

Ref : CB2/BC/5/18

LC Paper No. CB(2)1267/18-19

Bills Committee on Electoral Legislation (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2019

Minutes of the first meeting held on Friday, 12 April 2019, from 2:00 pm to 2:15 pm in Conference Room 2B of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	:	Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP (Chairman) Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP Hon Alvin YEUNG Hon CHU Hoi-dick Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, JP Hon SHIU Ka-fai Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH
Member attending	:	Hon AU Nok-hin
Members absent	:	Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Clerk in attendance	:	Ms Joanne MAK Chief Council Secretary (2) 3
Staff in attendance	:	Ms Clara TAM Assistant Legal Adviser 9
		Mr Dennis HO Council Secretary (2) 3
		Mrs Fonny TSANG Legislative Assistant (2) 3

Action

I. Election of Chairman

Election of Chairman

<u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>, the member who had the highest precedence in Council among members of the Bills Committee present, presided over the election of the Chairman. He invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Bills Committee.

2. Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan was nominated by <u>Dr Priscilla LEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Steven HO</u>. <u>Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan</u> accepted the nomination.

3. Mr CHU Hoi-dick was nominated by <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u>. <u>Mr CHU Hoi-dick</u> accepted the nomination.

4. <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Fourteen and five members voted for Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan and Mr CHU Hoi-dick respectively. <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u> declared Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan elected as the Chairman of the Bill Committee. <u>Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan</u> then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

5. <u>Members</u> agreed to elect a Deputy Chairman of the Bills Committee. <u>The Chairman</u> invited nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Bills Committee.

2

6. Mr CHU Hoi-dick was nominated by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr CHU Hoi-dick</u> accepted the nomination.

7. Mr LUK Chung-hung was nominated by <u>Mr Steven HO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr CHAN Han-pan</u>. <u>Mr LUK Chung-hung</u> accepted the nomination.

8. <u>The Chairman</u> announced a vote by secret ballot. Five and fourteen members voted for Mr CHU Hoi-dick and Mr LUK Chung-hung respectively. <u>The Chairman</u> declared Mr LUK Chung-hung elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Bill Committee.

II. Any other business

9. <u>The Bills Committee</u> deliberated (index of proceedings attached at **Annex**).

Invitation of public views

10. <u>Members</u> agreed to receive public views on the Bill. <u>The Chairman</u> said that a meeting would be scheduled for Friday, 3 May 2019 at 10:45 am for the purpose and in line with usual practice, a notice to invite views from the public would be posted on the Legislative Council website and the 18 District Councils would also be invited to submit their views.

Date of next meeting

11. <u>Members</u> agreed that the next meeting would be held on Friday, 26 April 2019, at 8:30 am.

12. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:15 pm.

Council Business Division 2 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 18 April 2019

Annex

Proceedings of the first meeting of the Bills Committee on Electoral Legislation (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill 2019 on Friday, 12 April 2019, from 2:00 pm to 2:15 pm in Conference Room 2B of the Legislative Council Complex

Time Marker	Speaker(s)	Subject(s)	Action required
000344 - 001108	Mr WONG Ting-kwong Dr Priscilla LEUNG Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan Mr IP Kin-yuen Mr CHU Hoi-dick	Election of Chairman	
001109 - 001720	Chairman Dr Helena WONG Mr CHU Hoi-dick Mr Steven HO Mr LUK Chung-hung	Election of Deputy Chairman	
001721 - 001850	Chairman Dr Helena WONG Mr CHU Hoi-dick	Invitation of public views on the Bill and date of next meeting Closing remarks	

Council Business Division 2 Legislative Council Secretariat 18 April 2019