立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)396/19-20 (These minutes have been cleared with the presiding member)

Ref: CB2/PL/SE

Panel on Security

Minutes of special meeting held on Tuesday, 5 November 2019, at 2:30 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present

: Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP (Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun (Deputy Chairman) Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP

Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon CHAN Chi-chuen

Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP

Hon HO Kai-ming Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon Tanya CHAN

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai

Hon AU Nok-hin

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Member attending

: Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Members absent

: Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Hon CHU Hoi-dick

Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Clerk in attendance

: Miss Betty MA

Chief Council Secretary (2) 1

Staff in : Miss Flora TAI

attendance Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Rita LAI

Senior Council Secretary (2) 1

Ms Gloria TSANG Senior Council Secretary (2) 7

Ms Priscilla LAU Council Secretary (2) 1

Ms Kiwi NG Legislative Assistant (2) 1

Miss Lulu YEUNG Clerical Assistant (2) 1

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

(Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)8/19-20)

Election of Chairman

Members noted that the proceedings of the election of the Chairman had started at the Panel meeting on 17 October 2019. At that meeting, Dr CHENG Chung-tai, Mr CHAN Hak-kan and Mr WU Chi-wai had been nominated for the office and the nomination procedure had not yet been completed. Owing to time constraint, the election had been suspended and the nomination procedure for the election of Chairman would be continued at this meeting.

- 2. As Mr CHAN Hak-kan, the incumbent Chairman of the Panel, was nominated for the office, Mr James TO, incumbent Deputy Chairman presided over the election. Mr James TO drew members' attention to Rule 77(7) of the Rules of Procedure which stipulated that "[a] Member shall not be chairman or deputy chairman of more than one Panel at the same time". Given that Mr WU Chi-wai was elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Panel on Economic Development for the 2019-2020 session, Mr WU Chi-wai was not eligible for the chairmanship of the Panel on Security. Mr James TO called for other nominations.
- 3. Ms Tanya CHAN was nominated by Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr LAM Cheuk-ting. Ms Tanya CHAN accepted the nomination. Mr CHAN Chi-chuen was nominated by Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. Mr CHAN Chi-chuen accepted the nomination. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr AU Nok-hin. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting accepted the nomination. Mr Jeremy

TAM was nominated by Mr Charles MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. As Mr Jeremy TAM was absent, Mr Charles MOK stated that he had secured Mr TAM's acceptance of the nomination. Ms Claudia MO was nominated by Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. Ms Claudia MO accepted the nomination. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by Mr Charles MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. As Dr Fernando CHEUNG was absent, Mr Charles MOK stated that he had secured Dr CHEUNG's acceptance of the nomination. Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. Prof Joseph LEE accepted the nomination. Mr Gary FAN was nominated by Mr Charles MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. Mr Gary FAN accepted the nomination. Mr Dennis KWOK was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. As Mr Dennis KWOK was absent, Ms Claudia MO stated that she had secured Mr KWOK's acceptance of the nomination. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by Mr AU Nok-hin and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. As Mr HUI Chi-fung was absent, Mr AU Nok-hin stated that he had secured Mr HUI's acceptance of the nomination. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by Mr Kenneth LEUNG and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-chun. As Mr Dr KWOK was absent, Mr Kenneth LEUNG stated that he had secured Dr KWOK's acceptance of the nomination.

- 4. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr James TO</u> proposed and <u>members</u> agreed that an election forum be conducted in which nominated candidates would firstly present their platform and then respond to questions put by members. In the light of diverse views expressed by members about the arrangement of the election forum, <u>Mr James TO</u> directed that the meeting be suspended at 2:56 pm so as to draw up different options of election forum arrangement for members' consideration.
- 5. The meeting resumed at 3:28 pm. Mr James TO briefed members on the two options of election forum arrangement (details attached at **the Annex**). Members expressed their views on the two options and decided to adopt option B. Mr James TO further said that the presentation of platform would be arranged in ascending order of the nominated candidates, while the part on concluding remarks would be arranged in descending order.

Action

6. Owing to time constraint, <u>Mr James TO</u> said that the election forum for the chairmanship of the Panel would be conducted at the next meeting and declared that the meeting closed at 3:45 pm.

Council Business Division 2
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
12 December 2019

2019 至 2020 年度立法會會期 保安事務委員會主席選舉

選舉論壇方案 (候選人數目:13人)

	<u></u>	Г
	方案 A	方案 B
候選人	每位候選人	每位候選人
陳述綱領	2分鐘	2 分鐘
議員提問	每位議員提問	每位議員
	個別候選人	1分鐘
	0.5 分鐘	(最多有 30 位
	(每位候選人	議員提問)
	最多有8位	
	議員提問)	
候選人回應	每位議員提問	所有議員提問
	後,每位候選人	後,有5分鐘作
	有1分鐘作	綜合回應。
	即時回應。	
	每位候選人	每位候選人
	2分鐘	2分鐘
	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
估計論壇需時	208 分鐘	147 分鐘