香港特別行政區政府 The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

政府總部 運輸及房屋局 運輸科

香港花園道美利大廈

本局檔號 OUR REF.:

THB(T) 3/9/46

來函檔號 YOUR REF.:



Transport and
Housing Bureau
Government Secretariat
Transport Branch
Murray Building, Garden Road,
Hong Kong.

電話 Tel. No.: 2189 2182 傳真 Fax No.: 2104 7274

21 September 2007

Mr Andy Lau Clerk to Transport Panel Legislative Council Secretariat 3/F, Citibank Tower Central Hong Kong

Dear Mr Lau,

Panel on Transport

Measures to enhance safety of reversing vehicles – Review of Road Environment

At the meeting of the Panel on Transport on 25 May 2007, we reported that the Transport Department had in consultation with the District Councils identified a total of 132 priority road sections for detailed investigations on measures that can be implemented to enhance the safety of reversing vehicles. We also provided a summary on the overall situation and progress of the implementation work in the 18 districts as at end-April 2007.

We undertook to provide a monthly update on the progress of the improvement works on these road sections. Further to our report in August, a report summarising the position as at 15 September 2007 is at the **Annex.**

Yours sincerely,

(Rosanna Law) for Secretary for Transport and Housing

Annex

Review of road environment and measures to enhance safety of reversing goods vehicles Progress Report (as at 15 September 2007)

| District Council | No. of priority locations identified | No. of locations with measures agreed by DC and relevant departments | No. of locations with works completed | No. of locations with works in progress/about to commence |
|----------------------|--------------------------------------|----------------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------------------------------|-----------------------------------------------------------------|
| Hong Kong Island | | - | | • |
| 1. Central & Western | 49 | 49 | 35 | 14 |
| 2. Eastern | 5 | 5 | 5 | 0 |
| 3. Wan Chai | 6 | 6 | 3 | 3 |
| 4. Southern District | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Kowloon | | | | • |
| 5. Yau Tsim Mong | 12 | 12 | 12 | 0 |
| 6. Kowloon City | 6 | 6 | 6 | 0 |
| 7. Wong Tai Sin | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| 8. Kwun Tong | 3 | 3 | 3 | 0 |
| 9. Sham Shui Po | 9 | 9 | 8 | 1 |
| New Territories east | | | | • |
| 10. Sha Tin | 2 | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| 11. Tai Po | 2 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| 12. Sai Kung | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| 13. North | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| 14. Islands | 3 | 3 | 3 | 0 |
| New Territories west | | | | |
| 15. Tsuen Wan | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| 16. Kwai Tsing | 6 | 6 | 6 | 0 |
| 17. Tuen Mun | 7 | 7 | 7 | 0 |
| 18. Yuen Long | 5 | 5 | 5 | 0 |
| Total | 128 ¹ | 128 | 107 | 21 |

¹ There were originally 132 priority locations. Four of the locations have been excluded after consulting the District Councils.