立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. ESC6/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/F/3/2

Establishment Subcommittee of the Finance Committee

Minutes of the 1st meeting held in Conference Room 1 of Legislative Council Complex on Wednesday, 21 October 2020, at 9:00 am

Members present:

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP (Chairman)

Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP

Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP

Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP

Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP

Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon KWONG Chun-yu

Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS, JP

Member attending:

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Members absent:

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP

Clerk in attendance:

Connie SZETO Chief Council Secretary (1)4

Staff in attendance:

Ms Anita SIT

Mr Hugo CHIU

Miss Sharon LO

Miss Ludy VEE

Assistant Secretary General 1

Senior Council Secretary (1)4

Senior Council Secretary (1)4

Miss Judy YEE Council Secretary (1)4

May Alice CHELING

Serior Legislative Assi

Ms Alice CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (1)1 Mr Frankie WOO Senior Legislative Assistant (1)3

Ms Sharon CHAN Legislative Assistant (1)4

Miss Yannes HO	Legislative Assistant (1)7
Ms Christy YAU	Legislative Assistant (1)8
Ms Clara LO	Legislative Assistant (1)9
Ms Haley CHEUNG	Legislative Assistant (1)10

Action

Mr Holden CHOW, Chairman of the Establishment Subcommittee ("ESC") in office, presided over the election of Chairman of ESC for the 2020-2021 session. He referred members to the letters from some members (issued to all Members through email vide LC Paper No. CB(1)15/20-21 on 15 October 2020) indicating that they would not accept nomination for the positions of ESC Chairman or Deputy Chairman. The relevant information was tabled at the meeting for members' reference.

Election of Chairman

- 2. <u>Mr Holden CHOW</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship.
- 3. Mrs Regina IP was nominated by <u>Mr Christopher CHEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WONG Ting-kwong</u>. <u>Mrs IP</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN. Mr LAM accepted the nomination.
- 5. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by Mr Charles MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN. Mr LEUNG accepted the nomination.
- 6. Mr James TO was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN. Mr TO accepted the nomination.

(During the nomination process, some nominations were ruled invalid by Mr Holden CHOW for the reason that the members being nominated did not accept the nomination or were not present when being nominated or that their acceptance of the nomination had not been secured beforehand.)

7. At 9:10 am, Mr Holden CHOW directed that the nomination process be closed and announced a vote by secret ballot.

Action

8. After members present had cast their votes, Mr Holden CHOW invited members who had made nominations to monitor the counting of votes, and Mr Christopher CHEUNG and Mr Andrew WAN came to the front of the Chairman's podium for the purpose. Of the members present for voting, 23 voted for Mrs Regina IP and the rest of the nominees did not receive any votes. 13 votes were ruled invalid by Mr CHOW. Mr CHOW declared that Mrs Regina IP was elected Chairman of ESC for the 2020-2021 session. Mrs IP then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

- 9. The Chairman called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship.
- 10. Mr YIU Si-wing was nominated by Ms Starry LEE and the nomination was seconded by Mr SHIU Ka-fai. Mr YIU accepted the nomination.
- 11. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr LAM accepted the nomination.
- 12. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Dr KWOK accepted the nomination.
- 13. Dr Pierre CHAN was nominated by <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Dr CHAN</u> accepted the nomination.
- 14. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by Mr Charles MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr LEUNG accepted the nomination.
- 15. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Dr CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 16. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr HUI accepted the nomination.

Action

- 17. Mr Andrew WAN was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr WAN</u> accepted the nomination.
- 18. Dr Helena WONG was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Dr WONG accepted the nomination.
- 19. Mr KWONG Chun-yu was nominated by Mr LAM Cheuk-ting and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr KWONG accepted the nomination.
- 20. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr SHIU was not present when the nomination was made and Mr HUI stated that he had secured Mr SHIU's acceptance of the nomination beforehand.
- 21. Mr IP Kin-yuen was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. Mr IP was not present when the nomination was made and <u>Dr KWOK</u> stated that he had secured Mr IP's acceptance of the nomination beforehand.

(During the nomination process, some nominations were ruled invalid by the Chairman for the reason that the members being nominated did not accept the nomination.)

- 22. At 9:25 am, the Chairman directed the nomination process be closed and announced a vote by secret ballot.
- 23. After members present had cast their votes, the Chairman invited members who had made nominations to monitor the counting of votes, and Ms Starry LEE and Mr Andrew WAN came to the front of the Chairman's podium for the purpose. Of the members present for voting, 23 voted for Mr YIU Si-wing and 13 voted for Mr IP Kin-yuen. The rest of the nominees did not receive any votes. The Chairman declared that Mr YIU Si-wing was elected Deputy Chairman of ESC for the 2020-2021 session.

Any other business

Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

24. <u>The Chairman</u> said that the schedule of ESC meetings for the 2020-2021 session would be issued to members after the meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: The schedule of ESC meetings for the 2020-2021 session was circulated to members on 21 October 2020 vide LC Paper No. ESC3/20-21.)

25. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 9:33 am.

Council Business Division 1
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
4 November 2020