立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. FC107/12-13 (These minutes have been seen by the Administration)

Ref : CB1/F/1/2

Finance Committee of the Legislative Council

Minutes of the 13th meeting held at Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex on Friday, 16 November 2012, at 8:10 pm

Members present:

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP (Chairman) Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon Albert HO Chun-yan Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH Dr Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS

Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon Claudia MO Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Hon CHAN Han-pan Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Hon TANG Ka-piu Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen

Members absent:

Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, JP Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Hon IP Kin-yuen

Public officers attending:

Ms Elizabeth TSE Man-yee, JP Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) Deputy Secretary for Financial Ms Esther LEUNG, JP Services and the Treasury (Treasury)1 Ms Elsie YUEN Principal Executive Officer (General), Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (The Treasury Branch) Secretary for Labour and Welfare Mr Matthew CHEUNG Kin-chung, GBS, JP Ms Irene YOUNG, JP Deputy Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Welfare)2 Mr Patrick NIP Tak-kuen, JP Director of Social Welfare Mr FUNG Pak-yan, JP Deputy Director of Social Welfare (Administration)

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Andy LAU

Assistant Secretary General 1

Staff in attendance:

Mr Derek LO Mr Daniel SIN Mr Ken WOO Miss Queenie LAM Mr Frankie WOO Ms Christy YAU Chief Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Council Secretary (1)7 Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3 Legislative Assistant (1)7

Item No. 1 – FCR(2012-13)54 HEAD 170 – SOCIAL WELFARE DEPARTMENT Subhead 000 Operational expenses Subhead 180 Social security allowance scheme

The meeting continued the deliberation on item FCR(2012-13)54 relating to the funding and establishment proposals on the Old Age Living Allowance.

2. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0109 to 0110 by Dr Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

3. Motions numbered 0001 to 0002 and motions numbered 0004 to 0008 by Dr Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung had not been dealt with at the earlier meeting due to Dr CHEUNG's absence. As Dr CHEUNG was then present in the Conference Room, the <u>Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that these motions be proceeded forthwith. Motion numbered 0003 was not dealt with as the mover, Dr CHEUNG, had withdrawn his motion. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

4. <u>The Chairman</u> said that he had ruled that the motions numbered 0111 to 0210 proposed by Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung were directly related to the item under discussion.

5. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0111 to 0177 by Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

6. At 10:10 pm, <u>the Chairman</u> ordered that the meeting be adjourned.

7. The meeting was adjourned at 10:10 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat 26 February 2013