

LC Paper No. CB(2) 29/12-13

Ref : CB2/H/5/12

House Committee of the Legislative Council

Minutes of the 1st meeting held in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex at 2:30 pm on Wednesday, 10 October 2012

Members present :

Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, GBS, JP (Chairman) Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC (Deputy Chairman) Hon Albert HO Chun-yan Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Dr Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH Dr Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP Dr Hon LAM Tai-fai, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip Hon WONG Yuk-man Hon Claudia MO Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-vin Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon YIU Si-wing Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Hon CHAN Han-pan Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok Hon CHAN Yuen-han, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Hon TANG Ka-piu Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen

Members absent :

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen

Clerk in attendance :

Miss Flora TAI Clerk to the House Committee

Staff in attendance :

Mr Kenneth CHEN, SBS	Secretary General
Mr Jimmy MA, JP	Legal Adviser
Mrs Justina LAM	Deputy Secretary General
Mr Andy LAU	Assistant Secretary General 1
Miss Odelia LEUNG	Assistant Secretary General 3
Mrs Percy MA	Assistant Secretary General 4
Mr Simon WONG	Chief Public Information Officer
Ms Amy YU	Chief Council Secretary (2)6
Miss Josephine SO	Senior Council Secretary (2)2
Mr Jove CHAN	Senior Council Secretary (2)6
Ms Judy TING	Council Secretary (2)6
Mr Ringo LEE	Senior Legislative Assistant (2)1
Ms Theresa CHEUNG	Senior Legislative Assistant (2)2
Ms Anna CHEUNG	Senior Legislative Assistant (2)3
Ms Anna CHEUNG	Senior Legislative Assistant (2)3
Mr Arthur KAN	Legislative Assistant (2)7

Action

I. Election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the House Committee for the 2012-2013 session

Election of Chairman

Mr Albert HO, the Member present who had the highest precedence, presided over the election of the Chairman of the House Committee. <u>Mr HO</u> called for nominations for the chairmanship of the House Committee. Mr Andrew LEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr Jeffrey LAM</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u>. <u>Mr Andrew LEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

2. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr Albert HO</u> declared Mr Andrew LEUNG elected as the Chairman of the House Committee for the 2012-2013 session. Mr Andrew LEUNG then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

3. <u>The Chairman</u> called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the House Committee. Mr Ronny TONG was nominated by <u>Mr Alan</u> <u>LEONG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Emily LAU</u>. <u>Mr Ronny TONG</u> accepted the nomination.

4. As there was no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> declared Mr Ronny TONG elected as the Deputy Chairman of the House Committee for the 2012-2013 session.

II. Any other business

5. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:34 pm.

Council Business Division 2 Legislative Council Secretariat 17 October 2012