

LC Paper No. CB(1)69/14-15 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/PL/TP/1

Panel on Transport

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 9 October 2014, at 3:00 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	: Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP (Chairman) Hon TANG Ka-piu, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon LEE Cheuk-yan Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-hing, BBS, MH Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC Hon CHAN Hak-kan, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip Hon Claudia MO Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP
	Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, BBS, MH, JP Hon Christopher CHUNG Shu-kun, BBS, MH, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Member attending :	Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP
Member absent :	Hon James TO Kun-sun
Clerk in attendance :	Ms Sophie LAU Chief Council Secretary (1)2
Staff in attendance :	Mr Andy LAU Assistant Secretary General 1
	Ms Macy NG Senior Council Secretary (1)2
	Miss Katherine CHAN Council Secretary (1)2
	Miss Queenie LAM Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2
	Ms Emily LIU Legislative Assistant (1)2
	Ms Clara LO Legislative Assistant (1)9
	Miss Ariel SHUM Clerical Assistant (1)2

Action

I Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the 2014-2015 session

Election of Chairman

<u>Mr CHAN Kam-lam</u>, the incumbent Chairman, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session. Mr Michael TIEN was nominated by <u>Mr Tony TSE</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mrs Regina IP</u>. <u>Mr Michael TIEN</u> accepted the nomination. 2. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations. Mr Gary FAN was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Ronny TONG</u>. <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.

3. <u>Mr Albert CHAN</u> requested that one minute be granted to each of the two nominees to present their platforms. <u>The Chairman</u> said that as the election procedure was silent on this session, he would put the proposal to vote.

4. At the request of Mr Albert CHAN, <u>the Chairman</u> ordered a division and the division bell rang for five minutes. Eight members voted for and 12 members voted against the proposal to grant one minute to each of the two nominees to present their platforms. The voting results were as follows:

For

Mr LEE Cheuk-yan Mr Ronny TONG Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung Mr Albert CHAN

Ms Claudia MO Mr WU Chi-wai Mr Gary FAN Dr KWOK Ka-ki

(8 members)

Against Mr WONG Kwok-hing Mr Jeffrey LAM Mr CHAN Hak-kan Mr Paul TSE Mr Frankie YICK Mr CHAN Han-pan

Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT Mr POON Siu-ping Mr TANG Ka-piu Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok Mr Christopher CHUNG Mr Tony TSE

(12 members)

5. <u>The Chairman</u> declared that the proposal was negatived. <u>The Chairman</u> then announced a vote by secret ballot. <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u> said that he had made a mistake on marking his choice on the ballot paper. At the request of Mr LEUNG, <u>the Chairman</u> allowed the replacement of a new ballot paper to him.

6. After all members had cast their votes, <u>the Chairman</u> invited Mr Tony TSE and Dr KWOK Ka-ki who had nominated the two candidates to monitor the counting of votes. A total of 13 and eight

members voted for Mr Michael TIEN and Mr Gary FAN respectively. One ballot paper was invalid. <u>The Chairman</u> declared Mr Michael TIEN elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session.

Election of Deputy Chairman

7. <u>Mr Michael TIEN</u> took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship. Mr TANG Ka-piu was nominated by <u>Mr WONG Kwok-hing</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr CHAN</u> <u>Han-pan</u>. <u>Mr TANG Ka-piu</u> accepted the nomination.

8. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by <u>Mr Gary FAN</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Ronny TONG</u>. <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> accepted the nomination. There was no other nomination.

9. <u>Mr Albert CHAN</u> requested that one minute be granted to each of the two nominees to present their platforms. <u>Mr TANG Ka-piu</u> and <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> made their respective presentations.

10. <u>The Chairman</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>the Chairman</u> invited Mr WONG Kwok-hing and Mr Gary FAN who had nominated the two candidates to monitor the counting of votes. A total of 15 and seven members voted for Mr TANG Ka-piu and Dr KWOK Ka-ki respectively. <u>The Chairman</u> declared Mr TANG Ka-piu elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2014-2015 session.

II Schedule of meetings for the 2014-2015 session

11. The proposed meeting schedule was tabled at the meeting. <u>Members</u> agreed that the monthly regular meetings of the Panel would be held on the third Friday of each month at 10:45 am except for February 2015, which was proposed to be held on 27 February 2015.

(*Post-meeting note*: The meeting schedule of the Panel on Transport was issued vide LC Paper No. CB(1)29/14-15 on 10 October 2014.)

12. <u>Members</u> noted that the Administration had not proposed any items for discussion in October 2014 and raised no objections to discuss the following items at the next regular meeting on 21 November 2014 at 10:45 am -

- (a) Public Transport Strategy Study Workplan;
- (b) "Universal Accessibility" Programme; and
- (c) Proposed extension of one supernumerary post in the Railway Development Office of the Highways Department.

Proposed items for discussion at future meetings

13. <u>The Deputy Chairman</u> raised concern about the impact of occupation of roads arising from the recent assemblies on the business of transport trade. He requested that the Panel should discuss the matter and invite transport operators to express their views.

14. <u>Mr Albert CHAN</u> said that to balance the views of all relevant parties, apart from inviting the Administration and members of the transport trade to attend the meeting, protestors should also be invited to give their views. <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> shared the view that deputations should be invited to attend the meeting.

15. <u>Mr IP Kwok-him</u> considered it inappropriate to invite protestors, who were being complained against for their illegal act of occupying the roads, to express the views on their act at the meeting.

16. <u>The Chairman</u> said that he would give consideration to members' views and liaise with the Transport and Housing Bureau on the matter.

IV Any other business

17. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 3:40 pm.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 17 October 2014