立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. FC86/12-13 (These minutes have been seen by the Administration)

Ref : CB1/F/1/2

Finance Committee of the Legislative Council

Minutes of the 15th meeting held at Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex on Friday, 30 November 2012, at 3:00 pm

Members present:

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP (Chairman) Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon Albert HO Chun-yan Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH Dr Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS

Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Hon TANG Ka-piu Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen

Members absent:

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, JP Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon Claudia MO Hon YIU Si-wing Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan Hon IP Kin-yuen Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP

Public officers attending:

Ms Elizabeth TSE Man-yee, JP

Ms Esther LEUNG, JP

Ms Elsie YUEN

Mr Matthew CHEUNG Kin-chung, GBS, JP Ms Irene YOUNG, JP

Mr Patrick NIP Tak-kuen, JP Mr FUNG Pak-yan, JP Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) 1 Principal Executive Officer (General), Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau (The Treasury Branch) Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Deputy Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Welfare)2 Director of Social Welfare Deputy Director of Social Welfare (Administration)

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Andy LAU

Assistant Secretary General 1

Staff in attendance:

Mr Derek LO Mr Daniel SIN Mr Ken WOO Miss Queenie LAM Mr Frankie WOO Ms Christy YAU Chief Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Council Secretary (1)7 Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3 Legislative Assistant (1)7

Item No. 1 – FCR(2012-13)57 RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE ESTABLISHMENT SUBCOMMITTEE MADE ON 14 NOVEMBER 2012

<u>The Chairman</u> advised that the item sought the Committee's approval for the staffing proposals in FCR(2012-13)57, which were recommended by the Establishment Subcommittee on 14 November 2012.

2. <u>The Chairman</u> put the item to vote. The Committee approved the proposals.

Item No. 2 – FCR(2012-13)54 HEAD 170 – SOCIAL WELFARE DEPARTMENT Subhead 000 Operational expenses Subhead 180 Social security allowance scheme

3. The meeting continued the deliberation on item FCR(2012-13)54 relating to the funding and establishment proposals on the Old Age Living Allowance (OALA) which was carried over from the meeting held on 23 November 2012.

4. <u>The Chairman</u> said that a total of 417 motions had been received from members to express a view or views under paragraph 37A of the Finance Committee (FC) Procedure, including 11 motions that had been withdrawn by Dr Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung. The Committee had already dealt with 242 motions and would handle the remaining 164 motions at the current meetings.

5. <u>The Chairman</u> took turn to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0244 to 0310 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members' voting on individual question. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

6. Motions numbered 0311 to 0320 were not dealt with as the mover, Dr CHEUNG Chiu-hung, had withdrawn these motions.

7. <u>The Chairman</u> took turn to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0321 to 0331 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members' voting on individual question. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

8. At 5:00 pm, <u>the Chairman</u> ordered that the meeting be adjourned and

that the next meeting would start at 5:10 pm.

9. The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat 21 January 2013