

LC Paper No. CB(1)278/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref : CB1/PL/ITB

Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting

Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 23 October 2020, at 9:30 am in Conference Room 2 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	 Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP (Chairman) Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP (Deputy Chairman) Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun, JP Hon Claudia MO Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon MA Fung-kwok, GBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan Hon IP Kin-yuen Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP
	•

Hon Alvin YEUNG Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP Hon SHIU Ka-chun Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP Hon HUI Chi-fung Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Members absent : Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

[According to the announcement made by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government on 11 November 2020 pursuant to the Decision of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress on Issues Relating to the Qualification of the Members of the Legislative Council ("LegCo") of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Kenneth LEUNG, KWOK Ka-ki, Dennis KWOK Wing-hang and Alvin YEUNG were disqualified from being members of LegCo on 30 July 2020.]

Clerk in attendance	: Mr Daniel SIN Chief Council Secretary (1)6
Staff in attendance	: Ms Mandy LI Senior Council Secretary (1)6
	Mr Patrick CHOI Council Secretary (1)6
	Miss Yolanda CHEUK Legislative Assistant (1)6
	Ms Clara LO Legislative Assistant (1)9
	Ms Haley CHEUNG Legislative Assistant (1)10

Ms Yvonna HO Clerical Assistant (1)6

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

<u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u>, Chairman of the Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting ("the Panel") in office, announced that the Panel would continue the election of the Chairman. <u>Members</u> noted that a total of seven valid nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 legislative session were made at the last meeting held on 15 October 2020. The seven members, in the order in which they were nominated, were Dr Junius HO, Mr KWONG Chun-yu, Ms Claudia MO, Mr Kenneth LEUNG, Prof Joseph LEE, Mr LAM Cheuk-ting and Dr Fernando CHEUNG. <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> and <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> said that they withdrew their acceptance of nomination for the election of Chairman of the Panel.

2. <u>The Chairman</u> then called for further nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel.

3. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr WU Chi-wai</u>. <u>Mr HUI</u> accepted the nomination.

4. Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u>. <u>Mr WU</u> accepted the nomination.

5. Mr Alvin YEUNG was nominated by <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. As Alvin YEUNG was absent, <u>Mr LEUNG</u> stated that Mr YEUNG's acceptance of the nomination had been secured.

6. Dr Helena WONG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr WONG</u> accepted the nomination. <u>Dr WONG</u> subsequently withdrew her acceptance of nomination for the election of Chairman of the Panel.

7. Mr James TO was nominated by <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. As Mr James TO was absent, <u>Dr WONG</u> stated that Mr TO's acceptance of the nomination had been secured.

Action

8. Mr Dennis KWOK was nominated by <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. As Mr Dennis KWOK was absent, <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u> stated that Mr KWOK's acceptance of the nomination had been secured.

9. Mr Jeremy TAM was nominated by <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. As Mr Jeremy TAM was absent, <u>Mr HUI</u> stated that Mr TAM's acceptance of the nomination had been secured. <u>Mr TAM</u> subsequently withdrew his acceptance of nomination for the election of Chairman of the Panel.

10. Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. <u>Dr KWOK</u> accepted the nomination.

11. Mr IP Kin-yuen was nominated by <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>. As Mr IP Kin-yuen was absent, <u>Mr LAM</u> stated that Mr IP's acceptance of the nomination had been secured. <u>Mr IP</u> subsequently withdrew his acceptance of nomination for the election of Chairman of the Panel.

12. Mr Andrew WAN was nominated by <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr SHIU Ka-chun</u>. <u>Mr WAN</u> accepted the nomination.

13. As there was no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> announced that the nomination procedure had ended. A total of 12 valid nominations were made and the nominees were, in the order in which they were nominated, as follows:

Dr Junius HO Mr KWONG Chun-yu Ms Claudia MO Prof Joseph LEE Mr LAM Cheuk-ting Mr HUI Chi-fung Mr WU Chi-wai Mr Alvin YEUNG Mr James TO Mr Dennis KWOK Dr KWOK Ka-ki Mr Andrew WAN [At 10:25 am, the Chairman announced that the meeting would be extended by up to 15 minutes beyond its appointed end time at 10:30 am to allow three to four candidates to present their election platforms.]

14. In response to members' requests for holding a forum for candidates to present their election platforms and answer questions from members, <u>the Chairman</u> directed that an election forum be conducted. <u>The Chairman</u> then briefed members on the election forum arrangement. He said that each candidate would be given two minutes to present his/her platforms. Other members (not being candidates) could speak for one minute to raise questions to the candidates. Five minutes would be allowed for each candidate to make a consolidated response after all the members had raised questions. Each candidate would then be given two minutes to give his/her concluding remarks. <u>The Chairman</u> further said that candidates would present their platforms and concluding remarks in the order by which they were nominated. They would respond to members' questions in the reverse order.

15. <u>The Chairman</u> invited nominated candidates to present their election platforms. <u>Dr Junius HO</u>, <u>Mr KWONG Chun-yu</u>, <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and <u>Prof Joseph LEE</u> presented their election platforms respectively.

16. <u>The Chairman</u> concluded that he would close the meeting at this juncture, and the election forum for the chairmanship of the Panel would continue at the next meeting.

[*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of current Chairman, members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(1)56/20-21 issued on 27 October 2020 that the next meeting of the Panel was scheduled for Friday, 30 October 2020, from 10:45 am to 12:45 pm to continue the election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.]

17. The meeting ended at 10:35 am.

Council Business Division 1 Legislative Council Secretariat 26 November 2020