立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)164/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/PL/MP

Panel on Manpower

Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 16 October 2020, at 12:30 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members : Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP (Chairman)

present Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP

Hon CHAN Kin-por, GBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP

Hon CHUNG Kwok-pan

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Members absent

: Hon Kenneth LEUNG Hon SHIU Ka-chun

Clerk in attendance

: Miss Betty MA

Chief Council Secretary (2) 1

Staff in attendance

Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Rita LAI

Senior Council Secretary (2) 1

Ms Gloria TSANG

Senior Council Secretary (2) 7

Ms Priscilla LAU

Council Secretary (2) 1

Ms Kiwi NG

Legislative Assistant (2) 1

Miss Lulu YEUNG Clerical Assistant (2) 1

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

(Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)8/20-21)

Election of Chairman

Mr Vincent CHENG, the incumbent Chairman, called for nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session.

- 2. Mr LUK Chung-hung was nominated by Mr KWOK Wai-keung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Steven HO. Mr LUK Chung-hung accepted the nomination.
- 3. Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. Dr Fernando CHEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 5. Prof Joseph LEE was nominated by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. As Prof Joseph LEE was absent, <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Prof Joseph LEE.
- 6. Mr James TO was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr James TO accepted the nomination.
- 7. Mr IP Kin-yuen was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> accepted the nomination.
- 8. Mr Dennis KWOK was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Dennis KWOK accepted the nomination.
- 9. Mr Andrew WAN was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr Andrew WAN accepted the nomination.
- 10. Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr HUI Chi-fung accepted the nomination.

- 11. Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr WU Chi-wai accepted the nomination.
- 12. Dr Helena WONG was nominated by <u>Dr Fernando CHEUNG</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 13. Mr Charles MOK was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>. <u>Mr Charles MOK</u> accepted the nomination.
- 14. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. As Mr SHIU Ka-chun was absent, Mr HUI Chi-fung confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr SHIU Ka-chun.
- 15. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr Vincent CHENG</u> said that the nomination procedure was completed and a total of 13 valid nominations were made. He then announced a vote by secret ballot. The result of the vote was that 23 members voted for Mr LUK Chung-hung and 17 members voted for Mr Charles MOK. <u>Mr Vincent CHENG</u> declared Mr LUK Chung-hung elected as the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. <u>Mr LUK Chung-hung</u> then took the chair.

Election of Deputy Chairman

16. Owing to time constraint, <u>the Chairman</u> suggested and <u>members</u> agreed that the election of the Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session would be conducted at the next meeting.

II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

17. <u>Members</u> agreed that regular meetings of the Panel would normally be held on the third Tuesday of each month at 4:30 pm. As the third Tuesday of February 2021 was the day immediately after the Chinese New Year holidays, <u>members</u> agreed that the regular meeting in February 2021 would be rescheduled for 10:45 am on 18 February 2021.

(*Post-meeting note*: The meeting schedule was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(2)24/20-21 on 16 October 2020.)

III. Items for discussion at the next meeting

(Appendices V and VI to LC Paper No. CB(2)8/20-21)

Regular meeting in November 2020

- 18. <u>Members</u> agreed that the following items proposed by the Administration be discussed at the next regular meeting on 17 November 2020 at 4:30 pm:
 - (a) Pilot rehabilitation programme for employees injured at work; and
 - (b) Creation of one permanent post of Chief Labour Officer (D1) in the Labour Department to take forward various new measures to enhance statutory maternity leave.
- 19. <u>The Chairman</u> said that he and Mr KWOK Wai-keung had proposed in a joint letter (LC Paper No. CB(2)1475/19-20(01)) that a subcommittee be formed under the Panel to study the setting up of an unemployment assistance system in Hong Kong. <u>Members</u> agreed that the proposal would be considered at the next regular meeting in November 2020.
- 20. <u>The Chairman</u> further said that a joint letter from Mr Andrew WAN and Mr HUI Chi-fung suggesting the Panel to discuss issues relating to the Work Orientation and Placement Scheme would be circulated to members for reference after the meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: The above-mentioned joint letter was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(2)38/20-21(01) on 19 October 2020.)

21. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 12:57 pm.

Council Business Division 2
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
4 November 2020