

Ref : CB2/PL/CA

LC Paper No. CB(2)101/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

# **Panel on Constitutional Affairs**

### Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 15 October 2020, at 6:00 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	<ul> <li>Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding (Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Claudia MO Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon MA Fung-kwok, GBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP</li> </ul>

		- 2 -
		Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan Hon Alvin YEUNG Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS, JP
Member attending		Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH
Member absent	:	Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang
Clerk in attendance	:	Ms Jasmine TAM Chief Council Secretary (2) 3 (Acting)
Staff in attendance	:	Miss Flora TAI Assistant Secretary General 2 Miss Connie AU
		Senior Council Secretary (2) 6 Mr Dennis HO Council Secretary (2) 3
		Mrs Fonny TSANG Legislative Assistant (2) 3

## I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

### Election of Chairman

<u>Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan</u>, the incumbent Chairman, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. A total of 14 valid nominations were made.

2. Mr Holden CHOW was nominated by <u>Mr Steven HO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr Priscilla LEUNG</u>. <u>Mr Holden CHOW</u> accepted the nomination.

3. Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u> accepted the nomination.

4. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr Charles MOK</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>. <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

5. Dr Helena WONG was nominated by <u>Mr James TO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> accepted the nomination.

6. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> accepted the nomination.

7. Mr James TO was nominated by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr James TO</u> accepted the nomination.

8. Mr IP Kin-yuen was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> accepted the nomination.

9. Mr KWONG Chun-yu was nominated by <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr KWONG Chun-yu</u> accepted the nomination.

10. Dr CHENG Chung-tai was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr CHENG Chung-tai</u> accepted the nomination.

#### Action

11. Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> accepted the nomination.

12. Mr Jeremy TAM was nominated by <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u> accepted the nomination.

13. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> accepted the nomination.

14. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> accepted the nomination.

15. Mr Charles MOK was nominated by <u>Mr James TO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Mr Charles MOK</u> accepted the nomination.

16. Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan announced a vote by secret ballot. The result of the vote was that 26 members voted for Mr Holden CHOW. one member voted for Mr WU Chi-wai, and 16 members voted for Dr KWOK Ka-ki. One ballot paper was declared Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan declared Mr Holden CHOW elected as void. the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. Mr Holden CHOW then took the chair.

### Election of Deputy Chairman

17. In view of time constraints, <u>the Chairman</u> suggested and <u>members</u> agreed that the election of Deputy Chairman be held at another meeting.

### II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

18. <u>Members</u> agreed that the Panel would continue to hold its regular meetings on the third Monday of each month from 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm, except the meeting in February 2021. As the third Monday of February 2021 was a public holiday, members agreed that the regular meeting in February 2021 should be re-scheduled to Thursday, 18 February 2021 at 2:30 pm. <u>Members</u> agreed to adopt the proposed meeting schedule which was tabled at the meeting.

(<u>Post-meeting note</u>: The schedule of regular meetings for the 2020-2021 session was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(2)33/20-21 on 16 October 2020.)

# III. Items for discussion at the next meeting

[Appendices II and III to LC Paper No. CB(2)4/20-21]

19. <u>Members</u> agreed to discuss and receive public views on "Hearing of the United Nations Human Rights Committee on the Fourth Report of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in the light of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights" proposed by the Administration at the next regular meeting on 16 November 2020 at 2:30 pm.

(*Post-meeting note:* Members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(2)53/20-21 on 20 October 2020 that on the instruction of the Chairman, the next regular meeting originally scheduled for 16 November 2020 at 2:30pm would be advanced to start at 2:00 pm on the same day to allow time for the conduct of the election of the Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session.)

# **IV.** Any other business

20. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 6:29 pm.

Council Business Division 2 Legislative Council Secretariat 29 October 2020