立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1)159/20-21

(These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB1/SS/5/20/1

Subcommittee on Seven Pieces of Subsidiary Legislation Relating to Fee Waiving or Concession Measures for the Construction Sector

Minutes of the first meeting on Tuesday, 3 November 2020, at 4:30 pm in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	:	Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung (Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Hon KWONG Chun-yu
		Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Members absent : Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang Hon Alvin YEUNG

[According to the announcement made by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government on 11 November 2020 pursuant to the Decision of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress on Issues Relating to the Qualification of the Members of the Legislative Council ("LegCo") of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Kenneth LEUNG, KWOK Ka-ki, Dennis KWOK Wing-hang and Alvin YEUNG were disqualified from being members of LegCo on 30 July 2020.]

Clerk in attendance :	Ms Doris LO Chief Council Secretary (1)2
Staff in attendance :	Miss Rachel DAI Assistant Legal Adviser 2
	Mr Raymond CHOW Senior Council Secretary (1)10
	Ms Christina SHIU Legislative Assistant (1)2
	Miss Joey LAW Clerical Assistant (1)2

Action

I Election of Chairman

<u>Mr James TO</u>, the member with the highest precedence among those present at the meeting, presided over the election of the Chairman of the Subcommittee. He invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Subcommittee.

2. <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> nominated Dr Fernando CHEUNG and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination. There being no other nomination, <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> was declared Chairman of the Subcommittee. <u>Dr CHEUNG</u> then took over the chair. <u>Members</u> agreed that there was no need to elect a Deputy Chairman.

II Any other business

3. <u>The Subcommittee</u> deliberated (index of proceedings attached at **Appendix**).

Legislative timetable

4. <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> enquired about the legislative timetable of the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation relating to fee waiving or concession

measures for the construction sector ("seven pieces of subsidiary legislation") scrutinized by the Subcommittee, namely:

- (a) Mines (Safety) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 180 of 2020);
- (b) Dangerous Goods (General) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 181 of 2020);
- (c) Dangerous Goods (Government Explosives Depots) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 182 of 2020);
- (d) Building (Minor Works) (Fees) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 183 of 2020);
- (e) Building (Minor Works) (Fees) (Amendment) (Fee Concessions) Regulation 2019 (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 184 of 2020);
- (f) Electricity (Registration) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 185 of 2020); and
- (g) Construction Workers Registration (Fees) (Amendment) Regulation 2020 (L.N. 197 of 2020).

5. On the instruction of the Chairman, <u>the Clerk to Subcommittee</u> replied that the scrutiny period of the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation would expire at the Council meeting of 11 November 2020. With members' concurrence, the Chairman of the Subcommittee would move a motion at the Council meeting of 11 November 2020 to extend the scrutiny period to the Council meeting of 2 December 2020. With the extended scrutiny period, the deadline for giving notice of motion to amend the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation would be 25 November 2020. The Chairman would report the deliberations of the Subcommittee to the House Committee at its meeting on 20 November 2020.

6. <u>The Subcommittee</u> agreed to move a motion at the Council meeting of 11 November 2020 to extend the scrutiny period of the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation.

(*Post-meeting note*: The proposed resolution to extend the scrutiny period of the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation was not moved at the Council meeting of 11 November 2020; hence, the scrutiny period of the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation had expired at the said Council meeting.)

Action

Invitation for public views

7. <u>Members</u> agreed to invite written submissions from interested parties on the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation.

(*Post-meeting note*: A notice was posted on the website of the Legislative Council and letters were issued to the 18 District Councils on 4 November 2020 to invite written submissions on the seven pieces of subsidiary legislation. By the submission deadline on 11 November 2020, no written submission was received.)

Date of next meeting

8. <u>The Subcommittee</u> noted that two time slots (i.e. Tuesday, 10 November 2020, from 10:45 am to 12:45 pm and Monday, 16 November 2020, from 8:30 am to 10:30 am) were tentatively reserved for holding the next meeting of the Subcommittee to meet with the Administration. <u>The Chairman</u> advised that members would be informed of the meeting arrangements once confirmed.

(*Post-meeting note*: Members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(1)109/20-21 issued on 3 November 2020 that with the concurrence of the Chairman, the second meeting of the Subcommittee would be held on Monday, 16 November 2020, from 9:15 am to 10:45 am.)

9. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 4:37 pm.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 16 November 2020

Proceedings of the first meeting of the Subcommittee on Seven Pieces of Subsidiary Legislation Relating to Fee Waiving or Concession Measures for the Construction Sector on Tuesday, 3 November 2020, at 4:30 pm in Conference Room 3 of the Legislative Council Complex

Time Marker	Speaker	Subject(s)	Action Required
Agenda it	em I — Election of Chair	man	
000350- 000552	Mr James TO Mr LAM Cheuk-ting Mr Andrew WAN Dr Fernando CHEUNG	Election of Chairman	
Agenda it	em II — Any other busin	ess	
000553- 001030	Chairman Dr KWOK Ka-ki Mr Andrew WAN Ir Dr LO Wai-kwok Clerk to Subcommittee	Legislative timetable Invitation for public views Date of next meeting	

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 16 November 2020