Finance Committee Follow up on issues raised at the meeting on 19 June 2012

Precedence List of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

In response to Members' enquiries at the meeting on 19 June 2012 concerning the Precedence List of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region ("Precedence List"), this paper provides supplementary information as follows.

According to the existing arrangement, the Chief Executive is at the top of the Precedence List followed by, in descending order, the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal, the Chief Secretary for Administration, the Financial Secretary, the Secretary for Justice, the President of the Legislative Council, the Convenor of the Non-official Members of the Executive Council, other Members of the Executive Council, other Principal Officials and Permanent Judges of the Court of Final Appeal, etc.

3. The two proposed Deputy Secretaries of Departments will be Members of the Executive Council. The Administration will arrange to include them in the list of Members of the Executive Council so that the Precedence List will be available for use upon the implementation of the proposal to re-organise the Government Secretariat.

Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau Administration Wing June 2012

KM0318a