I. INTRODUCTION

The Establishment of the Committee The Public Accounts Committee is established under Rule 72 of the Rules of Procedure of the Legislative Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, a copy of which is attached in *Appendix 1* to this Report.

2. **Membership of the Committee** The following Members are appointed by the President under Rule 72(3) of the Rules of Procedure to serve on the Committee:

Chairman : Dr Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, GBS, JP

Deputy Chairman: Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

Members : Dr Hon David CHU Yu-lin, JP

Hon SIN Chung-kai

Hon Howard YOUNG, SBS, JP (with effect from 18 October 2003)

Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, JP

(until 13 September 2003)

Clerk : Ms Miranda HON Lut-fo

Legal Adviser : Mr Jimmy MA Yiu-tim, JP

3. According to Rule 72(3) of the Rules of Procedure, the Committee consists of a chairman, a deputy chairman and five members. However, as Dr Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, Dr Hon David CHU Yu-lin, Hon SIN Chung-kai and Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan had declared their personal interest in respect of the three chapters covered in this Report, the Committee agreed that they be exempted from the examination of these three chapters. Details of their declarations are given in the Deputy Chairman's opening remarks at the Committee's public hearing on 14 May 2003, in *Appendix 2*. Hon Howard YOUNG did not participate in the study of the three chapters covered in this Report.