LegCo Paper No. CB(1) 1327/96-97

Ref: CB1/BC/6/96

Bills Committee on Protection of the Harbour Bill

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday, 9 April 1997, at 2:15 pm in Conference Room B of the Legislative Council Building

Members present :

    Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip (Chairman)
    Hon Edward S T HO, OBE, JP
    Dr Hon Samuel WONG Ping-wai, OBE, FEng, JP
    Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
Members absent :
    Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
    Hon Christine LOH Kung-wai
    Hon IP Kwok-him
    Dr Hon LAW Cheung-kwok
    Hon TSANG Kin-shing
Clerk in attendance :
    Ms Estella CHAN
    Chief Assistant Secretary (1)4
Staff in attendance :
    Mr Jonathan Daw
    Consultant, Legal Services Division
    Mr Daniel HUI
    Senior Assistant Secretary (1)7

I Election of Chairman

1. Mr Albert CHAN Wai-yip was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II Invitation of submission

Members agreed to issue letters to the organizations which had presented views on harbour reclamation at the joint meeting of the LegCo Panel on Planning, Lands and Works and the LegCo Panel on Environmental Affairs on 8 February 1996, to see if they have any comments on the Bill. In addition, the following organizations would also be invited to offer comments:Clerk

    Hong Kong Institute of Engineers

    The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong

    Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce

    Hong Kong Chinese General Chamber of Commerce

    Hong Kong Tourist Association

    Federation of Hong Kong Industries

    Chinese Manufacturers’ Association

    Green Power

III Date of next meeting

3. The following dates for the next three meetings were agreed:

    Monday, 21 April 1997, at 4:30 pm

    Thursday, 24 April 1997, at 3:45 pm

    Friday, 25 April 1997, at 10:30 am

4. Members agreed that the Administration and organizations which had presented submissions on the Bill would be invited to the next meeting.

5. The meeting ended at 2:30 pm.

Legislative Council Secretariat
18 April 1997

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm, yyyy")]]}}