立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1)127/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/PL/ITB

Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 15 October 2020, at 4:30 pm in Conference Room 2 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present: Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP (Chairman)

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS

Hon MA Fung-kwok, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP Ir Dr Hon LO Wai-kwok, SBS, MH, JP

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP

Hon KWONG Chun-yu

Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Members attending: Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Clerk in attendance: Mr Daniel SIN

Chief Council Secretary (1)6

Staff in attendance: Ms Anita SIT

Assistant Secretary General 1

Ms Mandy LI

Senior Council Secretary (1)6

Mr Patrick CHOI

Council Secretary (1)6

Miss Queenie LAM

Senior Legislative Assistant (1)2

Miss Yolanda CHEUK

Legislative Assistant (1)6

Ms Christy YAU Legislative Assistant (1)8

Ms Haley CHEUNG Legislative Assistant (1)10

Ms Yvonna HO Clerical Assistant (1)6

Action

I Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

Mr Charles Peter MOK, Chairman of the Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting ("the Panel") in office, presided over the election of Chairman for the 2020-2021 session. He referred members to the letters from 24 members (issued to all Members through email vide LC Paper No. CB(1)15/20-21 on 15 October 2020) indicating that they would not accept nomination for the position(s) of Panel Chairman and/or Deputy Chairman. The relevant information was tabled at the meeting for members' reference. Mr Martin LIAO and Mr CHAN Chun-ying also indicated their wishes not to accept any nominations in the election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Panel. The Chairman then invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 legislative session. A total of 7 valid nominations were made as set out in the paragraphs below.

- 2. Dr Junius HO was nominated by Mr CHAN Han-pan and the nomination was seconded by the Deputy Chairman. Dr HO accepted the nomination.
- 3. Mr KWONG Chun-yu was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr KWONG accepted the nomination.
- 4. Ms Claudia MO was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr James TO</u>. <u>Ms MO</u> accepted the nomination.
- 5. Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u>. <u>Mr LEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

Action

- 6. Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Dr Helena WONG. Prof LEE accepted the nomination.
- 7. Mr LAM Cheuk-ting was nominated by Mr WU Chi-wai and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN. Mr LAM accepted the nomination.
- 8. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.

Meeting arrangements

- 9. As the election of chairman could not be completed within the appointed time of meeting, the Chairman concluded that he would close the meeting at this juncture, and the nomination and election would continue at the next meeting.
- 10. <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> asked whether the nominations would remain valid at the next meeting. She said that she might consider withdrawing her acceptance of nomination for the election of chairman of the Panel. <u>The Chairman</u> confirmed that the nominations would remain valid, and that other members could still propose other nominations at the next meeting. <u>The Chairman</u> added that nominees could withdraw from the election of the Chairman before balloting began.

[*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of current Chairman, members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(1)13/20-21 issued on 16 October 2020 that the next meeting of the Panel was scheduled for Friday, 23 October 2020, from 9:30 am to 10:30 am to continue the election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.]

11. The meeting ended at 5:00 pm.

Council Business Division 1
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
5 November 2020