# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. FC108/12-13 (These minutes have been seen by the Administration)

Ref : CB1/F/1/2

# **Finance Committee of the Legislative Council**

# Minutes of the 16<sup>th</sup> meeting held at Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex on Friday, 30 November 2012, at 5:10 pm

### **Members present:**

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP (Chairman) Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon Albert HO Chun-yan Hon James TO Kun-sun Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH Dr Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, JP Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon Claudia MO Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon Dennis KWOK Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen

#### Members absent:

Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS Hon CHAN Han-pan Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon IP Kin-yuen Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon TANG Ka-piu Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP

## **Public officers attending:**

| Ms Elizabeth TSE Man-yee, JP | Permanent Secretary for Financial      |
|------------------------------|--|
|                              | Services and the Treasury (Treasury)   |
| Ms Esther LEUNG, JP          | Deputy Secretary for Financial         |
|                              | Services and the Treasury (Treasury) 1 |
| Ms Elsie YUEN                | Principal Executive Officer (General), |
|                              | Financial Services and the Treasury    |
|                              | Bureau (The Treasury Branch)           |
| Mr Matthew CHEUNG Kin-chung, | Secretary for Labour and Welfare       |
| GBS, JP                      |  |
| Ms Irene YOUNG, JP           | Deputy Secretary for Labour and        |
|                              | Welfare (Welfare)2                     |
| Mr Patrick NIP Tak-kuen, JP  | Director of Social Welfare             |
| Mr FUNG Pak-yan, JP          | Deputy Director of Social Welfare      |
|                              | (Administration)                       |
|                              |  |

## **Clerk in attendance:**

Mr Andy LAU

Assistant Secretary General 1

## **Staff in attendance:**

Mr Derek LO Mr Daniel SIN Mr Ken WOO Miss Queenie LAM Mr Frankie WOO Ms Christy YAU Chief Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Council Secretary (1)7 Council Secretary (1)5 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2 Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3 Legislative Assistant (1)7

# Item No. 2 – FCR(2012-13)54 HEAD 170 – SOCIAL WELFARE DEPARTMENT Subhead 000 Operational expenses Subhead 180 Social security allowance scheme

The meeting continued the deliberation on item FCR(2012-13)54 relating to the funding and establishment proposals on the Old Age Living Allowance (OALA).

2. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0332 to 0379 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

3. In response to Mr Michael TIEN Puk-sun, <u>the Chairman</u> said that Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung had submitted another 200 motions to be moved under paragraph 37A of the FC Procedure; he had ruled that the motions were directly related to the agenda item under discussion. <u>Mr Michael TIEN</u> commented that the remaining time of the meetings scheduled for the day would not be sufficient to deal with all the outstanding motions from Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung. He said that members would not be able to vote on the funding proposal before the end of November. He was dissatisfied that a member's procrastination had deprived elderly persons otherwise eligible for OALA of a month's payment. <u>Mr Michael TIEN</u> left the meeting in protest.

4. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0380 to 0403 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

5. <u>Mr Steven HO Chun-yin</u> raised a point of order. He pointed out that the motions from Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung being displayed on the projector screen in the conference room indicated that they were prepared for deliberation on the FC meeting on 30 October 2012. He queried whether it was in order for the meeting to vote on those motions. <u>The Clerk</u> explained that members would only need to consider the contents of the motions.

6. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0404 to 409 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members. 7. Motions numbered 0410 to 0417 were not dealt with as the proponent, Dr CHEUNG Chiu-hung, had withdrawn these motions.

8. <u>The Chairman</u> took turns to put to vote the questions that motions numbered 0418 to 0421 be proceeded forthwith. As requested by members, the division bell was rung for one minute before members voted on individual questions. All questions were voted down by a majority of members.

9. At 7:10 pm, <u>the Chairman</u> ordered that the meeting be adjourned and the third meeting would start at 7:40 pm.

10. The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat 26 February 2013