立法會秘書處

Legislative Council Secretariat

新聞稿 Press Release

LegCo Panel on Manpower begins its duty visit to the Republic of Korea

The Legislative Council (LegCo) Panel on Manpower departed for the Republic of Korea today (July 24) to begin its five-day overseas duty visit.

The purpose of the visit is for members to study the experience of the Republic of Korea in the implementation of standard working hours. During the visit, the delegation will study the Korean Government policy on standard working hours, the enforcement and monitoring mechanism for the implementation of standard working hours, the impact of standard working hours on the business environment and the labour market, and measures adopted by the Korean Government to address issues of concern or problems arising from the implementation of standard working hours.

During its stay in the Republic of Korea, the delegation will meet with the Environment and Labor Committee of the National Assembly, the Ministry of Employment and Labor, research institute, tripartite bodies as well as major labour unions and employers' associations.

The itinerary of the visit is as follows:

24 July 2011 (Sunday)	
Evening	Arrive at Seoul

25 July 2011 (Monday)	
25 July 2011 (Moliday)	
10 am	Meeting with Ministry of
	Employment and Labor
3 pm	Meeting with Chairman and
	Members of the Environment and
	Labor Committee of the National
	Assembly
26 July 2011 (Tuesday)	
10 am	Meeting with Korea Labor
	Foundation
2 pm	Meeting with Korea Labor
	Institute
4:30 pm	Meeting with Federation of
	Korean Trade Unions
27 July 2011 (Wednesday)	
10:30 am	Meeting with Economic and Social
	Development Commission
2:30 pm	Meeting with Korean
	Confederation of Trade Unions
28 July 2011 (Thursday)	
10:30 am	Meeting with Korea Employers
	Federation
Evening	Depart for Hong Kong

The delegation is led by Hon LEE Cheuk-yan, Chairman of the Panel on Manpower, and comprises 10 members: Hon LI Fung-ying, Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung, Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che, Hon WONG Kwok-kin, Hon IP Wai-ming, Dr Hon PAN Pey-chyou and Hon LEUNG
Kwok-hung (Panel members), and Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, Dr Hon
LEUNG Ka-lau and Hon WONG Yuk-man (non-Panel Members).

Ends/Sunday, July 24, 2011 NNNN