立法會 Legislative Council

Ref : CB2/PL/HA <u>LC Paper No. CB(2)103/20-21</u>

(These minutes have been cleared

with the Chairman)

Panel on Home Affairs

Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 16 October 2020, at 11:30 am in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members: Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP (Chairman)

present Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon MA Fung-kwok, GBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS, JP

Members : Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP

Members: Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

absent Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Clerk in : Miss Connie AU

attendance Chief Council Secretary (2) 3 (Acting)

Staff in : Miss Flora TAI

attendance Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Jasmine TAM

Senior Council Secretary (2) 3

Mr Dennis HO

Council Secretary (2) 3

Mrs Fonny TSANG

Legislative Assistant (2) 3

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr LAU Kwok-fan, the incumbent Chairman, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. Mr LEUNG Che-cheung was nominated by Mr KWOK Wai-keung and the nomination was seconded by Mr CHEUNG Kwok-kwan. Mr LEUNG Che-cheung accepted the nomination.

- 2. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u>. <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 3. Mr KWONG Chun-yu was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Dr KWOK Ka-ki. Mr KWONG Chun-yu accepted the nomination.
- 4. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. As Mr SHIU Ka-chun was absent, Ms Claudia MO confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr SHIU Ka-chun.
- 5. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> accepted the nomination.
- 6. Mr Andrew WAN was nominated by Mr James TO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Andrew WAN accepted the nomination.
- 7. Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr WU Chi-wai accepted the nomination.
- 8. Mr Jeremy TAM was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Jeremy TAM accepted the nomination.
- 9. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting accepted the nomination.

- 10. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by Mr WU Chi-wai and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Dr KWOK Ka-ki accepted the nomination.
- 11. Mr Charles MOK was nominated by Mr James TO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Charles MOK accepted the nomination.
- 12. Mr IP Kin-yuen was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. As Mr IP Kin-yuen was absent at the juncture, Mr HUI Chi-fung confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr IP Kin-yuen.
- 13. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Kenneth LEUNG accepted the nomination.
- 14. Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> accepted the nomination.
- 15. After the nomination process was completed, a total of 14 valid nominations were made. Mr LAU Kwok-fan then announced a vote by secret ballot. The result of the vote was that 26 members voted for Mr LEUNG Che-cheung, 16 members voted for Mr IP Kin-yuen. Mr LAU Kwok-fan declared Mr LEUNG Che-cheung elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. Mr LEUNG Che-cheung then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

16. Owing to time constraint, the Chairman suggested and members agreed that the election of the Deputy Chairman would be conducted at the next meeting.

II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

- 17. <u>Members</u> agreed that the Panel would continue to hold its regular meetings on the second Monday of each month at 4:30 pm.
- 18. At 11:59 am, Mr WU Chi-wai drew the Chairman's attention to the fact that a quorum was not present at the meeting. The Chairman said that

Action

as the meeting had approached its appointed ending time, he would close the meeting at this juncture and members would be invited to consider the proposed changes in the date of the regular meetings in March, April and June 2021 respectively at the next regular meeting of the Panel to be held on 9 November 2020 at 4:30 pm.

19. The meeting closed at 11:59 am.

Council Business Division 2 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 29 October 2020