立法會秘書處

Legislative Council Secretariat

新聞稿 Press Release

LegCo Panel on Transport departs for Singapore to conduct overseas duty visit

The Legislative Council ("LegCo") Panel on Transport will depart for Singapore tomorrow (23 September) to begin its four-day overseas duty visit.

The purpose of the visit is to study the experience of Singapore Government in public transport and traffic control. Members will obtain first-hand information on the relevant policies and initiatives in the development and provision of public transport facilities and traffic management measures. They will also take this opportunity to study and observe the application of Information Technology in traffic management, the operation and management of the fully automatic, driverless Mass Rapid Transit system in Singapore as well as the development and operation of the Light Rail Transit system.

The delegation will meet with the Minister for Transport and members of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Transport. In addition, delegation members will exchange views with representatives from relevant Government bodies and the bus and rail operator in Singapore.

The itinerary of the visit is as follows:

23 September	c 2014 (Tuesday)
23 September 2014 (Tuesday)	
PM	Arrive at Singapore
PM	Visit to cycling facilities near Pasir Ris
	Town
24 September 2014 (Wednesday)	
AM	Visit to Marina Bay Cruise Centre and
	connecting transport facilities
AM	Visit to the Hong Kong Economic and Trade
	Office in Singapore
PM	Meeting with the Minister for Transport
25 September 2014 (Thursday)	
AM	Visit to the Singapore Parliament and
	meeting with the Government Parliamentary
	Committee for Transport
PM	Visit to the SBS Transit and tour of the
	North East Line's Operations Control
	Centre and an Integrated Transport Hub
26 September 2014 (Friday)	
AM	Visit to the Land Transport Authority
PM	Depart for Hong Kong

The delegation is led by Hon CHAN Kam-lam, Chairman of the Panel. Other members include Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai, Deputy Chairman of the Panel, Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, Hon CHAN Han-pan, Hon POON Siu-ping and Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen.

Ends/Monday, 22 September 2014 NNNN