LC Paper No. CB(3) 502/98-99


No. 13
Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 21 October 1998 and Thursday 22 October 1998 at 2:30 pm respectively

Members present:

The Hon Mrs Rita FAN, GBS, JP
The Hon Kenneth TING Woo-shou, JP
The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, JP
The Hon David CHU Yu-lin
The Hon HO Sai-chu, JP
The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan
The Hon Edward HO Sing-tin, JP
The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan
The Hon Michael HO Mun-ka
Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP
The Hon LEE Wing-tat
The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan
The Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP
The Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP
The Hon LEE Kai-ming, JP
Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, JP
The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming
Dr the Hon LUI Ming-wah, JP
The Hon NG Leung-sing
Prof the Hon NG Ching-fai
The Hon Margaret NG
The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, JP
The Hon Ronald ARCULLI, JP
The Hon MA Fung-kwok
The Hon James TO Kun-sun
The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong
The Hon Ambrose CHEUNG Wing-sum, JP
The Hon HUI Cheung-ching
The Hon Christine LOH
The Hon CHAN Kwok-keung
The Hon CHAN Yuen-han
The Hon Bernard CHAN (absent on 21.10.1998)
The Hon CHAN Wing-chan
The Hon CHAN Kam-lam
Dr the Hon LEONG Che-hung, JP (absent on 22.10.1998)
The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, JP
The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung (absent on 22.10.1998)
The Hon Gary CHENG Kai-nam
The Hon SIN Chung-kai
The Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP
Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong
The Hon WONG Yung-kan
The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, JP
The Hon Howard YOUNG, JP
Dr the Hon YEUNG Sum
The Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung
The Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP
The Hon LAU Kong-wah
The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBS, JP (absent on 21.10.1998)
The Hon Mrs Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP
The Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, JP
The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP
The Hon CHOY So-yuk
The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo (absent on 22.10.1998)
The Hon SZETO Wah
The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, JP
The Hon LAW Chi-kwong, JP (absent on 22.10.1998)
The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, JP
The Hon FUNG Chi-kin

Public officers attending:
on 21.10.1998 only

The Honourable Mrs Anson CHAN, JP
The Chief Secretary for Administration

on 21.10.1998 and 22.10.1998

The Honourable Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, JP
The Financial Secretary

The Honourable Elsie LEUNG Oi-sie, JP
The Secretary for Justice

Mr Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, JP
Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

Mr CHAU Tak-hay, JP
Secretary for Trade and Industry

Mr Nicholas NG Wing-fui, JP
Secretary for Transport

Mr Dominic WONG Shing-wah, JP
Secretary for Housing

Mrs Katherine FOK LO Shiu-ching, JP
Secretary for Health and Welfare

Mr Rafael HUI Si-yan, GBS, JP
Secretary for Financial Services

Mr Joseph WONG Wing-ping, GBS, JP
Secretary for Education and Manpower

Mr Bowen LEUNG Po-wing, JP
Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands

Mr KWONG Ki-chi, GBS, JP
Secretary for Information Technology and Broadcasting

Miss Denise YUE Chung-yee, JP
Secretary for the Treasury

Mr LAM Woon-kwong, JP
Secretary for the Civil Service

Mr Stephen IP Shu-kwan, JP
Secretary for Economic Services

Mr David LAN Hong-tsung, JP
Secretary for Home Affairs

Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, JP
Secretary for Security

Mr LEE Shing-see, JP
Secretary for Works
Clerks in attendance:
on 21.10.1998 and 22.10.1998

Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP,
Secretary General

on 21.10.1998

Ms Pauline NG Man-wah,
Assistant Secretary General (1)

Mr Ray CHAN Yum-mou,
Assistant Secretary General (3)

on 22.10.1998

Mr LAW Kam-sang, JP,
Deputy Secretary General

Mrs Justina LAM CHENG Bo-ling,
Assistant Secretary General (2)
Taking of Legislative Council Oath

Hon FUNG Chi-kin took the Legislative Council Oath.


The following papers were laid on the table pursuant to Rule 21(2) of the Rules of Procedure:

Subsidiary Legislation L.N. No.
1. Estate Agents (Licensing) Regulation328/98
2. Estate Agents (Exemption from Licensing) Order329/98
3. Estate Agents Ordinance (Cap.511) (Commencement) Notice 1998330/98
4. Commodities Trading (Trading Limits and Position Limits) (Amendment) Rules 1998331/98
5. Securities (Exchange--Traded Stock Options) (Amendment) Rules 1998332/98
6. Toys and Children's Products Safety Ordinance (Amendment of Schedule) Notice 1998333/98

Sessional Papers

No.39-The Land Registry Trading Fund Hong Kong
Annual Report 1997-98

No.40-Agricultural Products Scholarship Fund Report for the period from 1 April 1997 to 31 March 1998

No.41-Marine Fish Scholarship Fund Report for the period from 1 April 1997 to 31 March 1998

No.42-Statement of Accounts for the Vegetable Marketing Organization for the year ended 31 March 1998

No.43-Statement of Accounts for the Fish Marketing Organization for the year ended 31 March 1998

No.44-Office of the Telecommunications Authority Trading Fund Report for the period from 1 April 1997 to 31 March 1998

No.45-Hongkong Post
Annual Report 1997/1998


Written replies to Questions 1 to 20 were tabled for Members' information.

Members' Motion

Motion of Thanks

Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung moved the following motion and addressed the Council:

That this Council thanks the Chief Executive for his address.

Question on the motion proposed. The President stated that though Rule 13(3) of the Rules of Procedure provided that amendments to the Motion of Thanks might be moved without notice, Hon LEE Cheuk-yan, Hon Christine LOH and Hon Martin LEE had separately given notice to move amendments to the motion. She asked if there were other Members who also wished to move amendments. As no other Member wished to move amendment to the motion, the President proposed that no further amendment should be admitted for the purpose of the debate. There being no dissenting voice, the President declared that the Council had decided that no further amendment would be admitted for the purpose of the debate, and the motion and the three proposed amendments would be debated together in a joint debate.

Hon LEE Cheuk-yan, Hon Christine LOH and Hon Martin LEE spoke on the motion and their proposed amendments respectively.

25 Members spoke on the motion and the amendments.

The President suspended the meeting at 8:30 pm.

The Council resumed on 22 October 1998 and continued to debate the Motion of Thanks moved by Dr Hon LEONG Che-hung and the amendments proposed by Hon LEE Cheuk-yan, Hon Christine LOH and Hon Martin LEE respectively.

28 Members spoke on the motion and the amendments.

At 8:32 pm, Hon CHENG Kai-nam drew the attention of the President to the absence of a quorum. Having confirmed that a quorum was not then present, the President directed the Clerk to summon Members to the meeting.

Next Meeting

As a quorum was still not present after 15 minutes had expired, in accordance with Rule 17(2) of the Rules of Procedure, the President adjourned the Council without question put until 4 November 1998 at 2:30 pm.

The Council was adjourned at 8:47 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN)

Council Chamber
Hong Kong