立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(4)59/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared by the Chairman)

Ref: CB4/PL/PS

Panel on Public Service

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 15 October 2020, at 2:30 pm in Conference Room 2 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present : Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP (Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon MA Fung-kwok, GBS, JP Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Jimmy NG Wing-ka, BBS, JP

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP Hon SHIU Ka-chun Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Hon KWONG Chun-yu Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS

Members attending: : Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP

Members absent : Hon WU Chi-wai, MH

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Clerk in attendance : Mr Colin CHUI

Chief Council Secretary (4)3

Staff in attendance: Mr Matthew LOO

Assistant Secretary General 4

Ms Maggie CHUNG

Senior Council Secretary (4)1

Ms Peggy CHUNG Council Secretary (4)3

Miss Winnie CHENG

Senior Legislative Assistant (4)1

Ms Carmen HO

Senior Legislative Assistant (4)2

- 3 -

Miss Emma CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (4)3

Mr Griffin FUNG Legislative Assistant (4)7

Miss Ariel SHUM Legislative Assistant (4)3

Ms Denise LAU Clerical Assistant (4)3

Action

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Mr KWOK Wai-keung, the incumbent Chairman, briefed members on the relevant provisions of the Rules of Procedures and House Rules regarding the election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Panel ("the PS Panel"). He also pointed out that 23 members had individually written to the Secretariat indicating that they would not accept nominations for such chairmanship and deputy chairmanship. The relevant letters (LC Paper No. CB(1)15/20-21) had been emailed to all PS Panel members at 12:27 pm on 15 October 2020.

Election of Chairman

- 2. <u>Mr KWOK Wai-keung</u> invited nominations for the chairmanship.
- 3. <u>Mr LUK Chung-hung</u> nominated Mr KWOK Wai-keung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Steven HO Chun-yin. <u>Mr KWOK Wai-keung</u> accepted the nomination.
- 4. As the incumbent Chairman was nominated for the office, Mr POON Siu-ping, the incumbent Deputy Chairman, took over from Mr KWOK Wai-keung to preside over the election. With a view to balancing the need for reasonable use of the meeting time and the exercise of members' right for making nominations for Chairman of the PS Panel and given that a five-minute time limit was set for making nominations for the election of Chairman of the Panel on Development for the 2020-2021 session, Mr POON Siu-ping stated that he had decided to limit the time for making nominations for Chairman of the PS Panel to five minutes. Mr POON Siu-ping called for other nominations.

- 5. <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> nominated Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> accepted the nomination.
- 6. <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> nominated Dr Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Dr Fernando CHEUNG accepted the nomination.
- 7. <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> nominated Mr Kenneth LEUNG and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. <u>Mr Kenneth LEUNG</u> accepted the nomination.
- 8. <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> nominated Mr Charles Peter MOK and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u> accepted the nomination.
- 9. <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> nominated Mr WU Chi-wai and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. As Mr WU Chi-wai was absent, <u>Dr Helena WONG</u> stated that she had secured Mr WU's acceptance of the nomination.
- 10. <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u> nominated Dr KWOK Ka-ki and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> accepted the nomination.
- 11. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr POON Siu-ping</u> announced that voting be conducted by secret ballot. After all present members had cast their votes, <u>Mr POON Siu-ping</u> invited the respective nominators of the nominees to monitor the counting of votes.
- 12. <u>Mr POON Siu-ping</u> announced that Mr KWOK Wai-keung received 25 votes, Mr HUI Chi-fung received two votes, both Mr Charles Peter MOK and Mr WU Chi-wai received one vote, and Dr Fernando CHEUNG, Mr Kenneth LEUNG and Dr KWOK Ka-ki did not receive any vote. <u>Mr POON Siu-ping</u> declared that Mr KWOK Wai-keung was elected Chairman of the PS Panel for the 2020-2021 session. Mr KWOK Wai-keung then took the chair.
- 13. <u>The Chairman</u> said that as there was insufficient time for conducting the election of Deputy Chairman of the PS Panel, the election would be deferred to the next meeting of that Panel.

Action

(*Post-meeting note*: The election of Deputy Chairman of the PS Panel was conducted at the meeting of that Panel on 19 October 2020.)

II. Schedule of meetings for the 2020-2021 session

14. <u>Members</u> agreed that the monthly regular meetings of the PS Panel for the 2020-2021 session would be held on the third Monday of each month at 10:45 am.

15. <u>Members</u> also agreed that:

- (a) since the third Monday of February 2021 was a public holiday (the fourth day of Lunar New Year), the regular meeting in that month should be rescheduled for Monday, 8 February 2021 at 10:45 am; and
- (b) since the last Legislative Council meeting of the 2020-2021 session would be held in mid-July 2021, the regular meeting in that month should be rescheduled for Monday, 12 July 2021 at 10:45 am.

(*Post-meeting note*: The meeting schedule was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(4)10/20-21 on 16 October 2020.)

16. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 3:05 pm.

Council Business Division 4
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
29 October 2020