立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. ESC8/19-20 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/F/3/2

Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee

Minutes of the 1st meeting held in Conference Room 1 of Legislative Council Complex on Wednesday, 23 October 2019, at 9:00 am

Members present:

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding (Chairman)

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon CHU Hoi-dick

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP

Hon HO Kai-ming

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon AU Nok-hin

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Hon CHAN Hoi-yan

Members absent:

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Clerk in attendance:

Connie SZETO Chief Council Secretary (1)4

Staff in attendance:

Ms Anita SIT

Mr Hugo CHIU

Miss Sharon LO

Miss Ludy VEE

Assistant Secretary General 1

Senior Council Secretary (1)4

Senior Council Secretary (1)4

Miss Judy YEE Council Secretary (1)4

Ms Alice CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1 Mr Frankie WOO Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3

Ms Sharon CHAN

Miss Yannes HO

Ms Christy YAU

Ms Clara LO

Ms Haley CHEUNG

Legislative Assistant (1)4

Legislative Assistant (1)7

Legislative Assistant (1)8

Legislative Assistant (1)9

Legislative Assistant (1)10

Action - 3 -

Mrs Regina IP, Chairman of the Establishment Subcommittee ("ESC") in office, chaired the meeting. She informed members that the purpose of the meeting was to elect the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2019-2020 session.

Election of Chairman

- 2. <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship. A number of members made various nominations. The valid nominations made were as set out in the ensuing paragraphs.
- 3. Mr CHAN Chi-chuen was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr CHAN Chi-cheun</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. Mr Holden CHOW was nominated by <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Steven HO</u>. <u>Mr Holden CHOW</u> accepted the nomination.
- 5. Mr AU Nok-hin was nominated by Mr WU Chi-wai and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr AU Nok-hin accepted the nomination.
- 6. Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr WU Chi-wai accepted the nomination.
- 7. Mr Jeremy TAM was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Jeremy TAM accepted the nomination.
- 8. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr SHIU Ka-chun accepted the nomination.
- 9. Mr James TO was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr James TO accepted the nomination.
- 10. Dr Fernando CHEUNG, who was absent, was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin. The nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr AU confirmed that Dr Cheung had indicated his acceptance of the nomination.

- 11. At the request of Dr KWOK Ka-ki, <u>Mrs Regina IP</u> invited each nominee to present his election platform in one minute. <u>Mr CHAN Chi-cheun, Mr Holden CHOW, Mr AU Nok-hin, Mr WU Chi-wai, Mr Jeremy TAM</u> and <u>Mr SHIU Ka-chun</u> made their respective presentations. Mr James TO and Dr Fernando CHEUNG were not present at the session and therefore had not been invited to present their platforms.
- 12. After the presentation of election platforms by nominees, Mrs Regina IP announced a vote by secret ballot. Of the members present for voting, 28 voted for Mr Holden CHOW and 7 voted for Mr WU Chi-wai. The rest of the nominees did not receive any votes. Mrs Regina IP declared that Mr Holden CHOW was elected Chairman of ESC for the 2019-2020 session.

Election of Deputy Chairman

- 13. <u>The Chairman</u> took the chair and called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship.
- 14. Mr CHAN Chi-chuen was nominated by <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> accepted the nomination.
- 15. There being no other nomination, <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u> was declared Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2019-2020 session.

Any other business

Schedule of meetings for the 2019-2020 session

16. <u>The Chairman</u> informed members that the next meeting of ESC was tentatively scheduled to be held on 4 December 2019 at 8:30 am. He said that the schedule of ESC meetings for the 2019-2020 session would be issued to members after the meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of ESC meetings for the 2019-2020 session was circulated to members on 23 October 2019 vide LC Paper No. ESC4/19-20.)

17. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 9:32 am.

Council Business Division 1
Legislative Council Secretariat
31 October 2019