Skip to content Skip to Quick Links

Policy on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records

The Legislative Council passed a resolution at its meeting of 19 March 2014 to amend the Rules of Procedure to set out the following Policy on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records ("the Policy"):

The documents and records of the Legislature (and its committees) in the custody of the Legislative Council Secretariat may be made available for access subject to the following -

(a)if the Legislature (or its committee) considers that any of its documents or records should not be made available for access or prescribes a period for which it should not be made so available, access to the document or record may not be made available until the prescribed period has expired or it has been in existence for 50 years, whichever is shorter;

(b)any such document or record may be made available for access before expiry of the closure period specified in paragraph (a) consequent to a review;

(c)any other document or record of the Legislature (or its committee) may be made available for access at any time but must be made so available when it has been in existence for 20 years; and

(d)access to any document or record or any part of it shall not be made available if such access is prohibited by law.

(Schedule 2 to Rules of Procedures)

Committee on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records

The Legislature has established the Committee on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records ("the Committee) under Rule 74A of the Rules of Procedure to determine whether a document or record of the Legislature (or its committee) should be made available for access earlier than the expiry of the closure period specified in the Policy; set guidelines for implementing the Policy; consider any objection against the denial of access to such a document or record by the Clerk; and consider any other matter relating to or arising from the Policy.

The Committee consists of the President, who shall be the chairman, the chairman and deputy chairman of the House Committee, and not more than 10 other members who shall be elected at a House Committee meeting in such manner as the House Committee may determine.

The terms of reference, membership and the practice of the Committee are set out in Rule 74A of the Rules of Procedure.


Practice and procedure of the Committee on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records

The Committee has considered the following principles to determine its own practice and procedure under Rule 74A(11) of Rules of Procedure to ensure that the public's right to access information of the Legislature would not be unduly undermined:

(a)Transparency: there should be maximum transparency regarding how the Committee determines that a closed document and record should be allowed access but without divulging the information contained therein unless and until the Committee has determined that such document and record may be made available for access;

(b)Efficiency: the Committee should carry out its functions with efficiency and as much expedition as is practicable; and

(c)Consistency: the Committee should be consistent in determining whether to allow access to closed documents and records.

Exempted categories of documents and records of the Legislature

The Committee has adopted the list of exempted categories of documents and records of the Legislature by which an access request to closed documents and records kept by the Legislative Council Secretariat might be refused.


Review of the documents and records of the Legislature

The Legislative Council has authorized the Clerk to the Legislative Council ("the Clerk") under Rule 6(5A) of the Rules of Procedure to conduct the review referred to in paragraph (b) of the Policy above within 25 years of the existence of the document or record as to whether access should be made available at an earlier time, and to conduct a further review of the document or record, if not already made available for public access, at least once every four years from the last review. The Clerk may deny access to a document or record in accordance with any guidelines, including the exempted categories, set by the Committee on Access to the Legislature's Documents and Records ("the Committee"). The list of time-expired documents and records disclosed as at 16 May 2017 is as follows -


Requests for access to the Legislature's documents and records

To enhance the transparency, the Committee will publish the lists of approved and denied access requests onto the Legislative Council Website. The lists showing the position as at 2 June 2017 are as follows -

跳至主要內容 跳至快速連結

立法機關文件及紀錄查閱政策

立法會已於2014年3月19日的立法會會議,通過決議案,修改議事規則,訂明以下的立法機關文件及紀錄查閱政策:

秘書處保管的立法機關(及其委員會)的文件及紀錄可供查閱,但須符合下述情況:

(a)如立法機關(或其委員會)認為,其任何文件或紀錄不應供予查閱,或訂明不應在某段期限內提供其任何文件或紀錄供予查閱,則有關文件或紀錄不可供予查閱,直至該訂明期限屆滿或有關的文件或紀錄已存在50年(以較短者為準);

(b)經覆檢後,任何該等文件或紀錄可在上文(a)段所指明的適用封存期屆滿前,供予查閱;

(c)可在任何時間提供立法機關(或其委員會)的任何其他文件或紀錄以供查閱,但若有關文件或紀錄已存在20年,便必須供予查閱;及

(d)法律禁止披露的任何文件或紀錄或其部分,不得供予查閱。

(《議事規則》附表2)


查閱立法機關文件及紀錄事宜委員會

立法會根據《議事規則》第74A條已成立一個名為查閱立法機關文件及紀錄事宜委員會("查閱事宜委員會"),負責決定將某份立法機關(或其委員會)的文件或紀錄在立法機關文件及紀錄查閱政策所指明的封存期屆滿之前提早公開;制訂實施該政策的指引;考慮任何就立法會秘書根據《議事規則》第6(5A)(b)條(立法會秘書的職責)拒絕提供該等文件或紀錄而提出的反對;及考慮任何其他有關公開資料政策或由該政策引起的事宜。

該委員會由立法會主席出任為委員會主席,成員包括內務委員會正、副主席及不超過10名其他委員,按內務委員會所決定的方式在內務委員會會議上選出。

其職能、組成和行事方式載列於《議事規則》第74A條。


查閱立法機關文件及紀錄事宜委員會的行事方式及程序

根據《議事規則》第74A(11)條,查閱事宜委員會已決定其行事方式及程序。在擬訂該套工作方式及程序時,查閱事宜委員會已考慮以下原則,使公眾查閱立法機關資料的權利不會受到損害:

(a)透明度:關於查閱事宜委員會如何決定准許公眾查閱某份封存的文件及紀錄,過程應盡量透明,但不得洩露該文件及紀錄所載的資料,除非及直至查閱事宜委員會已決定該文件及紀錄可供予查閱;

(b)效率:查閱事宜委員會應以高效的方式、並在切實可行範圍內盡快執行職能;及

(c)一致性:查閱事宜委員會在決定是否准許查閱封存文件及紀錄時,應保持一致性。


獲豁免類別的立法機關文件及紀錄

查閱事宜委員會已採納一份獲豁免的立法機關文件及紀錄類別一覽表。如公眾人士擬查閱的由立法會秘書處保管的封存文件及紀錄屬於一覽表所列的類別,有關要求可予拒絕。


解封覆檢

根據《議事規則》第6(5A)條,立法會已授權立法會秘書須在文件或紀錄存在25年內進行上述立法機關文件及紀錄查閱政策(b)段所提述的覆檢,以確定應否將可提供該等文件或紀錄以供查閱的時間提早,而若有關文件或紀錄仍未可提供予公眾查閱,則須在上次覆檢後最少每4年再覆檢一次。此外,立法會秘書可根據查閱事宜委員會所制訂的任何指引,包括獲豁免類別,拒絕提供某份文件或紀錄以供查閱。下表顯示截至2018年12月12日已屆期限可披露予公眾查閱的文件及紀錄的情況 -

查閱立法機關文件及紀錄的要求

為增加透明度,查閱事宜委員會會在立法會網站公布獲批及被拒查閱資料要求一覽表。下表顯示截至2018年12月12日的情況 -