LC Paper No. CB(3) 408/98-99

No. 10

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 7 October 1998 at 2:30 pm


The Hon TUNG Chee-hwa, JP
The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

The Hon Mrs Rita FAN, GBS, JP
The Hon Kenneth TING Woo-shou, JP
The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, JP
The Hon David CHU Yu-lin
The Hon HO Sai-chu, JP
The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan
The Hon Edward HO Sing-tin, JP
The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan
The Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
The Hon LEE Wing-tat
The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
The Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP
The Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
The Hon LEE Kai-ming, JP
Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, JP
The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming
Dr the Hon LUI Ming-wah, JP
The Hon NG Leung-sing
Prof the Hon NG Ching-fai
The Hon Margaret NG
The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, JP
The Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
The Hon MA Fung-kwok
The Hon James TO Kun-sun
The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
The Hon Ambrose CHEUNG Wing-sum, JP
The Hon HUI Cheung-ching
The Hon Christine LOH
The Hon CHAN Kwok-keung
The Hon CHAN Yuen-han
The Hon Bernard CHAN
The Hon CHAN Wing-chan
The Hon CHAN Kam-lam
Dr the Hon LEONG Che-hung, JP
The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, JP
The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung
The Hon Gary CHENG Kai-nam
The Hon SIN Chung-kai
The Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP
Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
The Hon WONG Yung-kan
The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, JP
The Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
Dr the Hon YEUNG Sum
The Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung
The Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP
The Hon LAU Kong-wah
The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBS, JP
The Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP
The Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP
The Hon CHOY So-yuk
The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo
The Hon SZETO Wah
The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, JP
The Hon LAW Chi-kwong, JP
The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, JP

Public officers attending:
The Honourable Mrs Anson CHAN, JP
The Chief Secretary for Administration

Mr Rafael HUI Si-yan, GBS, JP
The Financial Secretary

The Honourable Elsie LEUNG Oi-sie, JP
The Secretary for Justice

Mr Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, JP
Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

Mr CHAU Tak-hay, JP
Secretary for Trade and Industry

Mr Nicholas NG Wing-fui, JP
Secretary for Transport

Mr Dominic WONG Shing-wah, JP
Secretary for Housing

Mrs Katherine FOK LO Shiu-ching, JP
Secretary for Health and Welfare

Mr Joseph WONG Wing-ping, GBS, JP
Secretary for Education and Manpower

Mr Bowen LEUNG Po-wing, JP
Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands

Miss Denise YUE Chung-yee, JP
Secretary for the Treasury

Mr LAM Woon-kwong, JP
Secretary for the Civil Service

Mr Stephen IP Shu-kwan, JP
Secretary for Economic Services

Mr David LAN Hong-tsung, JP
Secretary for Home Affairs

Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, JP
Secretary for Security

Mr LEE Shing-see, JP
Secretary for Works

Mrs Rita LAU NG Wai-lan, JP
Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting

Mrs Rebecca LAI KO Wing-yee, JP
Secretary for Financial Services
Clerk in attendance:
Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP,
Secretary General
The Chief Executive of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to present the Policy Address to the Council

The Chief Executive presented the 1998 Policy Address to the Council.

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 8 October 1998 at 3:00 pm.

The Council was adjourned at 4:52 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN)

Council Chamber
Hong Kong