## 

The Chief Executive has appointed 45 members to the Town Planning Board (TPB) for a two-year term from April 1, 2000 to March 31, 2002. Compared with the last term, the number of non-official members has been increased from 26 to 37. The Secretary for Planning and Lands has been appointed as Chairman.

Following is the list of membership, which is published in the Gazette today (March 31):

## Official Members:

-----

Secretary for Planning and Lands (Chairman)

Director of Planning (Vice-Chairman)

Secretary for Housing, or his/her representative

Deputy Secretary for Transport, or his/her representative

Director of Home Affairs, or his/her representative

Director of Environmental Protection, or his/her representative

Director of Lands, or his/her representative

Deputy Director of Planning (District) (Secretary)

## Non-official Members:

\_\_\_\_\_

Name

----
Mr Charles Nicholas BROOKE, BBS, J.P.

Mr Daniel CHAM Ka-hung

Mr CHAN Ka-kui, BBS, J.P.

Dr Alex CHAN Siu-kun

Background

-----
Burveying

Business

Surveying

Engineering

Dr CHAN Wai-kwan

Business/Commerce

Mr Christopher CHENG Wai-chee, J.P.

Industry

Dr Rebecca CHIU Lai-har Environment,

Planning, HKU
Professor Anthony COORAY
Law, CityU
Dr Leonard John ENDICOTT
Engineering
Mr Daniel HEUNG Cheuk-kei
Architecture

\*Dr HO Kin-chung Environment

Professor JIM Chi-yung, J.P. Environment, Geography, HKU

Mr KWOK Kwok-chuen, BBS Transport Advisory
Committee (TAC)

Member, Economist Ir Michael LAI Kam-cheung, J.P. Social work

Mr Michael LAI Kam-cheung, J.P.

Mr LAM Kwok-cheong

Professor Patrick LAU Sau-shing

Architecture, HKU

Mrs Angelina LEE WONG Pui-ling, J.P. Legal practice

Professor LEUNG Tin-pui, J.P.

Professor LEUNG Yee

Dr Eddy LI Sau-hung \*Mr LO Man-tuen, J.P. \*Prof Alex LUI Chun-wan

\*Mr Francis LUI Yiu-tung \*Mr Keith Gordon McKinnell \*Mr Anthony NG Heung-hung

Mr Frederick LUI Lai-cheung, J.P.

\*Mr NG Shui-lai, J.P.

\*Mrs Anna PAO-SOHMEN

Mr Edward PONG Chong, J.P.

Mr Almon POON Chin-hung

\*Ms Pamela Rumball Rogers \*Dr Greg WONG Chak-yan

\*Mr WONG Chi-kui

Dr Peter WONG King-keung \*Mr YU Kwok-chun, SBS, J.P.

\*Dr Jose YU Sun-say, SBS, J.P. Professor Shane ZEE Sze-yong

\* New appointees (Total = 13)

Engineering, PolyU Environment,

Geography, CUHK

Industry Industry

Architecture, CUHK

Architecture Engineering Surveying Architecture Social Work

Business/Commerce

Industry

TAC Member, Legal practice Heritage Engineering

Architecture, HKU

Engineering

**Business/Commerce** 

Industry Environment, Botany, HKU

A Government spokesman said that the TPB membership has been expanded from 34 to 45, comprising 8 official and 37 non-official members.

He said that the expanded membership is to cope with the heavy workload of the Board, to strengthen representation of the relevant fields such as engineering, architecture, environment, etc.

"The interests of planning-related sectors which have not previously been represented such as landscape architect and heritage preservation will also be covered," the spokesman added.

He noted that all TPB members are appointed on an ad personum basis.

"The Government looks forward to a very productive new two-year term of the Board. We have confidence in the ability, independence and dedication of all the members appointed," he said.

End/Friday, March 31, 2000 **NNNN**