# 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. ESC6/16-17 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB1/F/3/2

#### **Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee**

# Minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting held in Conference Room 1 of Legislative Council Complex on Wednesday, 19 October 2016, at 9:30 am

#### **Members present:**

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP (Chairman) Hon Alvin YEUNG (Deputy Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Hon IP Kin-yuen Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, JP Hon HO Kai-ming Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding Hon SHIU Ka-fai Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH Hon YUNG Hoi-yan Hon CHAN Chun-ying Hon Tanya CHAN Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon LUK Chung-hung Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, MH, JP Hon KWONG Chun-yu

#### **Members attending:**

Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

#### Members absent:

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP Hon Claudia MO Hon Dennis KWOK Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, SBS, JP Hon Eddie CHU Hoi-dick Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho Hon Nathan LAW Kwun-chung Dr Hon YIU Chung-yim Hon Sixtus LEUNG Chung-hang Hon YAU Wai-ching Hon LAU Siu-lai

## **Clerk in attendance:**

Ms Connie SZETO Chief Council Secretary (1)4

# Staff in attendance:

Ms Anita SIT	Assistant Secretary General 1
Ms Sharon CHUNG	Chief Council Secretary (1)2
Miss Rita YUNG	Senior Council Secretary (1)2
Mr Hugo CHIU	Senior Council Secretary (1)4
Mr Raymond CHOW	Senior Council Secretary (1)6
Miss Sharon LO	Senior Council Secretary (1)9
Ms Mandy LI	Council Secretary (1)2
Mr Keith WONG	Council Secretary (1)4
Ms Alice CHEUNG	Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1
Mr Frankie WOO	Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3
Ms Christina SHIU	Legislative Assistant (1)2
Ms Sharon CHAN	Legislative Assistant (1)4
Miss Yannes HO	Legislative Assistant (1)6
Ms Christy YAU	Legislative Assistant (1)7
Ms Clara LO	Legislative Assistant (1)8
Ms Haley CHEUNG	Legislative Assistant (1)9

<u>Action</u>

<u>Mr James TO</u>, the Member with the highest precedence among those who had joined the Establishment Subcommittee ("ESC"), presided at the election of the Chairman of ESC for the 2016-2017 session.

### **Election of Chairman**

2. <u>Mr James TO</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship.

3. Mr Alvin YEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u>, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Tanya CHAN</u>. <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

4. Mrs Regina IP was nominated by <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr KWOK Wai-keung</u>. <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> accepted the nomination.

5. <u>Mr James TO</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Of the members present for voting, 29 voted for Mrs Regina IP and 13 voted for Mr Alvin YEUNG. <u>Mr James TO</u> declared that Mrs Regina IP was elected Chairman of ESC for the 2016-2017 session.

# **Election of Deputy Chairman**

6. <u>The Chairman</u> took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship. Mr Alvin YEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr Kenneth</u> <u>LEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u>. <u>Mr Alvin</u> <u>YEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

7. There being no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> declared that Mr Alvin YEUNG was elected Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2016-2017 session.

#### Any other business

Schedule of meetings for the 2016-2017 session

8. <u>The Chairman</u> informed members that the next meeting of ESC was tentatively scheduled to be held on 2 November 2016 at 8:30 am. She said that the schedule of ESC meetings for the 2016-2017 session would be issued to members after the meeting.

[*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of ESC meetings for the 2016-2017 session was circulated to members vide LC Paper No. ESC3/16-17 on 24 October 2016. Members were informed vide LC Paper No. ESC4/16-17 issued on 26 October 2016 that the meeting scheduled for 2 November 2016 would be cancelled.]

9. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 9:44 am.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 31 October 2016