LegCo Paper No. CB(3) 533/96-97


No. 17 of 1996-97
Minutes of the sitting held on Thursday 23 January 1997 at 2:30 pm

Members present:
    President -- The Honourable Andrew WONG Wang-fat, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Martin LEE Chu-ming, QC, JP
    The Honourable SZETO Wah
    The Honourable Edward HO Sing-tin, OBE, JP
    Dr the Honourable Edward LEONG Che-hung, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Albert CHAN Wai-yip
    The Honourable CHEUNG Man-kwong
    The Honourable CHIM Pui-chung
    The Honourable Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
    The Honourable Michael HO Mun-ka
    The Honourable Emily LAU Wai-hing
    The Honourable LEE Wing-tat
    The Honourable Eric LI Ka-cheung, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Fred LI Wah-ming
    The Honourable Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
    The Honourable James TO Kun-sun
    Dr the Honourable Samuel WONG Ping-wai, OBE, FEng, JP
    Dr the Honourable Philip WONG Yu-hong
    Dr the Honourable YEUNG Sum
    The Honourable Howard YOUNG, JP
    The Honourable Zachary WONG Wai-yin
    The Honourable Christine LOH Kung-wai
    The Honourable James TIEN Pei-chun, OBE, JP
    The Honourable CHAN Kam-lam
    The Honourable CHAN Wing-chan
    The Honourable CHAN Yuen-han
    The Honourable Andrew CHENG Kar-foo
    Dr the Honourable Anthony CHEUNG Bing-leung
    The Honourable CHEUNG Hon-chung
    The Honourable David CHU Yu-lin
    The Honourable IP Kwok-him
    The Honourable LAU Chin-shek
    The Honourable Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
    Dr the Honourable LAW Cheung-kwok
    The Honourable LAW Chi-kwong
    The Honourable LEE Kai-ming
    The Honourable Bruce LIU Sing-lee
    The Honourable Margaret NG
    The Honourable SIN Chung-kai
    The Honourable TSANG Kin-shing
    The Honourable Mrs Elizabeth WONG CHIEN Chi-lien, CBE, ISO, JP
    The Honourable Lawrence YUM Sin-ling
Members absent:
    The Honourable Allen LEE Peng-fei, CBE, JP
    Dr the Honourable David LI Kwok-po, OBE, LLD(Cantab), JP
    The Honourable NGAI Shiu-kit, OBE, JP
    The Honourable LAU Wong-fat, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Ronald Joseph ARCULLI, OBE, JP
    The Honourable Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, OBE, JP
    Dr the Honourable HUANG Chen-ya, MBE
    The Honourable LEE Cheuk-yan
    The Honourable Paul CHENG Ming-fun
    The Honourable CHENG Yiu-tong
    The Honourable CHOY Kan-pui, JP
    The Honourable Albert HO Chun-yan
    The Honourable LEUNG Yiu-chung
    The Honourable LO Suk-ching
    The Honourable MOK Ying-fan
    The Honourable NGAN Kam-chuen
    Dr the Honourable John TSE Wing-ling
Public officers attending:
    Mr Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, CBE, JP
    The Chief Secretary
    The Honourable Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, OBE, JP
    The Financial Secretary
    The Honourable Jeremy Fell MATHEWS, CMG, JP
    The Attorney General
    Mr CHAU Tak-hay, CBE, JP
    Secretary for Broadcasting, Culture and Sport
    Mr Nicholas NG Wing-fui, JP
    Secretary for Constitutional Affairs
    Mr Dominic WONG Shing-wah, OBE, JP
    Secretary for Housing
    Mr Rafael HUI Si-yan, JP
    Secretary for Financial Services
    Mr Joseph WONG Wing-ping, JP
    Secretary for Education and Manpower
    Mr Peter LAI Hing-ling, JP
    Secretary for Security
    Mr Bowen LEUNG Po-wing, JP
    Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands
    Miss Denise YUE Chung-yee, JP
    Secretary for Trade and Industry
    Mr LAM Woon-kwong, JP
    Secretary for the Civil Service
    Mr KWONG Hon-sang, JP
    Secretary for Works
    Mrs Doris HO KO Suet-yiu, JP
    Secretary for Health and Welfare
    Mrs Stella HUNG KWOK Wai-ching, JP
    Secretary for Home Affairs
Clerk in attendance:
    Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung
    Secretary General

Pursuant to Standing Order No. 4AA, His Excellency the Governor, the Right Honourable Christopher Francis PATTEN, attended the sitting to make a brief statement and to enable Members to put questions to him on the following two topics:

  1. Governor's visit to London; and

  2. Proposals by Legal Subgroup of the Preparatory Committee regarding Hong Kong's Bill of Rights and related ordinances.

10 Members asked questions on the above topics as well as other related topics and the Governor replied.

Next sitting

In accordance with Standing Orders, the President adjourned the Council until Wednesday, 29 January 1997.

Adjourned accordingly at twenty-six minutes to four o'clock.

(Andrew WONG)


Council Chamber

Hong Kong

Last Updated on {{PUBLISH AUTO[[DATE("d mmm, yyyy")]]}}