜版活動,現在零售層面的侵權活動已大大收歛。海關在本年首八個月已檢獲近一千萬隻涉嫌盜版光碟、九條生產線和拘捕近一千六百名涉案人士,我們會繼續再接再厲,務求令不法之徒無所遁形。

9. 另外,我們在來年會投入更多資源,在教育和宣傳方面下功夫,令市民大眾能更深切體會保護知識產權的重要。

(4) 鼓勵製造業和服務業創新和改良科技

10. 在過去一年,工商局一方面鞏固現有的科技支援服務,另一方面更積極落實行政長官特設創新科技委員會首份報告的建議。舉例說,我們已注資50億元設立了創新及科技基金。此外,我們正積極策劃成立應用科技研究院。

11. 在未來日子,我們會繼續全力推動創新和科技的發展。政府已接納創新科技委員會最後報告的所有建議。這些建議包括-

    - 設立一個直接向行政長官負責的常設諮詢組織,就創新和科技方面的政策事宜提供意見;

    - 成立一個由財政司司長領導的高層政策小組,在政府內部制定和協調有關創新和科技的政策;

    - 把香港科學園、香港工業科技中心公司及香港工業邨公司合併,以精簡服務架構;及

    - 在創新及科技基金下設立資助計劃,以協助小型企業進行科技研究開發。


12. 我們相信上述措施可加強政策制定和提供服務方面的機制,從而為香港締造新的優勢,以迎接下世紀經濟發展的新挑戰。

(5) 中小型企業

13. 我們的另一工作重點,是為中小型企業提供適當的支援。今年八月,我們在工業署設立了中小型企業辦公室,為中小型企業提供一站式的資訊服務。在過去一年,為應付短期信貸收縮而設立的中小型企業特別信貸計劃,亦為超過五千家企業提供銀行貸款擔保。

14. 為了協助更多的中小型企業,我們建議提高信貸計劃可承擔的保額。長遠來說,我們將與財經事務局及其他相關機構聯繫,致力加強對中小型企業的支援,使中小型企業更好掌握申請銀行貸款的知識。並透過銀行體系的結構性改革,鼓勵銀行更樂意考慮抵押品以外的借貸因素。

(6) 確保香港能夠取用各高科技產品

15. 為了保持香港的國際商貿中心地位,我們必需維持貿易伙伴對我們對戰略物品的管制制度的信心,以使香港能繼續取得高科技產品。因此在"一國兩制"的原則下及特區作為單獨關稅地區的身份,香港維持着一套獨立自主的戰略物品進出口管制制度。這套制度建基於嚴厲的法律、全面的許可證管制、嚴厲而有力的執法及緊密的國際合作,且具客觀性及透明度。我們的制度一直以來備受貿易伙伴的高度評價。

16. 今年五月,美國國會一個特別調查委員會發表了一份通稱為考克斯報告的調查報告,引部份人士關注香港的戰略品管制制度是否健全。我們已向美國國會議員、政府機關及商界闡述政府對該報告所持的立場,及介紹香港現行對戰略品貿易所實施的嚴格管制,以澄清報告的無理指控。

17. 我們在未來一年會繼續貫徹執行現行對戰略品貿易的管制,並會加強管制制度。

總結

18. 最後,在過去一年,我們為鞏固香港的國際貿易中心地位,以及提高本地製造業和服務業的競爭力,致力實施1998年及以前所承諾的共44項措施。我很高興向各位議員滙報,工商局和其部門在落實已承諾的措施方面,進度良好,我們已完成了16個項目,並繼續如期推行餘下28項。總的來說,過去一年的重點工作成效包括:

  • 逐步落實行政長官特設創新及科技委員會第一份報告所提出的各項建議,包括設立五十億元的創新及科技基金。

  • 加強對中小型企業的支援。

  • 與外經貿部成立內地與香港特別行政區商貿聯系委員會。

  • 繼續維持嚴謹的戰略物品以及紡織和成衣管制制度。

  • 推動公營及私營機構遵行競爭政策。

  • 積極參與為下世紀初展開新一輪多邊貿易談判的籌備工作。

  • 嚴厲打擊侵權罪行,大力掃蕩盜版活動。

19. 多謝各位。