LC Paper No. CB(3) 336/12-13

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MINUTES

No. 1

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 10 October 2012 at 11:00 am

Attendance

The attendance of Members and Clerk is in the Official Record of Proceedings.

Taking of Legislative Council Oath

Members took the Legislative Council ("LegCo") Oath or made the LegCo Affirmation in the following order:

- Hon Albert HO made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon LEE Cheuk-yan took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon James TO took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon CHAN Kam-lam took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Jasper TSANG took the LegCo Oath;
- Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Emily LAU made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon TAM Yiu-chung took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Abraham SHEK took the LegCo Oath;

- Hon Tommy CHEUNG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Frederick FUNG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Vincent FANG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon WONG Kwok-hing made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon Joseph LEE took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Jeffrey LAM made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Andrew LEUNG made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon WONG Ting-kwong made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Ronny TONG made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Cyd HO made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Starry LEE took the LegCo Oath;
- Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon CHAN Hak-kan took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon CHAN Kin-por made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG took the LegCo Oath;
- Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon WONG Kwok-kin made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon IP Kwok-him took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Mrs Regina IP took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Paul TSE took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Alan LEONG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Albert CHAN took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon WONG Yuk-man took the LegCo Oath^{Note};

Note The President of LegCo ruled on 12 October 2012 that as Mr WONG Yuk-man had not fully complied with the Oaths and Declarations Ordinance (Cap. 11) in taking the oath, he had to re-take the oath in accordance with the law.

- Hon Claudia MO made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Michael TIEN took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon James TIEN made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon NG Leung-sing made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Steven HO made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Frankie YICK took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon WU Chi-wai took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon YIU Si-wing made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Gary FAN made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon MA Fung-kwok made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Charles Peter MOK took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon CHAN Chi-chuen made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon CHAN Han-pan made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon CHAN Yuen-han made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon LEUNG Che-cheung made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Kenneth LEUNG made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Alice MAK took the LegCo Oath;
- Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon KWOK Wai-keung made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Dennis KWOK took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Christopher CHEUNG made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon SIN Chung-kai made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon Helena WONG took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon IP Kin-yuen made the LegCo Affirmation;

- Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon Martin LIAO took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon POON Siu-ping made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon TANG Ka-piu made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan took the LegCo Oath;
- Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok made the LegCo Affirmation;
- Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan took the LegCo Oath;
- Hon Christopher CHUNG made the LegCo Affirmation; and
- Hon Tony TSE made the LegCo Affirmation.

Election of President

In accordance with Rule 1A of the Rules of Procedure, Hon Albert HO presided over the election of the President of LegCo.

Hon Albert HO announced that two valid nominations for the office of President had been received by the Clerk's office upon the close of the nomination period. Hon Alan LEONG was nominated by Hon LEE Cheuk-yan and the nomination was seconded by Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG, Hon IP Kin-yuen, Hon Charles Peter MOK, Hon Frederick FUNG, Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN, Hon Kenneth LEUNG, Hon Claudia MO, Hon Ronny TONG, Hon Emily LAU and Hon Cyd HO. Hon Jasper TSANG was nominated by Hon TAM Yiu-chung and the nomination was seconded by Hon WONG Kwok-kin, Hon James TIEN, Hon Jeffrey LAM, Hon CHAN Kin-por and Hon MA Fung-kwok. In accordance with the procedure for the election of the President of LegCo set out in the Schedule to the Rules of Procedure, Hon Albert HO ordered a vote by secret ballot.

After Members had cast their votes and the votes had been counted, Hon Albert HO announced that Hon Alan LEONG received 27 votes and Hon Jasper TSANG received 43 votes. Hon Albert HO declared Hon Jasper TSANG elected as the President of LegCo.

Hon Jasper TSANG took the chair and addressed the Council.

Tabling of Papers

The following papers were laid on the table under Rule 21(2) of the Rules of Procedure:

Subsidiary Legislation / Instruments	<u>L.N. No.</u>
1. Prevention and Control of Disease Ordinance (Amendment of Schedule 1) Notice 2012 (gazetted on 17.8.2012)	138/2012
2. Prevention and Control of Disease (Amendment) Regulation 2012 (gazetted on 28.9.2012)	143/2012
3. Prevention and Control of Disease Ordinance (Amendment of Schedules 1 and 2) Notice 2012 (gazetted on 28.9.2012)	144/2012
4. Legal Aid (Amendment) Regulation 2012 (gazetted on 5.10.2012)	145/2012
5. Legal Aid (Assessment of Resources and Contributions) (Amendment) Regulation 2012 (gazetted on 5.10.2012)	146/2012
6. Immigration (Amendment) Ordinance 2012 (Commencement) Notice (gazetted on 5.10.2012)	147/2012
 Legal Aid Ordinance — Resolution of the Legislative Council (Commencement) Notice (gazetted on 5.10.2012) 	148/2012
8. Construction Industry Legislation (Miscellaneous Amendments) Ordinance 2012 (Commencement) Notice (gazetted on 5.10.2012)	149/2012
Other Paper	
No. 1 - Urban Renewal Authority Annual Report 2011-2012	

No. 1 - Urban Renewal Authority Annual Report 2011-2012 (published on 5.10.2012)

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 17 October 2012 at 11:00 am.

The Council was adjourned at 12:43 pm.

an Z

(Jasper TSANG Yok-sing) President Legislative Council

Council Chamber Hong Kong

18 February 2013