# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. ESC9/14-15 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/F/3/2

#### **Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee**

## Minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting held in Conference Room 1 of Legislative Council Complex on Thursday, 9 October 2014, at 2:00 pm

## **Members present:**

Hon Kenneth LEUNG (Chairman)

Hon SIN Chung-kai, SBS, JP (Deputy Chairman)

Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP

Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan, JP

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, JP

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

Hon Claudia MO

Hon NG Leung-sing, SBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon YIU Si-wing

Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP

Hon Charles Peter MOK

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Dr Hon Kenneth CHAN Ka-lok

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki
Hon KWOK Wai-keung
Hon Dennis KWOK
Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP
Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung
Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan
Hon IP Kin-yuen
Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kwong, SBS, JP
Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH
Hon TANG Ka-piu, JP
Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

## **Members attending:**

Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP
Hon WONG Kwok-hing, BBS, MH
Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP
Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP
Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP
Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP
Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP
Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, JP
Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP
Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP

#### **Members absent:**

Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP, PhD, RN Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS

#### **Clerk in attendance:**

Ms Connie SZETO Chief Council Secretary (1)4

#### **Staff in attendance:**

Mr Andy LAU

Ms Angel SHEK

Mr Hugo CHIU

Assistant Secretary General 1

Senior Council Secretary (1)4

Senior Council Secretary (1)6

- 3 -

Mr Fred PANG Senior Council Secretary (1)8

Mr Jason KONG Council Secretary (1)4 Mr Raymond CHOW Council Secretary (1)6

Ms Alice CHEUNG

Miss Queenie LAM

Mr Frankie WOO

Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2

Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3

Ms Christy YAU

Ms Haley CHEUNG

Ms Clara LO

Miss Yannes HO

Legislative Assistant (1)7

Legislative Assistant (1)8

Legislative Assistant (1)9

Legislative Assistant (1)10

\_\_\_\_\_

Mrs Regina IP, Chairman of the Establishment Subcommittee (ESC) in office, chaired the meeting. She informed members that the purpose of the meeting was to elect the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of ESC for the

#### **Election of Chairman**

2014-2015 session.

Action

- 2. <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr Alan LEONG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Gary FAN</u>. <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 3. <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr MA Fung-kwok was nominated by <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Steven HO</u>. <u>Mr MA Fung-kwok</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.
- 4. <u>Mr Albert CHAN</u> requested and <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> agreed that one minute be given to each of the two nominees to present their platforms. <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> and <u>Mr MA Fung-kwok</u> made their respective presentations.
- 5. <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Of the members present for voting, 24 voted for Mr Kenneth LEUNG and 13 voted for Mr MA Fung-kwok. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was declared Chairman of ESC for the 2014-2015 session.

### **Election of Deputy Chairman**

- 6. <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship. Mr SIN Chung-kai was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Charles MOK</u>. <u>Mr SIN</u> Chung-kai accepted the nomination.
- 7. <u>The Chairman</u> asked if there were other nominations. Mr WONG Ting-kwong was nominated by <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Christopher CHEUNG</u>. <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.
- 8. <u>Mr Albert CHAN</u> requested and <u>the Chairman</u> agreed that one minute be given to each of the two nominees to present their platforms. <u>Mr SIN Chung-kai</u> and <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u> made their respective presentations.
- 9. <u>The Chairman</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Of the members present for voting, 25 voted for Mr SIN Chung-kai and 12 voted for Mr WONG Ting-kwong. Mr SIN Chung-kai was declared Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2014-2015 session.

## Any other business

## Schedule of meetings for the 2014-2015 session

10. <u>The Chairman</u> informed members that ESC meetings would usually start at 8:30 am on Wednesday mornings, and the schedule of ESC meetings for the 2014-2015 session would be issued to members after the meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of ESC meetings for the 2014-2015 session was circulated to members vide LC Paper No. ESC7/14-15 on 10 October 2014.)

11. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:20 pm.

Council Business Division 1
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
21 October 2014