Press Release (For issue on 29 June, 2010)

Chief Executive Appoints Harbourfront Commission

The Chief Executive has appointed a new Harbourfront Commission to advise the Government on all harbourfront matters with an aim to deliver a world-class harbourfront for public enjoyment. Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke is named the first Chairperson of the Commission.

The Harbourfront Commission is established to succeed the work of the Harbour-front Enhancement Committee (HEC) to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of the Victoria Harbourfront.

The Secretary for Development, Mrs Carrie Lam, welcomed the establishment of the Harbourfront Commission.

"Through extensive public engagement and great efforts of its members under the admirable chairmanship of Professor Lee Chack-fan, HEC had made significant contributions in planning and beautifying the harbourfront over the past six years. I am confident the Harbourfront Commission will spare no efforts in continuing the good work."

"I wish to take this opportunity to extend my deepest gratitude to Professor Lee Chack-fan and all members of the HEC for their passion and dedication over the past few years," said Mrs Lam.

The establishment of the Harbourfront Commission was recommended by the HEC when it concluded its six-year work in February 2010. The Government had also accepted HEC's recommendations relating to the Commission's role and functions and its composition.

The newly formed Harbourfront Commission comprises mostly

non-official members including 12 representatives nominated by professional institutes, civic and environmental groups and the business sector, and eight individuals. Senior officials from six departments which play an important role in harbourfront matters will also join the Commission. Pursuant to HEC's recommendation, the Secretary for Development will take up the position as the Commission's Vice Chairperson.

"The non-official members are drawn from various sectors including architectural, planning, surveying, engineering, accountancy, tourism, real estate and district councils. With their wealth of experience and expertise, they will provide the needed knowledge and valuable advice to the Commission.

"I am very pleased that Mr Brooke has agreed to accept the appointment as Chairperson of the Commission. Mr Brooke has made remarkable contribution to the HEC in actively promoting the harbourfront policy and planning development. His vast experience in the public and private sectors will be a valuable asset to the Commission.

The functions of the Harbourfront Commission are to –

- (a) play an advocacy, oversight and advisory role in the envisioning, planning, urban design, marketing and branding, development, management and operation of the harbourfront areas and facilities on a continuous and ongoing basis;
- (b) exercise overall coordination and monitoring of harbourfront planning, urban design, development and management to ensure effective integration of these major aspects; and
- (c) foster and encourage the development, management and maintenance of the harbourfront through a wide range of contractual entrustment/partnership arrangements with the private sector (including the community, social enterprises and non-governmental organisations).

Following is the membership of the Commission:

<u>Chairperson</u> Mr Charles Nicholas Brooke

<u>Vice-Chairperson</u> Secretary for Development

Non-official Members (Organisations)

Business Environment Council Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong Conservancy Association Friends of the Earth Hong Kong Institute of Architects Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects Hong Kong Institute of Planners Hong Kong Institute of Planners Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design Hong Kong Institution of Engineers Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong Society for Protection of the Harbour Ltd

<u>Non-official Members (Individuals)</u> Mr Benjamin Cha Yiu-chung Mr Chan Hok-fung Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung Ms Lily Chow Mr Eric Fok Kai-shan Mr Clement Kwok King-man Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun Ms So Lai-chun

Official Members

Commissioner for Tourism or his representative Commissioner for Transport or his representative Director of Civil Engineering and Development or his representative Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or her representative Director of Marine or his representative Director of Planning or his representative

END/29, June, 2010 NNNN