

Ref : CB2/PL/CA

LC Paper No. CB(2)126/16-17 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Panel on Constitutional Affairs

Minutes of meeting held on Tuesday, 18 October 2016, at 12:30 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

| Members:Hon James TO Kun-sunpresentHon LEUNG Yiu-chungHon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JPProf Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JHon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JPHon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JPHon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JPHon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JPHon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JPHon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBSHon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JPHon LEUNG Kwok-hungHon Claudia MOHon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS, JPHon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBSHon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, JPHon WU Chi-wai, MHHon YIU Si-wing, BBSHon Charles Peter MOK, JPHon CHAN Han-pan, JPHon CHAN Han-pan, JPHon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JI | 5, JP |
|---|-------|
| Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP | |
| Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JJ Hon Kenneth LEUNG | Р |
| Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki | |
| Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang | |
| Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung | |

| | | Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP |
|---------------------|---|--|
| | | Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, SBS, JP |
| | | Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH |
| | | Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP |
| | | Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP |
| | | Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan |
| | | Hon Alvin YEUNG |
| | | Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin |
| | | Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, JP |
| | | Hon HO Kai-ming |
| | | Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding |
| | | Hon SHIU Ka-chun |
| | | Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH |
| | | Hon YUNG Hoi-yan |
| | | Hon CHAN Chun-ying |
| | | Hon Tanya CHAN |
| | | Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP |
| | | Hon HUI Chi-fung |
| | | Hon LUK Chung-hung |
| | | Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH |
| | | Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, MH, JP |
| | | Hon KWONG Chun-yu |
| | | Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho Hon Nathan LAW Kwun-chung |
| | | Hon Nathan LAW Kwun-chung |
| Member attending | : | Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP |
| Members | : | Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP |
| absent | • | Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP |
| ubbelle | | Hon CHU Hoi-dick |
| | | Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai |
| | | Dr Hon YIU Chung-yim |
| | | Hon Sixtus LEUNG Chung-hang |
| | | Hon YAU Wai-ching |
| | | Dr Hon LAU Siu-lai |
| Clerk in | | Ms Joanne MAK |
| attendance | : | Chief Council Secretary (2) 3 |
| anchuance | | Chief Council Scotetary (2) 5 |

| Staff in attendance | : | Miss Flora TAI Assistant Secretary General 2 |
|---------------------|---|---|
| | | Miss Cindy HO Senior Council Secretary (2) 3 |
| | | Mr Richard WONG Senior Council Secretary (2) 6 |
| | | Miss Karen LAI Council Secretary (2) 3 |
| | | Miss Connie AU Council Secretary (2) 6 |

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr James TO, the member present who had the highest precedence, presided over the election of the Chairman of the Panel. <u>Mr James TO</u> called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel. Mr Martin LIAO was nominated by <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Abraham SHEK</u>. <u>Mr Martin LIAO</u> accepted the nomination.

Mr James TO invited other nominations for the chairmanship. 2. Dr LAU Siu-lai was nominated by Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung and the nomination was seconded by Mr CHAN Chi-chuen. As Dr LAU Siu-lai was absent, Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Dr LAU Siu-lai. Ms Starry LEE questioned whether a Member who had yet to comply with the requirements for the taking of the Legislative Council ("LegCo") Oath was eligible to stand for election as the chairman or deputy chairman of a Panel. Mr James TO responded that Rule 1 of the Rules of Procedure stipulated that no Member of the Council should attend a meeting or vote therein until he had made or subscribed an oath or affirmation in accordance with the provisions of the Oaths and Declarations Ordinance (Cap. 11) ("ODO"). The term of office of Members of the Sixth LegCo had commenced on 1 October 2016 and a Member was deemed duly elected unless he was disqualified from office. In accordance with the procedure for the election of chairman and deputy chairman of Panels as set out in the House Rules, an absent member could

3

Action

be nominated for office provided that the member making the nomination stated that the absent member's acceptance of the nomination had been secured. <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> expressed disagreement and requested to put on record her view that the nomination of a member as a candidate should not be accepted before his/her fulfillment of the oath-taking requirement in accordance with ODO.

3. Miss Tanya CHAN was nominated by <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u>. <u>Miss Tanya CHAN</u> accepted the nomination.

(<u>Post-meeting note</u>: Miss Tanya CHAN was elected as Chairman of the Panel on Environmental Affairs at its meeting held at 2:30 pm on the same day.)

4. Mr Sixtus LEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u>. As Mr Sixtus LEUNG was absent, <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr Sixtus LEUNG.

5. <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u> further nominated the following seven members one-by-one for the chairmanship of the Panel: Mr CHAN Han-pan, Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, Dr CHIANG Lai-wan, Mr CHAN Hak-kan, Mr LAU Kwok-fan, Ms Starry LEE and Mr LUK Chung-hung. The first four nominations, however, were not seconded by any member. As for the last three nominations, while they were seconded by <u>Mr Nathan LAW</u>, the three members being nominated did not accept the nomination. <u>Mr James TO</u> ruled that these seven nominations were invalid in accordance with the election procedure in the House Rules.

6. Mrs Regina IP was nominated by <u>Mr Nathan LAW</u>. As the nomination was not seconded by any member, <u>Mr James TO</u> declared that it was invalid in accordance with election procedure in the House Rules.

7. At 1:02 pm, <u>Mr James TO</u> said that as he envisaged that the nomination procedure and the election of the Chairman could not be completed within a short time, he announced that he would close the meeting at this juncture and nominations could continue to be made at the next meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of Hon James TO, the Member who had the highest precedence in the Council among those

Action

who had joined this Panel, the next meeting of the Panel was scheduled to be held on Friday, 28 October 2016, from 11:15 am to 12:00 noon to elect the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.)

II. Any other business

8. The meeting ended at 1:03 pm.

Council Business Division 2 Legislative Council Secretariat 9 November 2016