Provisional Legislative Council

PLC Paper No. CB(3) 237

Minutes of the meeting held on
Thursday 9 October 1997 at 3:00 pm


The Hon TUNG Chee-hwa, JP
The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

The Hon Mrs Rita FAN, JP
The Hon WONG Siu-yee
The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, JP
The Hon David CHU Yu-lin
The Hon Edward HO Sing-tin, JP
Dr Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
Prof Hon NG Ching-fai
The Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
The Hon LEE Kai-ming
The Hon Mrs Elsie TU, GBM
The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW, JP
The Hon Mrs Peggy LAM, JP
The Hon Henry WU
The Hon NGAI Shiu-kit, JP
The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, JP
The Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
The Hon YUEN Mo
The Hon CHEUNG Hon-chung
Dr Hon Mrs TSO WONG Man-yin
The Hon LEUNG Chun-ying, JP
Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung, JP
The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, JP
The Hon MOK Ying-fan
The Hon CHAN Choi-hi
The Hon CHAN Yuen-han
The Hon CHAN Wing-chan
The Hon CHAN Kam-lam
The Hon TSANG Yok-sing
The Hon CHENG Kai-nam
The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee
Dr Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
The Hon Kennedy WONG Ying-ho
The Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
Dr Hon Charles YEUNG Chun-kam
The Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung
The Hon IP Kwok-him
The Hon CHIM Pui-chung
The Hon LAU Kong-wah
The Hon LAU Wong-fat, JP
The Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP
The Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
The Hon CHOY Kan-pui, JP
The Hon Paul CHENG Ming-fun, JP
The Hon CHENG Yiu-tong
Dr Hon TANG Siu-tong, JP
The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting
The Hon KAN Fook-yee
The Hon NGAN Kam-chuen
The Hon LO Suk-ching
Dr Hon LAW Cheung-kwok
The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, JP
The Hon CHOY So-yuk

Members absent:

The Hon HO Sai-chu, JP
The Hon NG Leung-sing
Dr Hon David LI Kwok-po, JP
The Hon Allen LEE, JP
The Hon MA Fung-kwok
The Hon HUI Yin-fat, JP
The Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP
The Hon Bruce LIU Sing-lee

Public officers attending:

The Honourable Mrs Anson CHAN, JP
The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Honourable Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, JP
The Financial Secretary

The Honourable Elsie LEUNG Oi-sie, JP
The Secretary for Justice

Mr Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, JP
Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

Mr CHAU Tak-hay, JP
Secretary for Broadcasting, Culture and Sport

Mr Nicholas NG Wing-fui, JP
Secretary for Transport

Mr Dominic WONG Shing-wah, JP
Secretary for Housing

Mr Rafael HUI Si-yan, JP
Secretary for Financial Services

Mr Joseph WONG Wing-ping, JP
Secretary for Education and Manpower

Mr Peter LAI Hing-ling, JP
Secretary for Security

Mr Bowen LEUNG Po-wing, JP
Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands

Mr KWONG Ki-chi, JP
Secretary for the Treasury

Mr David LAN Hong-tsung, JP
Secretary for Home Affairs

Miss Denise YUE Chung-yee, JP
Secretary for Trade and Industry

Mr LAM Woon-kwong, JP
Secretary for the Civil Service

Mr LEE Shing-see, JP
Secretary for Works

Ms Maria KWAN Sik-ning, JP
Secretary for Economic Services

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP,
Secretary General

Briefing by the Chief Executive on Policy Address

The Chief Executive attended the Council and received questions on matters arising from his policy address.

29 Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 15 October 1997 at 2:30 pm.

The Council was adjourned at 4:26 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN)President

Council Chamber
Hong Kong