

LC Paper No. CROP 2/07-08

Ref: CB(3)/CROP/1

Paper for the House Committee meeting on 12 October 2007

Election of a Member to fill a vacancy in the Committee on Rules of Procedure

Purpose

This paper invites the House Committee to elect a Member to fill the vacancy in the Committee on Rules of Procedure (CRoP) left by the late Hon MA Lik at the House Committee meeting on 12 October 2007.

Background

2. Under Rule 74(2) of the Rules of Procedure, CRoP shall consist of a chairman, a deputy chairman and 10 members who shall be appointed by the President in accordance with an election procedure determined by the House Committee. Members of CRoP serve on the Committee until the end of a Legislative Council term. Following the death of Hon MA Lik, there are currently only nine members serving CRoP:

Chairman: Deputy Chairman:	Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing Hon Margaret NG
	Hon James TIEN Pei-chun
Members:	
	Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming
	Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee
	Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing
	Hon LI Fung-ying
	Hon Daniel LAM Wai-keung
	Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah
	Prof Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing
	Hon KWONG Chi-kin

Election

3. It is recommended that the election to fill the vacancy in CRoP be held at the House Committee meeting on 12 October 2007. In accordance with the election procedure agreed by the House Committee on 8 October 2004, the election of members to CRoP is by way of nominations made orally at the meeting of the House Committee. In making the nominations, Members should have regard to the need to ensure that CRoP's membership is broadly balanced and representative of the membership of the Council. If there is more than one nomination, an election by a show of hands will be conducted.

4. The House Committee's recommendation in regard to the Member elected will then be submitted to the President for appointment.

Decision sought

5. Members are invited to elect a Member to fill the vacancy in CRoP at the House Committee meeting on 12 October 2007.

Legislative Council Secretariat 10 October 2007