附錄 Appendix

(只備英文本 English version only)

Hon. Andrew LEUNG President of the Legislative Council Legislative Council Hong Kong SAR 4 October 2019

Mr. President,

The Chief Executive announced at 3 pm today that she ordered the Prohibition on Face Covering Regulation according to the Emergency Regulations Ordinance.

You would agree that the Legislative Council is the only lawful legislative body in Hong Kong. Any legislation and subsidiary legislation must be vetted by the Legislative Council to take legal effect.

The decision made by the Chief Executive to introduce the Prohibition on Face Covering Regulation by invoking Emergency Regulations Ordinance is an urgent matter of great public interest, and in our view, violates the Basic Law. It was a hasty decision with enormous ramification. Further, the Prohibition on Face Covering Regulation unfairly infringes and/or limits the rights and freedoms of Hong Kong citizens under the Basic Law and the Bills of Rights Ordinance. This will only spark great frustrations and anger amongst the Hong Kong People.

The Chief Executive's decision to introduce the Prohibition on Face Covering Regulation under the Emergency Regulations Ordinance is a matter of urgent character and relates to a matter of public importance. Rule 15(2) of the Rules of Procedure states that "[d]uring any period when the Council is in recess between the end of one session and the beginning of the next session, the President may call a special meeting of the Council on such day and at such hour as he may specify." We solemnly demand that a special Legislative Council meeting be convened immediately under rule 15(2) of the Rules of Procedure.

## Yours sincerely,

James TO Kun-sun LEUNG Yiu-chung Joseph LEE Kok-long Claudia MO WU Chi-wai Charles Peter MOK CHAN Chi-chuen KWOK Ka-ki Kenneth LEUNG Dennis KWOK Fernando CHEUNG Helena WONG IP Kin-yuen Alvin YEUNG Andrew WAN Siu-kin LAM Cheuk-ting CHU Hoi-dick SHIU Ka-chun Tanya CHAN HUI Chi-fung KWONG Chun-yu Jeremy TAM Man-ho Gary FAN Kwok-wai AU Nok-hin

Members of Legislative Council, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region