Privacy Policy Statement of The Legislative Council Commission (PPS)

Privacy policy statement

The Legislative Council Commission ("the Commission") respects personal data and is committed to complying with the requirements of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance ("PD(P)O") (Cap. 486).

Provision of personal data

You may be invited to provide personal data to the Commission on a voluntary basis. The Commission will through its executive arm, the Legislative Council Secretariat ("the Secretariat"), specify the collection purpose and intended usage of your data when it invites you to provide such information. Personal data are kept for the fulfillment of the purpose or its directly related purpose for which the data are used.

Disclosure of personal data

Unless permitted or required by law, the Commission will not disclose your personal data to any third parties without your prior consent.

Security of personal data

The Secretariat uses SSL protocol to encrypt personal data during network transmission to protect your data. All personal data provided to the Secretariat is secured, and access to them is restricted to authorized personnel only.

Kinds of personal data held

There are three broad categories of personal data held in the Secretariat in providing administrative and secretariat support to the Legislative Council ("Council") and its Members. They are personal data contained in:

  1. complaint records, which include records containing information provided by data subjects and data users, and collected in connection with complaints handling and related activities;
  2. personnel records, which include personal details, job particulars, details of salary, payments, benefits, performance and promotion appraisals, disciplinary matters, etc. of every person employed with the Commission; and
  3. other records, which include administration and operational files, personal data provided to the Commission or the Secretariat from individuals for participating in Council business, and the functions and activities of the Commission or the Secretariat.
Main purposes of keeping personal data

Personal data held in:

  1. complaint records are kept for the purposes of carrying out the constitutional and statutory functions of the Council, including the receiving and handling of complaints;
  2. personnel records of employees are kept for human resources management purposes, relating to matters such as employees' recruitment, appointment, benefits administration, compensation, termination, performance appraisal, and discipline etc.; and
  3. other records are kept for various purposes which may vary according to the nature of the record, such as administration of Council business, administration of office functions and activities, procurement of stores and equipment, acquisition of services, etc., participating in educational, promotional and training activities, handling of enquiries from the public, etc., and such records contain personal identifiers.
Retention

The personal data provided to the Commission or the Secretariat will be retained for no longer than is required to fulfill the purpose or any directly related purpose for which the personal data was to be used, subject to legal, statutory and regulatory requirements mandating the retention of data.

Right of access and correction

Under the PD(P)O, you are entitled to make a request for access to and correction of your personal data. Should you wish to access or correct your personal data held by the Commission or the Secretariat, please send your data access or correction request to the Personal Data Privacy Officer as follows –

  • by post to the Personal Data Privacy Officer, The Legislative Council Secretariat, Legislative Council Complex, 1 Legislative Council Road, Central, Hong Kong; or
  • by email (privacy@legco.gov.hk).
Practices

The Personal Data Privacy Officer is responsible for monitoring and supervising compliance with the PD(P)O within the Secretariat. The following are maintained to ensure compliance with the PD(P)O:

  1. Data Log Book, as provided in section 27 of the PD(P)O, be kept in respect of refusals of data access and/or data correction requests;
  2. Data Access Request Form for subject access requests of personal data held by the Commission or the Secretariat.
Use of cookies and server logs

The Secretariat will collect statistics about the users' preference of on-line services offered on the websites and the number of visits to the websites by using cookies and server logs without collecting any personal identifiable information of users.

Cookies

A cookie is a small amount of data created in a computer when a person visits a website on the computer. It often includes an anonymous unique identifier. A cookie can be used to identify a computer. It, however, is not used to collect any personal information. In other words, it does not have the function of identifying an individual user of the website.

Cookies are used by the Secretariat to collect statistics about the users' preference of on-line services offered on the websites.

You may choose to accept or reject cookies. If you reject the cookies, you will not be able to use some of the functions of the websites.

Server logs

When you visit our websites, your internet protocol address will be identified and logged automatically in our server log files, along with the browser type and the pages that you viewed. Server logs are used to compile statistics on the usage levels of our websites without collecting any personal identifiable information of users.

Fees

A fee of $1.0 per page is charged for the processing of data access requests.

Enquiries

Any enquiries on data protection issues should be addressed to the Personal Data Privacy Officer, whose address is set out above.

Personal Information Collection Statement (PICS)

When The Legislative Council Commission collects personal data from individuals through its executive arm, the Legislative Council Secretariat ("the Secretariat"), the Secretariat will provide the individuals with a Personal Information Collection Statement on or before the collection in an appropriate format and manner (e.g. in the same paper form or web page that collects the personal data, or in a notice posted up at the reception area of the Legislative Council Complex).

立法會行政管理委員會私隱政策聲明

私隱政策聲明

立法會行政管理委員會(下稱"行政管理委員會")尊重個人資料私隱,並承諾遵守《個人資料(私隱)條例》(第486章)(下稱"《私隱條例》")的有關規定。

提供個人資料

行政管理委員會可能會邀請你自願提供個人資料。行政管理委員會邀請你提供資料時,會透過其行政機構立法會秘書處(下稱"秘書處"),指明收集資料的目的和用途。個人資料會被保存,以貫徹該等資料被使用於的目的或與使用該等資料直接有關的目的。

披露個人資料

除非法律許可或有所規定,行政管理委員會不會在未得到你的事先同意下向任何第三方披露你的個人資料。

個人資料的保安

秘書處按照保密插口層規約為網絡傳送的個人資料加密,以確保你的資料得到保護。你向秘書處提供的所有個人資料均會保密,只限獲授權人員查閱。

秘書處持有的個人資料類別

秘書處為執行向立法會及其議員提供行政和秘書支援的工作而持有的個人資料有3大類,分別記載在下列紀錄內:

  1. 申訴紀錄:當中包括資料當事人及資料使用者提供的資料,以及就處理申訴及有關活動收集的資料;
  2. 人事紀錄:當中包括受僱於行政管理委員會的每名人士的個人資料、工作詳情、薪金資料、付款紀錄、福利、工作表現及晉升評核、紀律事宜等;及
  3. 其他紀錄:當中包括行政及運作方面的檔案、個別人士因參與立法會事務及行政管理委員會或秘書處的職能及活動而向行政管理委員會或秘書處提供的個人資料。
保存個人資料的主要目的

持有下列紀錄內的個人資料的目的為:

  1. 申訴紀錄:備存資料的目的是要履行立法會的憲制和法定職能,包括接受申訴並作出處理;
  2. 人事紀錄:備存僱員人事資料的目的,是要作人力資源管理用途,例如有關僱員的招聘、聘任、福利管理、補償、解僱、工作表現評核及紀律等事宜;及
  3. 其他紀錄:備存這些紀錄的目的各有不同,視乎紀錄的性質而定,例如有關立法會事務的行政工作、有關立法會的職能及活動的行政工作、採購物料及設備、獲取服務、參與教育、推廣及培訓活動,處理公眾查詢等,該等紀錄載有個人身份標識符。
保留資料

在不抵觸強制保留資料的法律、法定及規管規定的前提下,提供予行政管理委員會或秘書處的個人資料的保存時間,不會超過將其保存以貫徹該等個人資料被使用於的目的或任何與使用該等個人資料直接有關的目的而所需的時間。

查閱及改正資料的權利

根據《私隱條例》,你有權要求查閱及改正你的個人資料。如你欲查閱或改正由行政管理委員會或秘書處所持有的有關你的個人資料,請透過以下方式向個人資料私隱主任提出查閱或改正個人資料的要求 --

  • 以郵寄方式把有關要求送交個人資料私隱主任(地址:香港中區立法會道1號立法會綜合大樓立法會秘書處);或
  • 以電郵方式提出要求(電郵地址:privacy@legco.gov.hk)。
實務

個人資料私隱主任負責監察及督導秘書處人員遵從《私隱條例》的規定。為確保《私隱條例》獲得遵從,秘書處會備存以下資料:

  1. 《私隱條例》第27條所規定的資料紀錄簿,用以記錄拒絕查閱及/或改正資料要求的詳情;
  2. 查閱資料要求表格,以便資料當事人要求查閱由行政管理委員會或秘書處持有的個人資料。
使用小型文字檔案(cookies)及伺服器日誌

秘書處會使用小型文字檔案及伺服器日誌收集有關使用者對網站提供的網上服務的喜好及瀏覽人次的統計資料,但不會收集任何足以辨識使用者身份的資料。

小型文字檔案

小型文字檔案是一個小型的數據檔案,當使用者用電腦瀏覽一個網站時,小型文字檔案會建立於電腦內。這種檔案通常包含匿名而獨有的識別符,用以辨識個別電腦,但不能用以收集任何個人資料,即是說,它不具備辨識網站個別使用者的功能。

秘書處使用小型文字檔案收集有關使用者對網站提供的網上服務的喜好的統計資料。

你可選擇接受或拒絕貯存小型文字檔案。如你拒絕貯存小型文字檔案,將不能使用網站的某些功能。

伺服器日誌

當你瀏覽本網站時,你的互聯網規約地址、瀏覽器類型及所瀏覽的網頁會自動被識別及記錄在本網站的伺服器日誌檔案中。

伺服器日誌用於編製有關本網站使用量的統計資料,而不會收集任何足以辨識使用者身份的資料。

費用

處理查閱資料要求的費用為每頁1元。

查詢

如就保障資料事宜有任何查詢,應向個人資料私隱主任提出(聯絡地址載於上文)。

收集個人資料聲明

立法會行政管理委員會如透過其行政機構立法會秘書處(下稱"秘書處")向個別人士收集個人資料,秘書處在收集個人資料之時或之前,會以適當的形式及方法向有關人士提供《收集個人資料聲明》(例如,在收集個人資料的表格或網頁上提供該聲明,或在立法會綜合大樓接待處張貼相關告示)。