# 立法會 Legislative Council

<u>LC Paper No. CB(2)397/19-20</u> (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB2/PL/SE

**Panel on Security** 

## Minutes of special meeting held on Tuesday, 3 December 2019, at 2:30 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present

: Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP (Chairman)
Hon James TO Kun-sun
Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP
Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP
Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP
Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP
Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP
Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP
Hon Claudia MO
Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP
Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS
Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP
Hon CHAN Chi-chuen
Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP
Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP
Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki
Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP
Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang
Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP
Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung
Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan
Hon IP Kin-yuen
Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP
Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP
Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH
Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan
Hon Alvin YEUNG
Hon CHU Hoi-dick

	Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP Hon HO Kai-ming Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon AU Nok-hin Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS
Members absent	: Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon MA Fung-kwok, SBS, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Tanya CHAN Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho
Clerk in attendance	: Miss Betty MA Chief Council Secretary (2) 1
Staff in attendance	<ul> <li>Miss Flora TAI Assistant Secretary General 2</li> <li>Ms Rita LAI Senior Council Secretary (2) 1</li> <li>Ms Gloria TSANG Senior Council Secretary (2) 7</li> <li>Ms Priscilla LAU Council Secretary (2) 1</li> </ul>

Ms Kiwi NG Legislative Assistant (2) 1

Miss Lulu YEUNG Clerical Assistant (2) 1

#### Action

#### I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman (Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)8/19-20)

#### Election of Chairman

<u>Members</u> noted that the proceedings of the election of the Chairman had started at the meeting on 17 October 2019 and the nomination procedure was completed at the special meeting on 5 November 2019. A total of 13 valid nominations were made. The 13 members, in the order in which they were nominated, were Dr CHENG Chung-tai, Mr CHAN Hak-kan, Ms Tanya CHAN, Mr CHAN Chi-chuen, Mr LAM Cheuk-ting, Mr Jeremy TAM, Ms Claudia MO, Dr Fernando CHEUNG, Prof Joseph LEE, Mr Gary FAN, Mr Dennis KWOK, Mr HUI Chi-fung and Dr KWOK Ka-ki. <u>Members</u> also agreed at the special meeting on 5 November 2019 that an election forum be held for the chairmanship of the Panel. Owing to time constraint, the election had been suspended and the election forum would be commenced at this meeting.

2. As Mr CHAN Hak-kan, the incumbent Chairman of the Panel, was nominated for the office, <u>Mr James TO</u>, incumbent Deputy Chairman presided over the election and invited nominated candidates who were present at the meeting to present their election platforms and answer questions from members. <u>Dr CHENG Chung-tai</u>, <u>Mr CHAN Hak-kan</u>, <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u>, <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u>, <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>, <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u>, <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> and <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> presented their election platforms respectively. <u>Mr James TO</u> then invited questions from members. <u>Dr CHENG Chung-tai</u>, <u>Mr CHAN Hak-kan</u>, <u>Mr CHAN Chi-chuen</u>, <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u>, <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>, <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> and <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> responded to questions put by 13 members, followed by making their respective concluding remarks.

3. <u>Mr James TO</u> then announced a vote by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>Mr James TO</u> invited Mr YIU Si-wing, Mr Charles MOK and Mr AU Nok-hin, who had nominated the candidates and were not running for the chairmanship of the Panel, to monitor the counting of votes.

4. After the votes were counted, <u>Mr James TO</u> announced that 22 members voted for Mr CHAN Hak-kan and 13 members voted for Mr Gary FAN respectively. <u>Mr James TO</u> declared Mr CHAN Hak-kan elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session. <u>Mr CHAN Hak-kan</u> then took the chair.

### Election of Deputy Chairman

5. <u>The Chairman</u> called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Panel. Mr James TO was nominated by <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>. <u>Mr James TO</u> accepted the nomination. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations.

6. Ms YUNG Hoi-yan was nominated by <u>Mr Jeffrey LAM</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Elizabeth QUAT</u>. <u>Ms YUNG Hoi-yan</u> accepted the nomination. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations.

7. As there was no other nomination, <u>some members</u> suggested and with the agreement of Mr James TO and Ms YUNG Hoi-yan, <u>the</u> <u>Chairman</u> decided that an election forum, which modelled on that for the chairmanship, be held for the deputy chairmanship of the Panel.

8. <u>Mr James TO</u> and <u>Ms YUNG Hoi-yan</u> presented their respective election platforms. <u>The Chairman</u> then invited questions from members. <u>Mr James TO</u> and <u>Ms YUNG Hoi-yan</u> responded to questions put by seven members.

9. Owing to time constraint, <u>the Chairman</u> suggested and <u>members</u> agreed that the election of the Deputy Chairman would be continued at the next meeting to be scheduled by firstly inviting Mr James TO and Ms YUNG Hoi-yan to make their respective concluding remarks. <u>The Chairman</u> then declared that the meeting closed at 4:38 pm.

Council Business Division 2 Legislative Council Secretariat 12 December 2019