立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No.CB(4)113/16-17 (These minutes have been cleared with the presiding member)

Ref: CB4/PL/ED

Panel on Education

Minutes of meeting held on Tuesday, 18 October 2016, at 11:00 am in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members : Hon James TO Kun-sun present Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

> Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, BBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon Claudia MO

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen Hon CHAN Han-pan, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Dr Hon Elizabeth QUAT, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, SBS, JP

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, JP

Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon HO Kai-ming

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan

Hon CHAN Chun-ying

Hon Tanya CHAN

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung

Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, MH, JP

Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai

Hon KWONG Chun-yu

Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Nathan LAW Kwun-chung

Dr Hon LAU Siu-lai

Members absent : Hon WONG Ting-kwong, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon CHU Hoi-dick Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Dr Hon YIU Chung-yim

Clerk in attendance

: Ms Angel WONG

Chief Council Secretary (4)4

Staff in attendance

: Mr Matthew LOO Assistant Secretary General 4

Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Mr KWONG Kam-fai

Senior Council Secretary (4)4

Miss Mandy NG

Council Secretary (4)4

Miss Winnie CHENG

Senior Legislative Assistant (4)1

Ms Sandy HAU

Legislative Assistant (4)4

Miss Emma LAM Clerical Assistant (4)3

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr James TO, the member present who had the highest precedence, presided over the election of Chairman of the Panel.

- 2. In response to members' enquiries, Mr James TO said that pursuant to the Rules of Procedure, a member should not attend committee meetings or vote therein until he had taken an oath. However, the member concerned had the right to be nominated or elected at elections. He pointed out that there was a case in the Fifth Legislative Council ("LegCo") where Mr WONG Yuk-man had been elected as Chairman of the Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting before he re-took the oath, and he had not attended the meeting concerned on that occasion.
- 3. <u>Mr James TO</u> called for nominations of chairmanship. <u>Mr Dennis KWOK</u> nominated Mr IP Kin-yuen and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>. <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> accepted the nomination.

- 4. <u>Mr Abraham SHEK</u> nominated Dr CHIANG Lai-wan and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr Elizabeth QUAT</u>. <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan</u> accepted the nomination.
- 5. <u>Dr CHENG Chung-tai</u> nominated Mr Sixtus LEUNG ¹ and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u>. As Mr Sixtus LEUNG was absent, <u>Dr CHENG</u> confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr LEUNG.
- 6. <u>Mr Nathan LAW</u> nominated Miss YAU Wai-ching ¹ and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr LAU Siu-lai</u>. As Miss YAU was absent and her acceptance of nomination had not been secured, <u>Mr James TO</u> declared that the nomination was invalid.
- 7. <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u> nominated Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Nathan LAW</u>. <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> accepted the nomination.
- 8. <u>Dr LAU Siu-lai</u> nominated Dr YIU Chung-yim and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung</u>. As Dr YIU was absent, <u>Dr LAU</u> confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Dr YIU.
- 9. <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> expressed disagreement and requested to put on record that she considered it undesirable and inappropriate for Mr Sixtus LEUNG and Dr YIU Chung-yim to be nominated for Chairman of the Panel before their fulfilment of the oath-taking requirement. She said that reference should not be made to Mr WONG Yuk-man's case where the Clerk to LegCo had not declined the oath taken by Mr WONG.
- 10. Mr James TO said that as advised by the Secretariat, an absent member could be nominated for office provided that the member making the nomination stated that the absent member's acceptance of the nomination for office had been secured in accordance with the procedure for the election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Panels set out in Appendix IV to the House Rules. Hence, he maintained his decision of accepting the nominations of Mr Sixtus LEUNG and Dr YIU Chung-yim.
- 11. <u>Mr James TO</u> called for other nominations. <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> nominated Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung and the nomination was seconded by

as a member of the LegCo.

According to the Judgment of the Court of First Instance of the High Court on 15 November 2016, Mr Sixtus LEUNG and Miss YAU Wai-ching have been disqualified from assuming the office of a member of the LegCo, and have vacated the same since 12 October 2016, and are not entitled to act

<u>Dr LAU Siu-lai</u>. <u>Mr LEUNG Kwok-hung</u> accepted the nomination. No further nominations were made.

12. At 11:31 am, Mr James TO said that as the appointed end time of the meeting was 11:30 am and he envisaged that the polling for the election of Chairman could not be completed within a short time, he announced that the meeting would close at this juncture. He further said that there were six valid nominations made and the polling would be conducted at the next meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman was held at the meeting on 28 October 2016.)

13. The meeting ended at 11:32 am.

Council Business Division 4
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
18 November 2016